We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place, a joy to stay in.”
other travelers have booked this property
Millstone Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Millstone Cottage
Mountain walks and trails from your doorstep View of Slieve Binnain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Millstone Cottage
Mountain walks and trails from your doorstep
View of Slieve Binnain
Relax on the decked patio area
Kribben Cottages 5, 4 Star Luxury Cottages
Cosy living room with wood burning stove
Dining area seating six
Modern country style kitchen
Luxury bathroom with separate shower
Spacious bedroom with super king sized bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stewartno...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place, a joy to stay in.”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our third stay in Kribben Cottages. They are so clean and comfortable, well equipped and just a joy to be in. The views are beautiful and the mountains are on the doorstep. It's a fantastic place to tour from too. I just love lighting the fire and looking out!
We've stayed in Moolieve and most recently in Rourkes Cottage with family.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness and comfort.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo256
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage set in amazing scenery”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Having stayed in a few self catering places with my wife and young son, I can safely say that this was the best.
The cottages are of a very high standard and they are set in the most beautiful scenery with stunning views of the Mournes. We were blessed with excellent weather which really helped.
The cottage was very clean and well kitted out with everything that you would need.
We'd definitely stay at one of the Kribben Cottages again.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the property, cleanliness, free wifi, location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea M
Belfast
1 review
“We loved it!”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We enjoyed a weekend break in Millstone and it was perfect in every way. The location was quiet and very beautiful, yet close to Newcastle as well. There was fantastic attention to detail and everything had been thought of! The cottage was spotless with excellent facilities!
Myrtle was a great host and is a wonderful baker! If we could have stayed longer we would!
We will be back!

Date of stay: October 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy S
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Millstone Cottage was the ideal base for our first holiday in the Mournes. The cottage is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and equipped to a very high standard with the biggest, most comfortable bed we've ever slept in!
The views are astonishing from every side of the cottage, and only a mile from the main coast road. Myrtle & John made us feel very welcome and as if nothing would be too much trouble. Everyone has mentioned it in the reviews so far, but the home made scones & buns really were great with a wee cup of tea after we'd unpacked!
Our whole family loved this place and would visit again in a flash. If I could give it 6 stars I would!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and layout of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location and amazing cottage!”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just back from a few nights at Kribben Cottages- beautiful and peaceful location. Great base for exploring local area. We were so impressed when we arrived and realised how child friendly the site was- secure electric gates and a children's play area- our children (age 4 & 1) just loved all the green space! Myrtle had left lovely scones/ buns and the cottage inside had everything we needed and was kitted out to a really high standard. Will definitely be back.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weepiper2...
Newtownards, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage in every way”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely relaxing and peaceful stay in Millstone cottage. The cottage was perfect in every way, it was very comfortable and finished to the highest standard. This is such an idyllic setting, with views of both the sea and the mountains. There are so many lovely walks on the doorstep. We received a very warm welcome on arrival with lots of information on the local area and we really enjoyed our home baked treats. We can't recommend Kribben Cottages enough and we will certainly be returning in the future.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments, it's great to receive such positive feed back. We are delighted you had a relaxing holiday and enjoyed the peace and tranquility, we are so fortunate to be located in such a picturesque area. Hope to see you back again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JezDale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Diamond in the Mournes”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottages are quite simply stunning. Luxuriously furnished and immaculately clean, Millstone was a perfect location for a relaxing retreat. A warm welcome awaits with the really nice touch of home baked treats on arrival. I cannot speak highly enough about the amenities, location and value for money the cottages provide, there is something for everyone, including WiFi for hard to please teenagers. Suffice to say, we will be back.

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2015
Thanks you so much for the great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write and let everyone know about our facilities. Looking forward to having you back some time in the near future. Myrtle:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing