We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the return trip!”
Review of Caw Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caw Cottage B&B
Ranked #8 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We loved Caw Cottage the first time we went, so were happy to have the opportunity to return this week. Dee and Jim are the most fabulous hosts - just perfectly suited to welcome people into their home. They even remembered things we'd discussed on the previous visit - it was as if we were only there yesterday! They were absolutely delightful with our little three year old, who loved them to bits. And the breakfast was wonderful too. Can't find enough superlatives to describe this wonderful wee B&B and the couple who run it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teeny64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 254 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Im tucked up in bed at Caw Cottage as i write this after a wonderful first day here. Bed is so good its like something from a dreamy film....loads of thick quilted blankets..high pillows and so so soft and comfy. Dee and Jim are just the most wonderful hosts. They took us on a whirlwind tour of the city including the best views and recommendations for places to eat. Not only did they recommend the restaurant but they drove us there. I cannot fualt the welcome or the facilities. CANT WAIT FOR BREAKFAST!! Now so to sleep in this wonderful bed

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinnietheMinx1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The host of this B&B, Jim, treated me as if I am his daughter. Because I was traveling alone, his friendliness was so nice for me. He helped planning my trip, and his friend Hana cooked the lovely Irish Breakfast. The homemade bread is my favourite! I would love to stay here again, definitely!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie_de15sert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our GPS could not locate this B&B so we finally gave up and called Jim for directions. He actually drove to where we were and led us to their home. After getting settled in our very nice 'room with a view' Dee served coffee, tea & cookies in the sitting room. Jim & Dee joined us and we enjoyed getting to know them and hearing about their lives. They recommended a restaurant for dinner, which was absolutely fabulous. Dee drove us to the restaurant and we took a taxi back. There was a pitcher of water with oranges waiting at our door when we returned. The next morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast - I had black pudding for the very first time! Jim led us to a car park in Derry where we then went on a walking tour of the city. We had such a pleasant experience at this B&B and recommend it highly. Jim & Dee are superb hosts!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and myself satyed with Jim and Dee for one night. We had a lovely stay, and learnt so much about the history or the area. Dee was very generous in taking us for a drive around the sights of Derry, including going to an amazing view point of the city before dropping us into the city. The room itself was lovely, with a very comfortable bed - and the breakfast was wonderful and fresh!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a very good B & B and Jim and Dee are very good hosts. However, Jim is almost 'over friendly' and talks a lot which on one hand is nice but if you are trying to get away and be a bit 'annonymous' it doesn't work! Had a little 'gripe' with pricing as one of our group was single and they were shown a single and a double room and as they weren't busy it was suggested they use the double room for space but when it came to paying the charge was for the double. Double bed mattress was a little lumpy. However, it is a very nice and cosy spot with a good breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mervynnixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for just one night on Easter Sunday. It's not really close to the city centre but the walk down is quite easy and quick (better take a taxi to come back) Moreover, you get the chance to have a nice view on your way down and cross the Peace Bridge. The room was beautiful, clean and tidy with an incredible view to the city. It was a little too hot and the mattress could be a bit harder, but that's just a matter of taste and habit. Breakfast was the most amazing we ever had in a B&B, with a wonderful homemade bread cooked by Dee! The hosts are incredibly friendly, mostly Jim who is a very enjoyable talker! A pity we didn't stay more time, because you feel like you're at home! I would definitely recommend it. And Jim, we're waiting for you in Portugal...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.3 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
83 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Number 8 Guesthouse
Number 8 Guesthouse
#1 of 44 in Derry
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
1.3 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Victoria Gate Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caw Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caw Cottage B&B

Address: 1 Caw Park | Limavady Road, Derry, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Caw Cottage B&B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing