We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Meelbeg Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Meelbeg Cottage
Kitchen in Meelbeg Cottage Walk in shower in Meelbeg
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Meelbeg Cottage
Kitchen in Meelbeg Cottage
Walk in shower in Meelbeg
Bunk beds in Meelbeg bedroom
Bike Shed/drying room in Meelmore Cottage
Meelbeg cottage is to the left of the larger Bearnagh Cottage
Mourne Mountains - Silent Valley
Sofa in Meelbeg Cottage
Sofa converts easily to a double bed
Map showing Happy Vale Location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Guide6151...
1 review
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed September 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My son and I visited Meelbeg Cottage ate Happyvale for three days in August. Gerry was a great host, helping my son hunt out local Game of Thrones filming locations. Stunning views of the Mourne Mountains, close by hiking, and short ride to Newcastle made this a relaxing place to finish our extended vacation in Northern Ireland. The cottage had a kitchen area/tv room, a very nice bathroom with warming rack and heated floor, and little bedroom with bunk beds. A great convenient place to explore the Mourne area.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2017
I enjoy the local Game of Thrones sites myself so always happy to help guests find these. Thanks for your feedback on the cottages and hope to see you again. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkpatri...
Antrim, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location is brilliant especially if you enjoy walking, the owner Gerry is very helpful and even delivers the paper to your door , can,t wait to go back , I don,t normally leave reviews unless it really deserves one and happy vale definitely deserves it

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
You were great guests and will be very welcome to return. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive B
2 reviews
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed August 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed in Happy Vale for a week and have to say it was our best family holiday ever. Gerry was an amazing host providing a home away from home and providing everything that u could need or want in the cottage. It was immaculately presented and the close proximity to the Mournes was an added bonus.... the kids loved staying here and we will definitely be back to stay with Gerry again.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2017
Thanks for your kind feedback. You were great guests to have staying and will be very welcome to return. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
docchriss...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Meelbeg/ bearnaugh cottage- a slice of heaven”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great first class accommodation close to the beautiful mourne mountains and the tollymore forest.
Immaculately clean with everything you could ask for in holiday accommodation... including a coffee maker! A salad spinner! Somewhere safe for the bikes.
Gerry had thought of everything and it was evident.
Would recommend this whole heartedly to anyone wanting to be near the mourne mountains. Belfast within easy reach. Newcastle nearby for ice creams! Beautiful murlough beach not far away.
A great week- a true hidden gem that we will definitely come back to.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2017
Thanks for very kind comments. First guests to make use of local fishing for dinner. You will be very welcome to return again. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 2, 2017
You will be very welcome to return again to the cottages and the Mourne Mountains
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paulsoaps...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My family and i had a lovely stay here at meelbeg cottage.The cottage is very cosy and was more than perfect for us.Very modern with underfloor heating it was always warm.Situated in the Mournes and just a little drive to Newcastle,Rostrevor and Castlewellan there's plenty to see and do close at hand.The views from the top of the hill of Meelbeg are amazing so just check out some of the pics I've put up.Gerry was a great host and couldn't be more helpful and has all the knowledge of the local areas.Will be back again soon and fully recommend this hidden gem to anyone the homes are amazing, missing the peace and tranquility already.Check Google maps for my photos of happy valentine's.

Date of stay: April 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
Thanks Paul for being great guests and making excellent use of the cottage and location. Interesting predictive text typo with Happy Vale! You will be very welcome to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clan-Doyl...
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location, location , location”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Well if you didn't get it from the title....the location is stunning. Peace, tranquility and fabulous mournes countryside....not even storm Doris or subsequent weather couldn't dampen this trip.
The cottage is toasty warm, well equipped, clean comfortable and eco friendly...top marks.
Gerry is the only man I know who can fit 36 hours of work into one day! Nothing was too much trouble and rightly so he is very proud of his cottages.
We would highly recommend a stay here and will be pointing family and friends in his direction.
Look forward to seeing you again.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2017
I fully agree - the location is special. I built the cottages to be very comfortable and an environmental showcase but it's the natural environment and the location that make them. Thanks for your kind comments and hope to see you again. Gerry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing