We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian food.”
Review of La Sosta

La Sosta
Ranked #22 of 188 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Real Italian food.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent quality fresh Italian food done properly. La Sosta takes its proper place among the highest quality restaurants in the region, but I'm glad it's in Derry!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mikeinbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    25
    12
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

La Sosta is a great restaurant in the heart of the city, with gorgeous views across the Foyle, cosy and welcoming atmosphere (the decor is traditional homely Italian but stylish) and food and wine of the highest quality!

It's so refreshing to visit a restaurant in Derry that provides something different from the standard fare you see on most of the menu's in the town. It seems clear that real thought and heart have been put into the selection of dishes. Would highly recommend the steak, heavenly!
The staff are freindly and very helpful, and on a recent visit lovely music was provided by a young pianist, a really special touch to the evening!

Could not recommend highly enough!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in Derry”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

After travelling two weeks around the UK, this was by far the best meal we had - at La Sosta ristorante. The food was excellent, the service was friendly and attentive. The view over the old walls was charming. We would definitely return next time we're in Derry.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Keeps me coming back for more!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Summer and another excuse to re-visit my favourite Italian restaurant - a beautiful evening was enhanced by the wonderful food. I just feel so spoiled when I visit - Claudio is a wonderful host and I always rely on his expertise when it comes to wine selection. Great location in city centre with an enchanting view over the river. Well done again. Thanks for a great night.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niamh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

As a world traveler - I am delighted that one of my favourite restaurants is in my home town. La Sosta is an authentic Italian restaurant, with food and a selection to match the best I have experienced anywhere. Service is probably the best in Northern ireland, and the welcome matches the cuisine. A class act hidden away in the wild North West. 5stars. La Sosta is the immediate choice for any of our special or just romantic meals out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenLewisDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Sosta also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to La Sosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing