We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boardwalk to Paradise”

Murlough National Nature Reserve
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Maghera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boardwalk to Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Quite a hike from the car park but well worth it and the boardwalk makes the walk easier. The beach is fabulous and you'll just want to dip your toes in the water.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    39
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cleanest beach and beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The beach is a rocky/pebbled beach, so make sure you bring a blanket to sit on! We're from America, so I assumed no one in my family would go beyond dipping their feet in the water, but my kids jumped right in (and all I had was a tea towel!). The dunes are great for walking and there are many areas to see beyond the actual beaches (where most people in Newcastle and Dundrum go on hot days).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rooney11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed Scenery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The combination of mountain vistas, farm scenes and an unspoiled coastline make this area unique in its beauty. There are limitless walking opportunities on grassy paths, boardwalks and beach areas. The beach is quite stony in some areas but this adds to its beauty especially if you like to pick up interesting rocks. There is access from many different areas but I highly recommend entering from the area just on the edge of the small town of Dundrum. This is more off the beaten track than the Twelve Arches area. The scenery is absolutely beautiful and the park is very accessible by bike, foot or car. The main gate is only open from 11.00 -4.00 when guides are available. However there is a small gate which remains open at all times which makes the area acessible by bike,wheelchair or on foot. This is definitely an area not to miss on a visit to the Mournes!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nightmare!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Had a day out here. The place is ruined by the visitors! The walk through the dunes to the beach would have been lovely except that dirty dog owners had left dog poop in many places and the smell was terrible! Parking was difficult and on the beach there was broken glass and beer bottles obvious along the beach. The beach itself is lovely...it is the visitors who are not!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DPKP36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boardwalk Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Friendly staff at gate, very reasonably priced with toilets and café on sight, we took pack lunch.
Lovely walk to beach with interesting plants, animals, insects, birds and small paths that children love running through.
Beach is a bit stoney but I found it nice to sit on rather than the sand.
Water is lovely to swim in and my 5yr old daughter was comfortable in the shallow water also life guard presence on beach was comforting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murlough National Nature Reserve also viewed

 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Murlough National Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing