We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh air and scenic views”

Silent Valley and Ben Crom Reservoirs
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh air and scenic views”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I've gone here many times as a kid, and I was glad to bring my family here on a visit in July. The walk by the reservoir is beautiful as you are in the heart of the mountains, and it's amazing to think that the water you are seeing is the water that you are drinking (open air reservoirs in America aren't usually accessible to the public). Many hiking trails and walking paths to go on, lovely cafe and play park too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rooney11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    90
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“beautiful surroundings with great facilities”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a beautiful place in the world. It has walks , coffee shop , picnic tables , duck pond , adventure playground. We had never been here before and had own picnic - food was available - we found a picnic table with ease beside the pond. The grounds are kept to a very high standard and everywhere was very clean. We went for a walk to the Reservoir and along one of the walk that go around the park. The walk was a moderate walk but hilly in some places. The interactive centre is free to visit and was interesting and cool on a day where it was very hot. A great attraction to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great day out! Walks for everyone! There is plenty of walks to choose from and plenty of places for picnics. Well worth a visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DPKP36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True to its name”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Despite the weather, Silent Valley was worth a visit for a relaxed walk - great soup in the tea room.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Weefi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great walks”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I were holidaying in the area and decided to give this place a go. Lovely afternoon here with the kids. There is a nice play ground and lots of benches for picnics. Good forest walks that can be done with a child's buggy no problem.
Great view of the dame.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clearinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silent Valley and Ben Crom Reservoirs also viewed

 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Silent Valley and Ben Crom Reservoirs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing