We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place to stay”
Review of Phoenix B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phoenix B&B
Ranked #15 of 42 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice place to stay”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My partner and i stayed here for one night,we where greeted by Pat the owner who was very nice,showed us to our room,he was very chatty and made us very welcome, the room was very nice ,clean and bright with tea and coffee hairdryer etc,after a lovely stay we were greeted by Belinda his wife the next morning with a wonderful breakfast which consisted of choice of cereals fresh orange juice and big fry up made to your liking.having stayed in the travelodge the previously this B&B was far better by a mile in price and comfort,Pat and Belinda's is home away from home,i would strongly recommend and we will definitly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharonbyr-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    31
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
59
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Hi all myself and my partner stayed over night. It was a lovely a home from home. Must recommend this B&B to all wanting to stay in Derry. Rooms are very comfortable with tea and coffee making, I want to thank Pat and Belinda for their hospitality, Breakfast was lovely all grilled, Pat and Belinda take time out for their guests and have a chat to them. Its set beside the Mace, Bridie's, and only 200 yards from the historical city walls. take a tour around Free Derry, i did not need a tour guide as my partner lived their when he was at university. All in all i highly commend this property and we are returning.

David and Darren

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linedancerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

me and my friend arrived into derry on AUGUST 2ND TUESDAY and on arrival to the phoenix we were greeted by john the owner as it was our 1st time into derry he gave us plenty of info and after checking in we had a walk around the city and thanks to john we didnt get lost .........the b+b is only a few mins walk from the city centre

we had a twin room and it was clean and tidy and couldnt fault it atall in any way .breakfast was excellent ..

.john and his wife are very accomodating and friendly and will help you in any way they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable.

i would highly reccomend this b+b to anybody that wants to stay in derry its reasonable and the big bonus is its not in the heart of the city centre so anybody that is looking for a good nights sleep pick the phoenix as your destination.

hope this review helps ........many thanks again ......dan

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniel4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binda1, Owner at Phoenix B&B, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Many thanks Dan for your lovely review Pat and Belinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We arrived to a warm welcome from Pat and Belinda. The room was better than some 3 star hotels we had stayed in. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom very modern and clean. TV, hairdryer and tea / coffee making facilities in the room. Pat and Balinda were very nice and helpful about where to go and what to do around the city. Breakfast was delicious and made to your liking. After staying in the Travel Lodge in Derry two years previously I would defiantly recommend Phoenix B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andyjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binda1, Owner at Phoenix B&B, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you Andy for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

went down to londonderry recently and as i was on my own didnt really want to stay in one of the bigger hotels so came across this little cracker of place while searching for a B&B. so glad i picked here the rates are cheap as chips the location is central to city center the stafff are friendly people who would do anything to make your stay enjoyable including offering me a lift to the station on the way home which i thought was fantastic as its not somthing you would expect from anywhere else. the rooms where clean and well turned out very comfortable beds and the breakfast was just what i needed for a hangover full fry up with a choice of cereals and fresh juice. if im coming back to londonderry in the future ill be staying here again pats a top bloke and his wife was so friendly and made one hell of a fry 5 stars for me

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastWoodsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Nice B&B just outside the city walls, so we were able to walk to most places even though the Landlady offered to drive us to the station the day we went to the Giants Causeway. Room was clean and nicely decorated with a new ensuite. Breakfast was good and hot, there was tea and coffee and towels in the room. Would stay there again. Loved Derry people really friendly, next time would hire a car as it would have been quicker and cheaper and we could have seen more when we went to Giants Causeway which was a train and bus journey away. Lots of work going on to improve the city for when its become city of culture in 2013. I was able to use free wifi on my phone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mridsdill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county Armagh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Very warm welcome awaits you here at this little gem, rooms are of a good hotel standard with everything you would need for the perfect stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maghery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#5 of 42 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix B&B

Property: Phoenix B&B
Address: Without 138 Bishop Street, Derry BT48 6UQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located to discover this beautiful city on foot, Phoenix B&B is just a few minutes from the historical walled city centre. Accommodation is of a high standard in modern comfortable surroundings. Guests have a choice of a cooked Irish breakfast or a continental breakfast. A warm welcome is assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenix B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix B&B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing