We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and well appointed and spacious room.”
Review of Beach House

Beach House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach House
Ranked #11 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Attending a wedding at the nearby Slieve Donard, I found this through Tripadvisor and was more than pleased with the choice. The spacious bedroom had a fine view across the Irish Sea and the Slieve Donard was but a few minurtes walk. It is also close to a number of restaurants. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the full Irish breakfast excellent. Perhaps my only criticism would be that breakfast was served from 09.00, whihc seems a bit late and may inconvenience some.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

First time I stayed in a b&b, and it was beautiful, beach house is right at the sea front, with a beautiful view of the sea and the beach, room was 1st class and modern, clean and makes you feel at home, with an ensuit and tv, breakfast in the morning is brilliant lovely fry and toast and all, lovely b&b and owners to match it, would recommend this b&b to the queen

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillclimb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had two enjoyable nights at the Beach House and were very happy to have picked this B & B over others in the town. Myrtle is very friendly and helpful with information. Breakfasts were very good. Unfortunately a room on the seafront was not available but the room at the back was newly refurbished and bright and clean.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleanor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My stay was worth it, since the room had a nice view to the sea. However, the heating system of the shower did not work and breakfast coud be better. For those travelling in a group, it would be wiser to stay in the youth hostel just nearby.

Higlight the firendliness of the owner who welcome the guests very warmly.

Room Tip: Room number 1 has a nice view, although the bathroom is average.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Room was OK, breakfast was poor and it was the most expensive of similar B&Bs that I stayed in in Ireland. £55 is too much!

Room Tip: Find somewhere cheaper if you can.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

First to say what a beautiful part of the island of Ireland this area is. Doesn't get pushed as much as Galway or the Antrim coast but it is fantastic.

Arrived late afternoon after travelling from Drohgeda and warmly welcome. Good spacious rooms, well furnished and excellent shower. Great breakfast and a good blether in the morning. Very pleasant and excellent value.

Would have been a 5 but was in desperate need of a soak in the bath after a long haul round County Louth and Down to come in the morning! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed for one night the first week in september and the b&b was ideal myrtle was great and would recommend this to anyone looking to stay in newcastle.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
158 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kilmorey Arms Hotel
Kilmorey Arms Hotel
#1 of 16 in Kilkeel
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House

Address: 22 Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AG, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Hotel Class:5 star — Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Newcastle
Beach House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing