We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent base to explore the beauty of the...”
other travelers have booked this property
Cottages from the pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottages from the pond
Bearnagh Cottage Live-in-kitchen Happy Vale Entrance, Bearnagh Cottage to right of driveway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Cottages from the pond
Bearnagh Cottage Live-in-kitchen
Happy Vale Entrance, Bearnagh Cottage to right of driveway
Bearnagh Cottage, Bedroom 1, King size bed
Bearnagh Cottage patio area and car port
Bearnagh Cottage, wood burning stove and wide screen TV
Meelmore Cottage bike shed and drying room
Bearnagh Cottage, Bedroom 2, Double bed (also a single bed in this bedroom)
Bearnagh Cottage sun room - living area with 4 large sofas
Friendly sheep at entrance
Mourne Mountains - Slieve Bearnagh Summit Tor
Mourne Mountains - Mourne Wall, Slieve Bearnagh
Map showing Happy Vale Location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gizza74
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent base to explore the beauty of the Mourne Mountains”
Reviewed October 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Myself and my wife stayed here over a weekend whilst overseeing a Duke of Edinburgh expedition in the Mourne Mountains. Gerry keeps the place spotless and was busy cleaning away when we arrived.

The cottage is in a great location for exploring the region and is set in some breath-taking countryside.

We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the area for a weekend or an extended break,

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
Delighted you enjoyed staying. Thanks for your comments and hope to see you again. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 25, 2017
Thanks for your kind comments. I designed it to be a good cottage but it is the location that is fabulous. You will be very welcome to return again when next in Ireland.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Becky C
1 review
“Stunning location and cottage - perfect stay”
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage is situated in a beautiful location in the Mourne mountains, cut off enough to feel away from it all, but within 10-15 minutes can be in lovely seaside town of to Newcastle or other villages with places to eat or shop such as Castlewellan.
Gerry our host clearly takes pride in the wonderful holiday cottages and did everything to ensure we had a great stay.
The cottage itself is kitted out to the highest spec. So many home comforts and luxuries in all the rooms and everything catered for in the kitchen.
We hope to be back soon.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2017
Thanks for your great feedback. You are totally right - the location is the most important factor and after that the cottage is clean and well equipped.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmo1981
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Four of us stayed in happyvale cottage from 15th July for 1 week ages ranging from 8 to 72. This was our first time and it won't be our last. The cottage is outstanding with everything you could possibly need. Everything was super clean and very spacious. The views were amazing and we were lucky to get good weather. The owner Gerry is very attentive and everything was catered for. We couldn't fault one bit.
Local amenities were all near by with castlewellan and tollymore 5 minutes away and Newcastle 10 minutes. Perfect holiday.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2017
Thanks for your excellent feedback. You were great fun guests to have staying with several walks up the hill beside the cottage. You will be very welcome to return again. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith H
1 review
“A most perfect weekend!”
Reviewed May 30, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Bearnagh, as the cottage, facilities and location all surpassed our expectations. The cottage was so roomy and decorated beautifully and with modern, quality fittings. The well equipped and spacious kitchen was a pleasure to be in and stunning views from every window made this a most relaxing weekend. We even enjoyed the company of the sheep! Gerry the owner was extremely helpful and accommodating. We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2017
I look forward to your return, excellent guests who loved the cottages and area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roving664...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent!.The location is amazing.
Gerry the owner is a very helpful man.
the house is very family friendly.

Date of stay: August 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
You all had great fun walking up the fields to the viewpoint above the cottages. Hope to see you again. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catBelfas...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Green tourism at its best”
Reviewed April 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The quality and design of Bearnagh Cottage are exceptional and demonstrate that you don't have to compromise on luxury when staying in an eco friendly environment. There are spectacular views from every aspect with the sunroom designed to bring the outside in. We saw beautiful sunsets from this room. Both cottages are great value for what you get, particularly Meelbeg Cottage which is a smaller version of Bearnagh with the same high end facilities. I don't understand why they're not five star rated. Earlier reviews have rightly rated Happyvale cottages highly and the many return visitors says it all. I will certainly be one.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
Great to see guests enjoying the cottages and their location. You will be very welcome to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing