We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional in every way- accomodation, views and...”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage
Front of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Front of cottage
Front of cottage
My Bonnie chillaxing in the sun
Front bedroom
Bathroom
Full Bath with overhead electric shower
Private back garden
Patio area
View from back garden across the bay
View from front garden towards Newcastle
View of shore at back of harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lisa c
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional in every way- accomodation, views and host!”
Reviewed July 7, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Warm welcome and introduction to cottage by Anne. Great location in Newcastle, walking distance to shops, restaurants and pubs. Clean, bright well appointed quiet cottage- Anne has thought of everything one needs on vacation.Phenomenal outdoor areas front and back with sea views. Planning another stay next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Thank you so much for such a great review. It was a pleasure having you all to stay. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. I hope you get such good weather again when you come back in June next year. Look forward to seeing you again. Take care Lisa and Killian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Departure...
1 review
“Beautiful cottage, comfortable in great location and dog friendly.”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The sea to your front and the mountains of mourne behind , the highest peak in Northern Ireland slieve Donnard to be precise. There is a small harbour along the road and a RYA club there. Easy access to Newcastle and its many restaurants and ice cream shops.
Great poney trekking at mount pleasant around the castlewellan forest park, or if your more adventurous a fast hack on fit horses with an experienced group.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2017
Thanks Tony for taking the time to leave your review of Newcastle.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmlinehan
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
“Irish hospitality at its best!”
Reviewed May 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our stay at Anne's cottage on Widows' Row, Newcastle was perfect- from the spotlessly clean cottage to the furnishings and the warm welcome; we were so well-looked after. A great visit and we look forward to returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
Thanks Roberta. It was a pleasure having you both to stay. Thank you for your lovely review and please come back again soon. Take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macsKilda...
Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special cottage”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed in Anne's cottage for a weekend and found a special place we will definitely be visiting again. Steeped in history and with a wonderful host on hand to bring that history alive this little cottage is a wonderful escape. Immaculately maintained and thoughtfully renovated with Anne's wonderful eye for detail evident everywhere. Strongly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Thank you so much Pauline for such a lovely review. I'm so glad you and Donal enjoyed your stay and the weather held out for you both to climb Slieve Donard. I would love you to visit again you're such a lovely couple.
Kindest regards. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpecialK1...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm Winter Cottage by the Sea”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We arrived by dark, in the blistery cold but were delighted to enter a cosy, well supplied cottage with the fire ready to light! In the morning we were met with the most spectacularly views across the beautiful blue sea. Ann met us the night we arrived and kindly showed us round the property before leaving us to enjoy every minute of a well needed rest. This cottage was exactly what we needed - a home, not too far from our home!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2016
Thank you Kayleigh for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. All of my guests comment on how cosy the cottage is, I suppose with 2 foot thick walls it helps!!! The fire is always set for my guests because that is what I would expect if I came to stay, just needs a match and you're good to go. Please come back and visit again, it was a pleasure having to both to stay. Kindest Regards. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resort663...
1 review
“Cosy cottage with all home comforts.”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Have had a great stay at Widow's Cottage with my family and dog. Such a cosy little place with all home comforts. Anne had decorated the house inside and out which made our arrival extra special, she really has thought of everything to ensure guests have a lovely stay. There is lots to do in the area, from walking in the hills to fun on the beach (even at Halloween !!) and lots of places to eat or have hot chocolate to warm up after. The cottage has an open fire and super comfy beds which is ideal after a long day exploring. My daughter loved the snug under the stairs for reading/relaxing, so much so she didn't want to leave. Even the dog got in on the relaxing by the fire. This cottage is a real gem, we can't wait to come back and we haven't even left yet. Thanks Anne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home comforts, snug and cosy
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Jenny thank you so much for such a glowing review. I love to decorate the cottage for the kids especially at Halloween, it just makes it extra special. In fact it's decorated at Christmas and Easter also, I just can't help myself !!! It was a pleasure having such a lovely family to stay and of course I can't forget Duke the retriever. Please come back anytime you wish it would be great to see you all again. Take care. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollymill...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Can't rate this beautiful cottage high enough, was just perfect . Superb accommodation , we will be back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 28, 2016
Thank you so much Debbie for taking the time to leave your review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you back again. Regards to everyone. Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing