We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect and Tranquil”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Coastguard Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

jonnyh425
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect and Tranquil”
Reviewed July 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just returned from a weekend away in Newcastle, Co Down, where we were attending a wedding. There were four of us in our party and we arrived on Friday evening to find milk, coffee and tayto crisps already in the house. Also Esther, the owner, had put out the ironing board and iron ready for us as we needed them for shirts etc.
We had never been to Newcastle before so didn't know what to expect and went out for a meal at Great Jones on the Friday evening where the food was excellent and the atmosphere top notch too. It was a walk from the cottages into town that took about 15-20 minutes but we were only too happy to stroll along the prom enjoying beautiful scenery and also the walk back afterwards was needed after such good food and a few pints of Mourne Mist.
The views from the cottage are amazing and it would be an ideal place to spend a weekend of peace and quiet or exploring the local country, with lots of good eating places around the town. Olive Bizarre down the hill was a great coffee shop too.
The house is quirky and the shower is one of the best I've had!
There is a lovely kitchen and plenty of space in the lounge with several books and games available to use, as well as folders with local information and activities. Internet is available and television, but we didn't use this massively as we were out and about quite a bit.
The directions we were given to the property were great, postcode and sat nav not perfect at getting you there, and there was space for our one fairly large rental car and as long as you park in the right place there was no problem.
Thanks Esther for making our trip so pleasant and an enjoyable home from home.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thank you Jonathan. I am glad you all found some of the delights Newcastle has to offer. Please come again. You were perfect guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2017
Thank you Sue. Glad you enjoyed your first trip to Northern Ireland and Mourne country.
Please come again. Perhaps hubby will catch some fish - they just wouldn't bite this time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monica K
Warrnambool Victoria Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was a nice place to stay but a few little extras would have made it better”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The Coastguard Cottage was comfortable but lacking in a few essentials. One of the criteria for choosing this cottage was internet access which it was claimed was available. Traveling as we were for an extended time it was an important consideration to be able to keep in touch with our children in Australia. We relied on internet access for this and when we got to the Cottage found that it was not available. This was problematic given the time difference between Ireland and Australia which meant that other internet sources such as the cafe Oilve Bizarre were not open when we had arranged Skype sessions. It would have been nice to have been notified of this beforehand so we could have put in place some other arrangements.
It would have also been nice for international travellers such as ourselves to have been provided with more information on amenities in the surrounding area. By accident we came across the Harbour Hotel which provided excellent meals in great surroundings, from speaking to local people there we learnt of some great walks up the Granite Steps. None of this information was provided at the Cottage and it would have been very helpful.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ocean views
Liked least: Lack of internet which was stated as available and the awful state of the laundry and back area. Car access was also an issue even though we followed to the directions to use King st it was difficult to get in and out of the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
Sorry for the lack of Internet provision . We cancelled it recently because we are seeking another provider.

The Cottage is ideally situated for hillwalking, taking a leisurely stroll and eating out.

I will make sure that more information is put in the folder about the leisure activities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickmN...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weekend in Newcastle”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

all I all a very well equipped property with a cosy living room with spectacular views over the sea. Comes with plenty of amenities including TV. Micro wave etc. handy location for exploring the Mournes and Newcastle itself Some points to note. Parking outside property can be problematic. Limited space and some concerns expressed by neighbours. Also, general access to the property is by a very narrow entrance up hill and a sharp right hand turn. Not for the nervous driver!! However. This is a comfortable place to stay but customers should be aware that access to the third attic bedroom is through the 2nd bedroom so might not suit other combinations of visitors.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The proprrty location
Liked least: parking
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2016
Coastguard Cottage sits above the main road, overlooking the sea. The approach from King Street and down the hill, past Widows Row Cottages, is the best mode of entry.
There is only a parking space for one vehicle.
The stairs to the third bedroom (converted attic), lead from the second bedroom. It has a single bed, and is the bedroom of choice for many guests ( especially young people) since it has a spectacular view, via the dormer window, of Dundrum Bay. The other dormer window overlooks the garden behind the coastguard house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamR2...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Booked at very short notice. Very fast response to Enquiry Booking.
Cottage clean and comfortable.
Well presented and great view.
Very helpful owner who advised on eating at Harbour Bar nearby (a nice, friendly place with a music session on Sunday night).
Easy walking distance into Newcastle.
A very relaxing break. Would recommend.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, and wood burning stove --- but not necessary to use since there is full central heating
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2016
Thank you. Coastguard Cottage has a wonderful position overlooking the sea, and with easy access to great restaurants and cafes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigcrai...
Costa Teguise, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What are you waiting for?”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you want quaint comfortable accommodation with an amazing sea view then book here, the pictures don’t do this place justice. We stayed with our 3 children (2 teenage and one aged 5). There was a small squabble about who was going to be lucky enough to sleep in the attic room so be prepared! The shower was powerful and hot and the cottage was immaculately clean, well furnished and perfectly equipped for a self catering stay. The beds were also very comfortable. There is an allocated parking space if you take a car. Esther made it very easy to book and we were met there on arrival and departure when our deposit was returned.
This is such a beautiful place to visit and there are loads of things to see and do in and around Newcastle, which we did. http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Attractions-g186478-Activities-Newcastle_County_Down_Northern_Ireland.html
There is a bus station in central Newcastle so a car is not essential and it is also near to Belfast which is well worth a visit. This cottage is a short stroll into town and is very close to “Olive Bizarre” which served an amazing afternoon tea. There are plenty of places to eat and we didn’t have a bad meal whilst out. There is also a supermarket and several shops in town if you are staying in to cook. My husband and I loved to sit by the window, have a glass of wine and dolphin watch through the window.
I look forward to returning here for another relaxing seaside break. (At a very affordable price).

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sea view
Liked least: Having to leave :0(
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy J
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A little Gem,”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The most beautiful view I have ever seen over looking Newcastle .' Just simply beautiful. The 2 floor cottage is lovely and cosy inside, instant hot water and heating if needed.. Very comfortable and everything you need .The owner is very helpful , and a lovely person to talk to. I have stayed at many cottages over the last 8years and this one by far has the most beautiful views, you won't be disappointed . Thanks Easter . Cindy

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Only one door
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.