We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long wait but the food was great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Percy French

The Percy French
Ranked #1 of 3 Nightlife in Newcastle
Attraction details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Long wait but the food was great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We hadn't booked so had to wait about 45 minutes to get seated. The atmosphere wasn't great, it's all a bit too big and open planned. The food was quite expensive but was very good. If you are looking to treat yourself, make a booking before you go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarrenejcDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    20
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Visited the Percy French for the first time, as was staying in the Slieve Donard, but had never ventured into this bistro before. AS a solo female diner, it is sometimes a little daunting going for dinner alone, but I was warmly greeted by the duty manager, and immediately felt very relaxed. I sat by the roaring fire, which was lovely, as it was an exceptionally cold and blustery evening. Was offered the Christmas and standard menus. I had a prawn cocktail to start, always a favourite of mine, and very tasty it was. I then had a stuffed chicken dish, that came with champ croquettes and involved black pudding and a creamy leek sauce if I remember correctly. It arrived piping hot, and was absolutely delicious, really hit the spot.

When I was leaving, the manager suggested I used a side door that would allow me to exit closer to the hotel, so as not to get completely blown away!

Would certainly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxed meal in Newcastle, whether staying at the SD or not.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank FizzM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Identity Crisis....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Slieve Donard on a Saturday night and thought we'd go to PF for a drink and maybe a bar snack. This place should be a goldmine and a hive of activity I would have thought. Instead it doesn't seem to know what it is. A strange mix of family friendly / sports on tv / thrash metal playing on the sound system / bright lights and no atmosphere. It's old fashioned but in a bad hotel kind of way, not a nice rustic way. Maybe we just hit it at a bad time but I can't help thinking they could make so much of this place as a better alternative to dining in the hotel (like a more casual, bar snack,.sharing platters kind of thing) Also think it needs a complete redesign and makeover too....either go trendy or go comfy old fashioned....instead it's stuck somewhere in the 80's. Shame.

Helpful?
1 Thank weloveweekendsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great venue & meal deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

On a cold wet night, this was a great venue to eat. We had the early bird special which was great value plus a wonderful meal. The staff were wonderful. Great place, we shall return there when next in Ireland,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“yummy food and lovely atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The ambiance, service and menu were all perfect! we waited by the fire while our order was being prepared then ate the most delicious fish and chips meal with views of the sea!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JacquiO32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Percy French also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to The Percy French? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing