We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cutest Cottages in Mourne”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rourke's Cottage

Rourke's Cottage - 1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rourke's Cottage - 1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Country style living room with cosy wood burning stove Double room with reading area and sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Rourke's Cottage - 1 of 5 Luxury Cottages nestled in the back drop of the Mourne Mountains
Country style living room with cosy wood burning stove
Double room with reading area and sea views
Spacious twin room with sea views
Luxury bathroom with free standing bath
Large walk-in shower
Decked patio area with views of mountains and sea
Unwind and watch the fishing boats 'bobbing' along the sea
Silent Valley Park just 5 mins drive, relax with a picnic, feed the ducks, enjoy the walking trails.
Annalong Harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
newelle14...
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cutest Cottages in Mourne”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Visited the cottages a few times before however I got to spend my birthday here in December for a weekend and loved it.

These cottages are absolutely gorgeous and I can't recommend them enough. Modern with a homely feel, they are perfect for anyone looking a weekend away!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2015
We were delighted you chose Kribben Cottages to celebrate your birthday, we think it's great place to spend quality time with family and friends:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hil2405
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Peace and luxury”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I had the privilege of being invited to stay with my friends who were visiting from England.
I loved it. It is comfortable and luxurious. The wood burning stove was lit and it was so cozy. The weather being Northern Ireland was changeable!
Everything about the cottages is wonderful. The accommodation, the views, closeness to amenities. Even though you are in the countryside it is only a few minutes by car, or a little longer walking into Annalong.
I will most definitely be back. I've been raving about to all my friends!

Date of stay: May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2015
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, they are really much appreciated. We take great pride in making sure our cottages are cosy and comfortable and that all our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We are thrilled that you have been telling your friends about Kribben Cottages, keep spreading the word!! Hope to see you soon:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Beautiful setting . Houses fit for a king. The owner was a pleasure to deal with.
She could not have done any more . The place is secure and handy to get up into the mountains for a good ramble. Have already recommended the place to others. We are planning to return next year.

Date of stay: May 2015
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2015
Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review. We are so glad that you all had a great time. Our location is ideal for rambling groups with many walks and trails right on our doorstep offering the perfect opportunity to explore the Mournes. Delighted you are already planning to come back and look forward to seeing you all again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DramaLlam...
Kells, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A weekend break you wish would last longer”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Absolutely beautifully designed cottage. Big spacious rooms and fabulous bathrooms.
Well suited for large family group. Great view of the Slieve donard mountain. We went hiking one day and it was lovely to get back to such a cosy cottage with an open fire. Loads to do in the area and there is nice restaurants nearby in Newcastle. Would highly recommend to go at any time of year, not very suitable for younger children but suited for teenagers etc. Wifi available.

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of Slieve Donard
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your kind comments regarding Rourke's Cottage much appreciated. There's certainly lots to do in the area for all ages, and we do offer a safe an secure site with spacious green areas to play in, swings and sand pit for the children to enjoy, not forgetting the strategically placed summer seats to just sit and enjoy the marvelous views, we hope to see you back very soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie64
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home From Home Experience”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a great cottage beautifully decorated. Stunning views from the cottage of the mountains and you also have a view of the sea. A large kitchen with all amenities. The main living area opens out onto a decking area. The location is great for cycling and walking. We thoroughly enjoyed our family holiday here and hope to return again soon. Myrtle the owner gave us a great welcome.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning layout of the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Thank you we loved having you and the children. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kribben Cottages and thank you for your review and support. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aliatthel...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A haven of luxury nestling beneath the Mourne Mountains”
Reviewed March 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Rourke's Cottage was luxurious, warm, beautiful, spacious - we loved it. We can't wait to go back. A weekend was not enough in this lovely cottage beautifully presented by the charming Myrtle who has thought of everything in these lovely cottages. We stayed for just a weekend while I did a recce of the area for my work, but we'll be back for a longer stay. The cottages are furnished to the highest standard with free standing baths, walk in showers, under floor heating, wood burning stoves and large comfortable beds.

The views out to Slieve Binnian are lovely and it's the perfect base for exploring the Mournes and Silent Valley. We ate out at the awesome Mourne Seafood in Dundrum, and had an amazing ride in the Tollymore Forest with Mourne Trail Riding Centre nearby. Can't recommend enough.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious rooms, stove fireplace, immaculate kitchen - everything!
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
We really enjoyed having you to stay and thank you for your kind remarks. The Mourne area has so much to offer with many attractions and activities right on our door step. We love to make guests from near and far feel welcome here in Northern Ireland and hope you will come back again soon and spend longer with us next time:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberie
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of both worlds”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here over New Year with my boyfriend and another couple, the cottage is finished to a very high standard. We were able to have an open fire every evening and relax in the cosy cottage. The kitchen was a joy to cook in, all newly fitted mod cons. We went into Newcastle one of the nights for dinner, it was only 8 pounds for the four of us in the taxi. We also had a lovely lunch in Annalong in the Harbour bar/ restaurant. Silent Valley is 10mins away by car and had lovely walks. I would definitely visit again for a chilled out weekend.

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing