We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome location!”
other travelers have booked this property
Direct views of the Mourne Mountains from Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Direct views of the Mourne Mountains from Living room
Large hall/sunroom with amazing views of the Mournes and the ever-changing tide and wildlife large open plan living room with dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Direct views of the Mourne Mountains from Living room
Large hall/sunroom with amazing views of the Mournes and the ever-changing tide and wildlife
large open plan living room with dining table
open plan fully fitted kitchen with  views of the mournes and murlough nature reserve
Open plan living space
exterior view of the bungalow situated on a quiet location within the nature reserve
master bedroom with ensuite, walk in wardrobe with stunning views of the mountains and inner bay
Murlough beach a short walk away
Family bathroom with P-shaped bath and electric shower
Twin bedroom with views of the mountains and the bay
Ensuite bathrooms with power showers
large stoned driveway with parking
views from open plan hallway
large open plan living room with stunning views
large bedroom with ensuite bathroom and walk in wardrobe
Murlough nature reserve from the back windows
breathtaking views of the Mourne mountains and inner bay from the bedroom .
Log burning stove in living room for cosy nights in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Timothy S
1 review
“Awesome location!”
Reviewed June 14, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mourne Retreat! What a perfect location! We were close to town for a bite to eat yet the setting was so peaceful. We spent each morning watching the swans on the water and the evening walking down to the beach. Would HIGHLY recommend this house to anyone who will listen! Thanks again Sandra!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2017
Thank you Timothy for your review. I'm pleased you have a peaceful break and you got to enjoy the beach and its beautiful views of the Mourne mountains and all the local area has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 17, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 21, 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review I'm glad you got to enjoy some of the beautiful scenery and exhibits that co. down has to offer.hopefully we will see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cmw732017
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We visited for a week long stay, family of five, two adults, 15 ,13 & 3 year old. Everyone had a great time. It is so peaceful watching the wildlife from the windows, and the ever changing scenery. A brisk walk to the beach through Murlough Nature reserve delightful at anytime of day. The beach is amazing, we even saw three seals swimming on our last day. Blue Bay cafe in Dundrum is worth a visit, very good food and friendly informative owners. We also visited Morellis ice cream shop in Newcastle, every day for a week, kids loved them.
The house is very cosy and well equipped, I cooked almost everyday and found everything I needed including lots of store cupboard basics and fresh baked goods on arrival. Sandra also provided shampoo and shower gels for each bathroom.
The wood burning stove was perfect for relaxing on an evening.
Overall a fantastic base for visiting places such as Tollymore forest, Castle Ward, Silent Valley, reservoir and many other National Trust Places.
We would definitely book again.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
I'm glad you had a wonderful time and found lots to do in the surounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and peaceful setting.
Liked least: All good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2016
Thank you David for your kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed you stay with us and I look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claire C
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total tranquility”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Couldn't thank Sandra enough. We arrived to a welcome pack of fresh scones, apple tart & breads. I was gobsmacked the pictures do not do it justice. Peaceful, tranquil everything you want in a holiday home. We were 5min from the hustle & bustle of Newcastle then back to watch a beautiful sunset & the mountains of Mourne. We will definitely be back, I wished every minute that the place was ours!!!! Worth every penny all 6 of us had a lovely holiday.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
Thank you Claire, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay I look forward to seeing you all again. Regards Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Absolutley fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for the weekend as a family group of 6 adults and where not disappointed.
The house is first class 5 star rating well furnished and beautifully presented. We cooked in both nights and it was home from home. Sandra and Ray are extremely nice and welcoming and can not do enough for you, they then leave you to it and enjoy a relaxing time.
The views from the windows are second to none and just to sit and watch the weather changing over the Mourne mountains is breathtaking. I would have no hesitation is recommending this house.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Thank you Martin, I am pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. Hopefully I will see you again in the future. Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dee-d2
belfast n.i.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A little gem,perfect for our 3 generation family holiday”
Reviewed August 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had very high expectations for this lovely house,they weren't met --they were exceeded. Everything was great from the warm welcome of owners Sandra and Ray,the very welcome basket of goodies,the gorgeous house itself,we were sure we were going to really enjoy ourselves and we did. Everything you could want was already there for you,the house is very spacious ,the seating so comfy for sitting looking out at the Mourne mountains on one side and the birds,so many different types, our favourites were the herons and the egrets,on the other side. We watched them from all the different places in the house using the binoculars provided. Our party of 5 had 2 grandparents,2 parents and a 15 year old and we all had a good time. We had so much space and yet we were together. I have to mention the amazing night sky, it's so dark outside that we saw so many stars our granddaughter who lives in a city, couldn't believe how many she could see. Thank you Sandra and Ray for sharing your lovely home with us, we can't wait to come back again,hopefully very soon. We didn't want to leave

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous house and location
Liked least: N/A we loved everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 6, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments, I'm glad you had a good time and hope to see you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing