We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mournes on your doorstep”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gorse Hill Farm

The entrance to the cottage with unsurpassed views of the Mourne mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The entrance to the cottage with unsurpassed views of the Mourne mountains
Sunny South facing aspect for the Living room and kitchen/dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The entrance to the cottage with unsurpassed views of the Mourne mountains
Sunny South facing aspect for the Living room and kitchen/dining area.
Fully equipped modern kitchen.
The modern and fully equipped kitchen.
Plenty of secure private parking spaces available beside the cottage.
The drive up to the cottage, with the view towards Dundrum bay.
The cottage is surrounded by dry stone walls.
The view of Slieve Meelmore from outside the Living room.
The open plan living/kitchen/dining room with solid wood flooring and views out towards the mountains
The dining area.
The downstairs twin bedroom complete with ensuite.
The upstairs master bedroom complete with ensuite and walk in wardrobe.
A 4 Star Tourism Northern Ireland approved cottage.
The master bedroom ensuite.
Twin bedroom ensuite.
Twin bedroom shower.
Main bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen C
Tannum Sands, Australia
2 reviews
“Mournes on your doorstep”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

We have stayed twice at Gorse Hill farm and both times were outstanding. Well equipped kitchen and very comfortable. The views are amazing and the walks are a challenge but very rewarding. You can do as much or as little as you want. Hopefully not our last visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2018
Thanks Helen for taking the time to review your stay. I’m very happy you once again enjoyed your time here and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kori R
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Northern Ireland ”
Reviewed May 15, 2018 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed there quite a while ago but we still talk about it and plan on returning this fall (hopefully it’s available!) Most gracious hosts with donkeys and chickens and an adorable dog named Bella. Fresh eggs in the refrigerator and the most spectacular views. Clean and bright and modern and fabulous. Can not wait to return. We’ll never stay anywhere else in Newcastle

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2018
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Gorse Hill Farm. It was a pleasure to welcome you for your stay and I’m delighted that you enjoyed it and are planning on returning. It will be great to welcome you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruthhuddl...
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A perfect family cottage!”
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The first thing that struck me about this cottage was the view. It filled up the windows and I spent all my indoor time looking out! Inside was also immaculate and cosy. Kitchen superbly equipped and plenty of bathrooms for everyone! The chickens, cats, dogs, donkeys and owners are all really friendly and I can't think of a better place to stay.
The nearest mourne walks start on the trassey track just down the next road and are perfect for beginners and seasoned walkers, tollymore is a short drive away and other great places are all within easy reach. Entire family wants to stay here again!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Thanks very much Ruth for taking the time to review your stay here at Gorse Hill Farm. We are really pleased that you all had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fay_W50
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, peaceful and we will be back!”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage had everything you could need for a weekend away! Warm, comfortable and just brilliant! Can't recommend highly enough! Location is brilliant and Cagney and Lacey great neighbours!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Hi Fay, thank you for reviewing your stay. We are delighted that you had a very enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in future. Many thanks, Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaPatri...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay”
Reviewed October 13, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was a perfect spot with stunning views and easy access to the Mourne Mountains. The house was lovely and extremely comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Neil was an excellent host - very friendly and generous, even supplying us with breakfast supplies including fresh eggs from his chickens. We should have planned more days here. If you want to visit this part of Northern Ireland you should stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2016
Thanks very much Anna for taking the time to review your stay here. Delighted you had a great stay and you're very welcome at any time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isobel T
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with beautiful views”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Friends visiting from Australia rented this cottage and ask us to join them for a few days.
What a beautiful setting looking over the Mourne mountains. Cottage had everything you need and was immaculate. Owner very helpful and was always there if you needed anything. We will certainly be back ourselves and bring the grandchildren ,who would love to meet Cagney and Lacey the donkeys, and Bella the dog . Sometimes the worlds most beautiful spots are on your doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2016
Thanks Helen for taking the time to review your stay at Gorse Hill Farm, we very much appreciate it. We are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Best self-catering property we have ever stayed in! Miss it so much!!”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and two young children stayed in this outstanding property for five nights and my only complaint was it just wasn't a long enough stay!! The place is spotless, cosy, comfortable and has everything you need. Beds are really comfortable and the house has a luxurious feel to it. The views from the windows are amazing and it was a joy to wake up to them every morning. We felt like we were home from home and really hope to return as soon as we can! We really didn't want to leave. My children loved the donkeys, chickens and friendly cat who visited us. Great secure garden for them to play in. The kitchen is extremely well stocked with utensils, pots, dishes etc, very comfy sofas in living room area, great tv with DVDs and also books and games. Close to Newcastle, tollymore etc but you do need a car. Quiet and peaceful. Highly recommend. Neil is very welcoming and left us lovely eggs, milk, bread and butter! Depressed to be home!! Thanks so much xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views
Liked least: Having to go home!!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thanks very much Helen for taking the time to review our property. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction, and we look forward to your return in the future.
Many thanks, Neil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing