We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 * resturant 3* hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterfoot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfoot Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Derry
belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 * resturant 3* hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in feb for a weekend deal. Great value. The hotel itself is ok. Its a bit out of the way. 5er in a taxi to city centre. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the are a bit dated more so the bathrooms. The beds arent up to much but not uncomfortable.

The bar and resturant is amazing. Lovely place to be and the food is top notch. Breakfast was spot on.

The staff in the hotel and resturant wer very good service was great. This made our stay.

Left my iron there and they wer nice enough to post it back :-) thanks for that.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepermintBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Pepermint Belfast - We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review following your recent stay. Thank you for you kind comments regarding the food, service and staff. You obviously enjoyed your experience and were impressed with the Wine Bar & Snug Bar.
Your comments regarding your bedroom have been noted and I am delighted to advise some bedrooms are currently undergoing a refurbishment. I do hope you will return to visit us again soon when you will get to experience one of the newer bedrooms. I have passed your comments on to our staff and look forward to your next stay.
Helen Stewart Sales & Marketing Executive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    127
    85
    42
    35
See reviews for
110
175
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal,Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute .. Not necessarily for valentines but it coincided .we had stayed before and were happy so booked a night for 2 B&b . 3 course meal and a suite for £150 .. We were not disappointed .. The suite was fab .. Nicest biggest most comfortable bed ever .. The bathroom was great jacuzzi .. Wet room .. All mod cons .. Huge surround sound tv in room .. Decor lovely .. Food in wine bar v good staff all very friendly .. Not local but with Derry accents !! .. After dinner drinks in snug bar with local musician who has great voice very Enjoyable .. Breakfast was good .. Staff again v friendly and attentive .. Now to negative and I don't want to be but am always truthful in reviews .. The view from the room is bad .. Dumped old sunbeds and other junk .. Ok if u don't look out .. U wont see .. but a let down to the hotel and staff . Also .. Air con units outside window of suite a poor decision .. Noise in morning above my threshold for deep sleeping . For the city of culture 2013 great hotel .. Just clean up the rear .. And try to reduce the air con noise and next time I will give a 5 star rating . I will return but with earplugs .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FHelenAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
FHelenAnn - Thank you for taking the time to send in your review following your recent stay at the Waterfoot Hotel. Your kind comments have been passed on to the staff and it's great to hear you really appreciated the Suite, the food and entertainment. I have noted your comments regarding junk being dumped and unfortunately it does appear our maintainence team were clearing out old store rooms during your visit. I can assure you the junk was only there for 24 hours and has long been removed. I apologise you experienced noise from the air conditioning unit also. This has undergone a service and noise levels are now to an absolute minimum so hopefully you will have no noise to worry about on your next visit. Thank you once again for your feedback as we always like to know how our customers have enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Helen Stewart Sales & Marketing Executive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontypridd
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed here and once again the staff were very pleasant. We ate in the bar as we always do, prefer it to the restaurant, and the food was very good as usual. I feel the rooms are now in need of refurbishment as they seem very tired although having said that it was nice and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pontymozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Pontymozz - Thank you for taking the time to submit your review based on your recent stay at the Waterfoot Hotel. We are delighted you have returned for a third stay and were happy with the overall food and service. We take your comments on board about the bedroom and are delighted to advise we have just started a refurbishment project of some bedrooms. We hope to see you back again soon and you get to experience the new bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

we stayed here for two nights. the room was tired and dirty. the bed was the most uncomfortable bed i have ever slept in. the fire alarm went off when we just arrived and again at 7.00am each morning. we were kept waiting for an hour and 30mins for our reserved diner table with no apologies or explanation from staff and when we eventually spoke to a manager his attitude was a disgrace, we were told "there is nothing i can do" a complimentary bottle of wine to our table would have been a nice gesture by way of apology and appeasement but instead we got a manager who was rude, abrubt and lacking in the crucial people skills that should be fundamental to any manger. it states on their website that free taxi rides into and from the city centre are available yet we were charged £6.50 each way. i will not be recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruth-anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Waterfoot Hotel

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

wee stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and it was excellent so wee decided to bring our wife's with us this time making a party of twelve everything was going alright until wee were asked to keep the noise down in the public bar apparently they had a complaint from another customer of which there were only another six in the bar i asked the duty manager to explain what was going on and he was quite rude.The next day wee had a meal booked for 8 oclock our starters arrived at 9,25 again i enquired as to the delay the same manager said were busy that was our night ruined wee spent a lot of money in that hotel but never again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 618brian1949618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review The Waterfoot Hotel

The Waterfoot Hotel
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland Derry City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had the special which was Turkey&Ham it was excellent, we got mash for a side order, would recommend to order different side orders to share, as the portions are reasonable. Service very quick and efficient. We relaxed in the lounge with a pot of tea, enjoyable day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaMcLoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Katrina, its is lovely to receive your feedback and hear you recently had a very enjoyable lunch and day at the Waterfoot Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to submit this review. Our lunch specials have been a great success and are the ideal way of having some relaxing time out with friends.
I will pass your kind comments on to our chef as he loves to hear how much customers enough his food and I will also ensure the staff get the praise for a job well done. Thank you once again.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Helen Stewart Sales & Marketing Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Waterfoot Hotel was first venue that we looked at for our wedding and from the minute we stepped inside we just knew we had to have our wedding there. It’s a wonderful venue and really well laid out, and we loved how it’s separated from the hotel itself. We decided to go with the wedding package and I’m glad we did, planning a wedding can be so stressful but with their package it made things that bit easier.

Well what can I say about the day itself? Everything was just perfect!! I know everyone is meant to say that but our day was really everything we had hoped for and much more.

The minute we arrived, Kevin (wedding co-ordinator) greeted us with glasses of champagne and attended to our every need. The guests were well looked after, as were we, what more could we ask for. Kevin made sure that every detail was timed to perfection and I thought he done extremely well conducting the speeches.

We would also like to say a massive thanks to all the staff, they were brilliant and couldn’t do enough for everybody. The food was to die for and the service was simply awesome. The barmen also were very hard working and served everyone with a smile.

We would also just like to thank Kevin and all the staff for such a wonderful day, they really went out of their way to make sure every single guest was well looked after and for us that was the most important thing for us. Even now our guests talk about our wedding day and how they had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the meals and buffet.

Finally I would just like to say to anyone that’s engaged and searching for the prefect venue make sure you take a look at the Waterfoot. It really is a wonderful venue and I know that anyone who decides to have their wedding reception there will have a wonderful day, just like us. It definitely was the greatest day of our lives and we will never forget it. Just writing this review, is bringing back great memories, good times!! Lol

Thanks for making our day that extra bit special!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Kathleen, thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback on your wedding experience. We are absolutely delighted you found the service and attention to detail was first class. We know how stressful it can be when planning a wedding so it is great to know you felt you were in good hands from the first point of contact right through to the wedding day itself. I will pass your fantastic comments on to our staff and esepcially Kevin who does an amazing job. It was our pleasure to look after such a lovely couple and your guests. Thank you also for hughly recommending the Waterfoot to future bridal couples. Your endorsement on our high standards and service is great appreciately. We hope you will call in to see us at the hotel to say hello soon.Thank you once again.
Helen Stewart Sales & Markting Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
2.0 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfoot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfoot Hotel

Property: Waterfoot Hotel
Address: 14 Clooney Road | 14 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 6TB, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfoot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in July 2009, the Waterfoot Hotel is perfectly located under 3 miles from the City Centre and only 6 miles from Derry City Airport. Only 10 minutes walk from the hotel, the fabulous peace bridge allows easy access to the heart of Derry City. Ample free parking with free taxi transfer to city centre offered to all hotel guests. The stylish and elegantly presented hotel has 44 bedrooms, leading edge conference and banqueting facilities, a contemporary restaurant and wine bar as well as a traditional intimate snug bar. The Waterfoot Hotel is the ideal location for weddings, private functions, conferences and meetings. With modern decor throughout and friendly staff a great experience is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfoot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfoot Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing