We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i wont be going back”
Review of Waterfoot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterfoot Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“i wont be going back”
Reviewed October 7, 2010

my partner and i couldnt wait to get away for the night and stay in the Waterfoot hotel. When we arrived we were greeted by the nicest recepionist and told us about the hotel.She then started to tell her that their was no room in the restuarant that night.we were disapoointed as we were staying in the hotel.We went to the room it was lovely and clean.That was probably the best bit.My partner decided to get a shower before we went out and the water was yellow which is not nice it smelt to.We ended up going to china china what a romantic night!!The next morning we headed down to breakfast we waited to be seated and was showing to our seats by residents and none came near us to ask us if we wanted tea or coffee.I asked them myself which took ten minutes.Our residents that stayed were asked if they wanted tea or coffee fired egg or scrambled egg.we are just the same paying customers and we derserve the same!i wont be bad and as for the water!!the waterboard will be in touch!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clarebear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel.

Regards

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    132
    89
    42
    37
See reviews for
116
177
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, WV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2010

I stayed at the Waterfoot Hotel for 2 nights last spring. We used the hotel as a home base to see sights in Derry and the Antrim Coast (Giant's Causeway). Luckily we had our coach to take us to/from the hotel; otherwise, it's a long walk (30 min) or a taxi ride to the city centre. Our group ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel, and the breakfast choices were incredible. We had a variety of cold items (yogurt, bread, cereal). My husband and I particularly enjoyed the granola. The hot food choices were abundant, and we were able to sample several types of sausage. Coffee and tea were both above average as well. One evening for dessert, I enjoyed a delicious lemon tart with mango sauce.

The service at the hotel was impeccable. We were staying at the Waterfoot during college basketball "March Madness," and several people in our group were trying to get access to the games that were taking place in the US. The hotel staff diligently worked on securing an internet connection, projector and space for us to see the game. Unfortunately, our own laptop wasn't functioning properly and we weren't able to see the game, but to no fault of the hotel.

The staff also went out of their way to make our student travellers feel comfortable. During the evenings, we spent time in the hotel and our students enjoyed playing cards in an available meeting space. The staff thoughtfully provided fruit punch, candies and paper/pens for our students.

As I mentioned before, this hotel is not centrally located, but it met our needs quite perfeectly. Our hotel stay was over the course of a weekend (Friday & Saturday nights), and we did find the hotel a bit noisy at times. The walls between guest rooms are paper thin, which mildly disrupted our sleep. Overall, though, I recommend the Waterfoot Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank postaltiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel.

Regards

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This place has opened with new owners but though it looks better inside, anymore than 2-3 nights would be enough. The reception area is spacious with plenty of seating, nice decor. Checkin was smooth and friendly. I was put in room 211 which was very spacious as you can see from my pictures. I do agree with one of the previous reviews that you simply can't market bedrooms as being contemporary by hanging a pair of purple curtains and placing a purple throw at the end of the bed. The carpet & furniture were not contemporary. The had all you required, trouser press, hair dryer, safe.
Bathroom was a good size and clean.
Now for the problems- Safe did not work, one bedside lamp not working, furniture dated, wireless internet not working (modem was out in corridor on floor). I was only there for one night, so did not bother me but one thing did. Switches to turn out lights once in bed are to far away and you have to get out to turn off.
Restaurant is well decorated and staff efficient. Food was very good and not to expensive, There is a small bar they call the snug. Made to look old but it was not comfortable or pleasant to sit in.
On the whole, it is a bit of a disjointed place, neither one thing or the other. The old Waterfoot had a swimming pool but they have taken this away. There is nothing to do here and you feel out of place sitting anywhere. There is nothing nearby unless you get a taxi. I would stay here again as it was comfortable but for no more than 2-3 nights. If coming to spend a week or more, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel.

Regards

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We held our 25th wedding anniversary reception here on 18th Sept, it was superb. The function team staff were brilliant from the first day we booked right up to the end of our function nothing was too much trouble. The reception went like clockwork with great personal attention from Lauren and Annelies who really looked after everyone. The food was superb and served without any problems ... first class. All our guests commented on the service and quality of the meal. The function room was well laid out and everything looked brilliant indeed the whole venue, lounge etc was perfect.
A big thank you to all the management and staff of the Waterfoot for making our day so special. A special thank you to Lauren for all her help throughout the planning and on the day. She looked after everyone right to the end of the night, a real professional.
We can't praise this hotel and staff highly enough and would recommend it to anyone planning a function.

Martin and Marie Patton

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel.

Regards

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

My wife and I booked in to the Waterfoot on the recommendation of a friend. It was a last minute decision that we made 3 days before leaving Northern Ireland to return to Canada. We had returned to NI to be with my mom who had been admitted to hospital with some serious health issues. The opportunity arose to get away for a couple of nights to recharge ourselves at the end of our trip. So we booked the Waterfoot for 2 nights of some peaceful R & R. That was a big mistake. We booked for Saturday night and Sunday night at the rate of 85.00 Pounds per night which included the buffet breakfast. As it turned out they had a wedding party there on the Saturday and the noise level increased steadily into the evening. We returned from a leisurely trip to Derry at around 7:30 PM and the noise games had begun. The volume of noise in our room was so loud that we complained to the front desk immediately. They were gracious and helpful and moved us to another room which seemed to be quieter as it was further away from the ball room / disco venue. We settled down for the night to enjoy a movie and a quiet night together, that is until about 9:00 PM when the nights entertainment obviously kicked into full swing. Our room was inundated with the constant thumping sound of the bass and we could hear the words to the songs being played easily. We complained once again and the manager, Ryan, came to see us. He was very nice and pleasant but could offer us no viable solution that night because the hotel was completely full. He did assure us that the noise would stop at 1:00 AM (so much for a quiet night) and he offered to upgrade us to one of their suites for our second nights stay. If the noise had of really stopped at 1:00 AM that would have been bad enough, but it didn't! All those people had to go somewhere and the banging of doors, the moving of tables, the loud banter of people celebrating a good night were all evident for quite a while after 1:00 AM. As a result my wife got a borderline migraine and we had no choice but to leave the Waterfoot the next morning. We did have the buffet breakfast before leaving and it was fine. The receptionist on the front desk was both helpful and sympathetic but no further compensation for a terrible night was offered. We paid the 85.00 Pounds for the one night a left.

In conclusion; the Staff at the Waterfoot are great and the hotel is a obviously a great place for a party. But that’s where the recommendation ends. If you are looking for a quiet place for some personal rest and relaxation or need a place to stay with a young family; stay away, especially on the weekend. They have some serious problems with noise containment, which others have already discovered. If it’s quiet you are looking for there are many other places in the area that would serve you better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricko1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel.

Regards

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Booked in for three nights midweek with wife and two kids aged 7yrs and 2yrs. On arriving was really impressed by the reception area and took a quick stroll in to check out the restaurant which really looked terrific also. What a huge letdown it was then to get to our room and walk into a small musty smelling type room from the 80's. Newish purple curtains and purple headrests tried to funk it up but failed miserably. The bathroom again had seen better days and the fan over the sink looked like it had half a furry animal stuck in it, the t.v channels were suffering from a low signal which was annoying. We asked at reception for a fold out bed for the 2yr old and were told there was none available so eventually they somehow found a single mattress around 2 hrs later. Having travelled up from Cork we were too tired to go looking elsewhere and we said we would see how the food was since we booked in for 3 nights b&b with 2 evening meals. Coming down the corridor its like a different hotel; as in all the money went into the bar/dining area reception to give the wow factor and they did'nt bother with the bedrooms. Anyway cannot fault the grub/breakfast and the friendliness of the waiters/waitresses. Atmosphere is lively. There is a lovely bar there also but all that fades as you walk back in time to the bedrooms. Why we picked the Waterfoot, was that it would give us a good base so we could check out Derry, Belfast and Antrim etc. We were gone for roughly 8 hrs everyday sightseeing. Of course our last night; which was a Thursday night, there was a wedding on and nearly all the rooms in our corridor contained wedding guests. The thinness of the walls meant that the kids and ourselves were woken at various stages right through till 05:30. We complained about it to reception that morning before checking out feeling fairly exhausted. Overall would'nt recommend it for families unless they revamp the bedrooms. Shame really...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richlerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel.

Regards

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Hi i got married there on the 10th of july 2010. I recently had booked another hotel but when i seen the function room i just fell in love with it .From start to finish the food, the staff and the way the room was laid out was just fantastic. The waterfoot has the best manager called Tony. He makes sure that your day is so special and that everything goes to plan. I would reccomend this holel to any one it also was great value for what we got. Thanks to Tony and Colm and all the staff thanks for the best day ever

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel.

Regards

Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,994 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.0 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfoot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfoot Hotel

Property: Waterfoot Hotel
Address: 14 Clooney Road | 14 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 6TB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfoot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2009, the Waterfoot Hotel is perfectly located under 3 miles from the City Centre and only 6 miles from Derry City Airport. Only 10 minutes walk from the hotel, the fabulous peace bridge allows easy access to the heart of Derry City. Ample free parking with free taxi transfer to city centre offered to all hotel guests. The stylish and elegantly presented hotel has 44 bedrooms, leading edge conference and banqueting facilities, a contemporary restaurant and wine bar as well as a traditional intimate snug bar. The Waterfoot Hotel is the ideal location for weddings, private functions, conferences and meetings. With modern decor throughout and friendly staff a great experience is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Waterfoot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfoot Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing