We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous apartment a real home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 7 The Carriages

7 The Carriages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
7 The Carriages
Living Area Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
7 The Carriages
Living Area
Dining Area
Kitchen Area
Master Bedroom
En Suite
Twin Room
Twin Room
Family Bathroom
Newcastle View 4
Newcastle View 1
Newcastle View 2
Newcastle View 3
President Clinton at Royal County Down
Tiger Woods at Royal County Down
County Down Region
The Mournes from Golf Course
View to Golf Course from The Apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Newcastle, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
T1508YSca...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment a real home from home”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Visited Newcastle with friends and this offered us an ideal location to explore the area. Apartment was as seen in the photos. Kitchen etc. very well equipped. There was a nice welcoming pack of the essentials plus a little extra - thanks Tony for the wine and they great meet and greet.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the comfort of the apartment
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kanisha-1...
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had a brilliant time in this apartment! Would defo recommend. Had everythinf you needed and more, great location, very friendly and welcoming owner. Had a very thoughtful welcoming gift apon arrival aswell.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maeve H
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed with our young son at Tony's apartment for a week in July. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Dishwasher, TV and dvd, wifi, hairdryer etc etc. There's plenty of parking outside and great views on to the golf course. About a ten minute stroll to town where there are plenty of lovely shops and restaurants. Our favourites were Niki's kitchen, villa vinci, the harbour inn and vanilla. We had beautiful trips to Castlewellan forest park and the silent valley. We hope to return next year. Thanks!

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E8834WWni...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment and location”
Reviewed June 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at the apartment with our son, his partner and our grandchild (2.5 yrs) for 4 days. The weather was absolutely fantastic hot and clear blue skies every day! The apartment was in a great spot, about a 20 minute stroll from Newcastle and really is as good as the other reviewers have said on this this site. Very clean, highly spec'd, well laid out and Tony (the owner) couldn't have been more helpful and gave us a pile of goodies to get started (Wine, tea, coffee, bread, milk, fruit, etc). It's a great base to go off and explore around the Mourne Mountains and along the Mourne coastal route. Good mixture of pubs and restaurants in Newcastle, a take-away fish n chip supper overlooking the beach from Doc's followed by an ice-cream from Maude's is highly recommended :)

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parcapeco...
Hanover, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Used 7 The Carriages for a base for golf in the area. For our family, the first time we have rented an apartment like this instead of a hotel. It was a very good experience.

The property is located just off the main road and is a short walk or dive to Royal County Down or Newcastle center. There is a grocery store just a short way down the road for whatever supplies you need.

We enjoyed meeting Tony and he was great to deal with. Gave us a very nice welcome with great instructions about how to use everything in the apartment. He also left us a very nice group of basics including a nice bottle of wine. Thank you Tony for your hospitality and advice about where to eat in town too.

Since we were golfer, we enjoyed the view out the bedroom windows of RCD. We could see golfers playing the 11th hole and then finishing their rounds on 17 and 18.

Plenty of parking and easy to find, we would love to return again someday! Was a great few days in the Newcastle area.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and how new and clean it was
Liked least: We had to leave and return home.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becci_sar...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here as a family for a week. It is perfectly located for the Slieve Donard hotel where we were for a wedding. Tony gave us a fabulous welcome and there was even a welcome pack with some essentials and a bottle of wine! The apartment is clean, well maintained and well equipped. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous apartment”
Reviewed March 31, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at the Carriages for a short Easter break with my 2 teenage children. The apartment was spotless and had everything we could possibly ever need with well stacked cupboards and fresh towels and linen, family games, DVDs, Sky TV and WIFI. The location was great - about a 10 minute walk into the centre of town and only a few minutes from the local garage/supermarket. Although along the main road, it is well tucked in from the road and felt very safe with limited noise from passing traffic. We received a really warm welcome from Tony who was very accommodating and helpful in booking and arrival and departure.
I would highly recommend this beautifully presented apartment.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing