We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterfoot Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$246
$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$137
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Hotel(Derry)
$137
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$135
$99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveler rating
235
150
97
47
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
150
97
47
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnug barwine barfunction roomcity centrefoyle bridgebridal suitewedding venuewedding receptionfood was amazinggreat nightreception staffcourse mealtea coffeeone night staygreat atmospherelast weekendhotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 573 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed here for two nights recently - never again. The smoking area for the function room was strategically placed under the bedroom windows. The noise persisted loudly well into the early hours of the morning. Complaints to reception and night time calls to security brought no improvement the first night and little the second. In addition the hotel is beside a major roundabout and traffic noise was very noticeable throughout the night.

Noise seems to be a theme: in both the bar and restaurant, as well as in the lobby area, the same 'techno'/'dance' music was being played very loudly. It was not incidental. It dominated. I could hear it in my bedroom.

Apart from the noise, the bedroom was tatty and damp. Renovation is clearly needed. Breakfast was mediocre. The power supply for the large toaster came from an extension lead dangling about half a metre off the ground - hardly safety conscious, in my opinion.

All that said, some of the staff were friendly and helpful but, in my view, they would have a hard sell to persuade me, and others with me, to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b2dac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenSt, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

I am disappointed to read the feedback on your recent stay and the fact you have decided not to return to our hotel. During your visit we did have two weddings taking place in the hotel of which you would have been informed at the time of booking. As I am sure you can appreciate there will always be an element of noise with such occasions. I am sorry if this disturbed your sleep, however, we do everything possible to control the noise levels with residents in particular. The hotel was also fully booked during your stay so again some noise is possible when the hotel is at maximum capacity. I have passed on your comments regarding breakfast & the music to our General Manager. We rarely ever get negative feedback on the foyer music as the volume is easily adjusted so i am unsure if you asked for the volume to be turned down. Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We attended the cocktail making for a company team building event, followed up with the 3 course set menu.
Cocktail making itself was very good, everyone got to make a few cocktails and drink at least 4 each.
The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, notably Patsy our instructor was very attentive and helpful.
The meal itself was fine, not fine dining, but at the price paid (£15 for 3 course) was nice. Waiting staff were friendly and helpful.
Very impressed by the overall value for money of this event.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel

Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We got married here in september this year,heres a few words to describe our experiance( elegance,excellence and amazing) to say the least,the ambassador suite is something else,I was treated like a queen,nothing was a problem no matter how many times I rang room service.Love this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haileymccready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel

Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

we stayed overnight after a wedding.the room was very poor with a damp smell (overpowered in the corridors with strong airfreshner) and badly needed updating. the bath suite was old a pink! with lots if mould around the bath.the shower also ran hot and cold when it actually worked. the bedding was old and worn too. overall there are plenty of hotels in the actual centre which are of a much higher standard at a similar price.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel

Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed in October 2011 in room 123
Called the waterfoot but it's in a hollow near a roundabout. About a couple of miles away from London / Derry centre.
Bit of a grey hotel from the outside and overall a bit dated in parts.

Room near the air con and a bit noisy. There was also a wedding party on our night and it's not too good to be awakened on 3 occasions as the guests move about singing badly at 2am.
Room a bit tired could do with an upgrade, was sold on the context of a boutique hotel but all that was boutiquey was the purple throw on the bed
Bed pretty small
TV very small

Bathroom
Very tired and a tad outdated, clean though

Service
Good and although the TV in our room stopped working we were treated well and provided with another room with a working TV.

Food
Cannot comment as we didn't dine

Bar
Very glitzy

Overall
£70 for the night without breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew L, Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review the Waterfoot Hotel

Waterfoot Hotel
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews