We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Gym at the Clubhouse
Gym at the Clubhouse
Clubhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
kareng199...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Thank you your cottage was perfect and an ideal setting for beautiful long walks -
We would definitely like to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Glad you had a good time. You're very welcome any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thank you so much. And glad you enjoyed it. Come back and see us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orlaith F
1 review
“Would definitely visit again”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The gate lodge was perfect for a weekend getaway for me and my friends. Beautiful cottage with stunning original features and lots of character. Provisions of firewood and coal were greatly appreciated but the house was cosy the whole weekend even without the fire going. TV signal not the best but who would want to vegetate on the sofa when there's a whole forest to explore?

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2017
Thanks for the review and we would love to have you back. And we have sorted the TV signal just in case you do :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not very welcoming”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I was disappointed to be advised to bring our own towels as only one small hand towel was provided. We were also advised to bring our own fuel for the fire. The property was short on basics such as toilet roll and the baby cot I had been told would be set up on arrival was not set up. There were even no batteries in the lights on the Christmas tree that had been set up for the holiday season. Overall I found the property to be adequate but extremely basic in its provisions and the instruction to strip the beds ourselves on leaving (prior to the cleaner arriving) felt like no element of luxury was allowed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2017
Thanks for your stay and apologies if there were things on this occasion which were sub-par. We have NEVER advised guests to bring their own fuel - it's always provided - and the oil heating is free anyway. And if stripping a bed and leaving the bed clothes on it takes away your luxury, we sincerely apologize. I would ask readers to judge us on the majority of the reviews which are seen here, not one one instance, as it's obvious how hard we work to make guests happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattunney...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a gem in the forest”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

my Aus Family loved everything about the cottage so homely and first class beds very clean lovely to sit and watch the fore burning at night they will be back again for a longer stay they love their walks in the forest considering it is winter the heating was first class

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catBelfas...
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Historic gatelodge in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We all enjoyed our week here immensely. The lodge is cosy, clean and comfortable. It is tastefully decorated and furnished throughout. A previous reviewer mentioned problems with the tv and internet connections so we were prepared to do without but everything worked perfectly the whole time we were there. We were nice and private in the pretty enclosed garden yet had the whole forest park as our playground! The forest park is stunningly beautiful in the Autumn. The children and dog were very happy here and we all want to come back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Explorati...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic wee cottage in an amazing location. We loved it so much that we've already booked to come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing