We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good wholesome fare!”
Review of O'Hares Newcastle

O'Hares Newcastle
Ranked #22 of 59 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: European, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Family run business at the heart of the Live music scene for over 40 years, winner of many awards for our restaurants and food, proud server to the local community and beyond, we have something for everyone.....only at O'Hares
Portadown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good wholesome fare!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent choice of menu. Fish chowder was a real highlight. Had the salmon on bed of champ. Delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie1Craigavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    25
    7
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were trekking in the Mournes, and afterwards were looking for a cosy venue to watch the x1 Nations..... O'Hares was the place, a hearty bowl of chowder, a big open fire, good pint of Guinness, there is excellent car parking to the rear, and magnificent sea views to the front. FAB!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelleHBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Third Choice Lucky”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We ended up in O’Hare’s after first trying to get served in McCann’s based on the recommendations on Trip Advisor. We also tried to book Vanilla but they only had a table for 4 at 7pm and they wanted it back at 8 pm – we were not going to be rushed like that so we set out for McCann’s. On arrival we noted the downstairs was dark with nobody about. We heard activity upstairs so went up only to be told that there was a wedding on and that they were not opening downstairs. We were directed next door to O’Hare’s and we were not disappointed.

We got a table and were served promptly with drinks and menus. Seafood chowder was outstanding yum, yum; followed by a 10oz sirloin steak with pepper sauce. My son also has the steak with our wives opting for the steak sandwich. We were not disappointed and concluded that fate had dealt us good fortune in the end.

Would we go back – absolutely!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NornIronMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and homely”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

First thing my wife and I noticed about this place was the huge open fire and the really welcome smell of burning logs. Second thing was the really friendly atmosphere and service. This was our first time in here, despite being regular travelllers to this area and we felt right at home. The third was the food. Simple, warm and tasty and served with a smile. We had a lovely lunch on a cold day in February, in front of the log fire after a long walk in the mournes. What could be better? We'll be back!1

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank The-oracle-NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This year I was responsible for arranging our Christmas Dinner and after some diliberation to go to we decided on O'Hares in Newcastle. The main reason was that the meal plus entertainment was costing £15.95 per person for this amount of money to be honest we didn't expect much. To our shock and surprise the meal was beautiful, service was top notch, noone was left sitting waiting on their food, entertainment was fantastic and the whole room just had a lovely Christmassy feel. I would strongly recommend O'Hares to anyone and will definitely return next year even if the price does increase!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Hares Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to O'Hares Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing