We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterfoot Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$245
$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$133
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Hotel(Derry)
$137
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$179
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
235
150
97
47
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
150
97
47
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnug barwine barfunction roomcity centrefoyle bridgebridal suitewedding venuewedding receptionfood was amazinggreat nightreception staffcourse mealtea coffeeone night staygreat atmospherelast weekendhotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 573 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here for a few days in January. Its very dated and very noisy. Front area and restaurant are kept up to scratch, but bedrooms and bathrooms are long past their sell by date. We had dinner which was included in the room price. This was mediocre and the service was begrudging, although there were several staff on the floor. Food was definitely not freshly cooked. Would be reluctant to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Straoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review The Waterfoot Hotel

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in feb for a weekend deal. Great value. The hotel itself is ok. Its a bit out of the way. 5er in a taxi to city centre. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the are a bit dated more so the bathrooms. The beds arent up to much but not uncomfortable.

The bar and resturant is amazing. Lovely place to be and the food is top notch. Breakfast was spot on.

The staff in the hotel and resturant wer very good service was great. This made our stay.

Left my iron there and they wer nice enough to post it back :-) thanks for that.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepermintBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Pepermint Belfast - We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review following your recent stay. Thank you for you kind comments regarding the food, service and staff. You obviously enjoyed your experience and were impressed with the Wine Bar & Snug Bar.
Your comments regarding your bedroom have been noted and I am delighted to advise some bedrooms are currently undergoing a refurbishment. I do hope you will return to visit us again soon when you will get to experience one of the newer bedrooms. I have passed your comments on to our staff and look forward to your next stay.
Helen Stewart Sales & Marketing Executive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute .. Not necessarily for valentines but it coincided .we had stayed before and were happy so booked a night for 2 B&b . 3 course meal and a suite for £150 .. We were not disappointed .. The suite was fab .. Nicest biggest most comfortable bed ever .. The bathroom was great jacuzzi .. Wet room .. All mod cons .. Huge surround sound tv in room .. Decor lovely .. Food in wine bar v good staff all very friendly .. Not local but with Derry accents !! .. After dinner drinks in snug bar with local musician who has great voice very Enjoyable .. Breakfast was good .. Staff again v friendly and attentive .. Now to negative and I don't want to be but am always truthful in reviews .. The view from the room is bad .. Dumped old sunbeds and other junk .. Ok if u don't look out .. U wont see .. but a let down to the hotel and staff . Also .. Air con units outside window of suite a poor decision .. Noise in morning above my threshold for deep sleeping . For the city of culture 2013 great hotel .. Just clean up the rear .. And try to reduce the air con noise and next time I will give a 5 star rating . I will return but with earplugs .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FHelenAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

FHelenAnn - Thank you for taking the time to send in your review following your recent stay at the Waterfoot Hotel. Your kind comments have been passed on to the staff and it's great to hear you really appreciated the Suite, the food and entertainment. I have noted your comments regarding junk being dumped and unfortunately it does appear our maintainence team were clearing out old store rooms during your visit. I can assure you the junk was only there for 24 hours and has long been removed. I apologise you experienced noise from the air conditioning unit also. This has undergone a service and noise levels are now to an absolute minimum so hopefully you will have no noise to worry about on your next visit. Thank you once again for your feedback as we always like to know how our customers have enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Helen Stewart Sales & Marketing Executive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed here and once again the staff were very pleasant. We ate in the bar as we always do, prefer it to the restaurant, and the food was very good as usual. I feel the rooms are now in need of refurbishment as they seem very tired although having said that it was nice and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pontymozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Pontymozz - Thank you for taking the time to submit your review based on your recent stay at the Waterfoot Hotel. We are delighted you have returned for a third stay and were happy with the overall food and service. We take your comments on board about the bedroom and are delighted to advise we have just started a refurbishment project of some bedrooms. We hope to see you back again soon and you get to experience the new bedrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

we stayed here for two nights. the room was tired and dirty. the bed was the most uncomfortable bed i have ever slept in. the fire alarm went off when we just arrived and again at 7.00am each morning. we were kept waiting for an hour and 30mins for our reserved diner table with no apologies or explanation from staff and when we eventually spoke to a manager his attitude was a disgrace, we were told "there is nothing i can do" a complimentary bottle of wine to our table would have been a nice gesture by way of apology and appeasement but instead we got a manager who was rude, abrubt and lacking in the crucial people skills that should be fundamental to any manger. it states on their website that free taxi rides into and from the city centre are available yet we were charged £6.50 each way. i will not be recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruth-anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review The Waterfoot Hotel

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews