We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Gym at the Clubhouse
Gym at the Clubhouse
Clubhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sharonden...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous getaway”
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Fabulous getaway from it all. It was Clean warm with all you could need in a self catering cottage with the added bonus of being situated right in the grounds of the forest. Even my son stayed off his phone while we were there. We were there during a stormy night so was lovely snuggling by the fire playing games and watching TV. We were able to bring our 2 dogs which was one the reasons we chose the cottage which was brilliant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G
1 review
“Tollymore lodge”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Brilliant new year break in superb accommodation and beautiful location. Lodge had everything we required and wood burning stove fire in lounge just made the perfect end to each evening

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in great location”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Tollymore Gate Lodge for a lovely weekend in November. The cottage is beautiful, clean and comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. We couldn't have chosen a better place for access for Tollymore.
The communication from the owners was brilliant, from the email before we arrived with helpful information and tips for our stay, to returning an item that we had managed to leave behind!
We will definitely be returning, and would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend hideaway”
Reviewed December 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Tollymore Gate Lodge the weekend 1-3 December 2017 and found it to be warm, charming and very inviting. It was comfortable and very well equipped right down to the varied selection of board games and books provided. It was spacious for a family of 4, with great decor in keeping with the age of the lodge. Even though it is situated at the edge of Tollymore Forest Park, it is in a private setting with ample parking for 2 vehicles and there is no noticeable disturbance/noise from visitors to the park or from passing traffic. The booking procedure was straightforward, even with a few last minute changes and the owners even arranged for the heating to be on in preparation of our arrival. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay (our dog included) and if you're looking for somewhere to relax and chill out in beautiful surroundings then Tollymore Gate Lodge comes highly recommended.
Ps the WiFi signal is great too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majella G
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wee gem”
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Tollymore gatelodge
As hard working mental health nurses it was the perfect place to relax .it felt familiar and like home .it proved to be warm and cosy ..had everything we needed and immaculately clean .
We hope to make it a yearly event ...if we can wait that long !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage in fabulous setting.”
Reviewed November 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Our family absolutely loved the Gate Lodge and the autumnal delights of Tollymore forest. I've been trying to persuade my husband for years to buy a caravan so I could return to places such as Tollymore & Castlewellan to relive my childhood now with our own kids but there's no way that will happen now that we have explored the forest whilst living it up in the Lodge. The cottage is beautifully restored and maintained with a unique Gothic touch and lots of love and care. It was the perfect little house for our family of four and so nice to be right inside the forest park and have our little dog stay with us too. The house is tiled/wooden floored throughout so very dog friendly. The only thing I would say is, we couldn't get the outside lights to work at all (even after dancing under the sensors and re-trying the switches) so it was very dark coming home or when taking the dog out in the evenings and if your dog is small and likes to explore, you might want to bring a lead/spike to tie them in the garden as they can just run through the gate or the big hole in the hedge to the right of the gate, out into the forest park or even out onto the main road! There is also a small enclosed yard area behind the cottage but our lil' furry pal is only happy when he's free to potter with the kids so we tied him in the garden when they were playing! It also would have been good to know beforehand to bring some washing up liquid/cleaning utensils for the kitchen (we only noticed that after having already been to the shop and cooked dinner - doh! and the little general store in Bryansford is currently closed) However, we really appreciated being able to just purchase a bag of logs from your shed and the kids enjoyed collecting fire lighting sticks from the woods at the end of our walks. Please don't see any of these points as complaints, we aren't complaining we just didn't want to leave such notes in your visitors book. We loved your house, are thankful you have chosen to share it with others and would love to return again some time if you'll have us! x

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing