We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, well run Guest House.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briers Country House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Briers Country House
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, well run Guest House.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

First of all don't walk to the town from the Country House. £3 taxi or half an Hour walk. Choose the first option. On arrival greeted by a very polite young man. Who helped us in whatever we needed. Rooms very clean and tidy as well as the whole of the house. A very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. 2 Minute taxi to the main street on the coast where there was plenty of places to have food and drink. £65 per night was very reasonable as other places on the coast were far more expensive. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone not wishing to pay over the odds on one of the other hotels in the town. Also to note Very good Ulster Breakfast and hot water bottles in your bed for when you arrive home after your night out...which is a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parlay85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    30
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
77
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a great night stay here, beautiful corner bath, massive breakfast brought to our room, kindly left hot water bottles in our bed and very friendly owner. lots of little extras, very much appreciated! we will be back, really enjoyed our stay here :) thanks :)

Room Tip: we stayed in bottom floor as had corner bath, loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed one night after driving from Belfast.

It's a very old house and there had been a water leak the week before so the guest living room smelled damp and musty.

Suzan was very helpful when we arrived suggesting a restaurant for dinner and ringing up and booking for us. The restaurant Suzan recommended was excellent (Vanilla).

It is a good 1/2 hour walk into town. We got a taxi back which costs about GBP3.00

The WiFi is practically non existent. The only place you can even get a signal is at reception in the corner near the piano.

Our room was a bit dated, the TV very small and old. When we got back from Newcastle there were hot water bottles in our bed which was a lovely touch.

The bathroom was nice and big and all toiletries were provided.

The views to the Mourne Mountains are lovely from the front of the B&B, although we didn't have any views from our room.

Breakfast was good, with plenty to choose from.

We were a bit unsure why we had to leave our room key at Reception on a board for anyone to see and take (not very good security).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robandden6562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were greeted warmly. The room was comfortable. There was a hot water bottle in the bed so it was nice an toasty warm. Since our GPS took us on a tour of the Mountains , we had not had any dinner and she fixed us a sandwich to eat. The garden was very nice and would have been a pleasant place to sat in on a summer evening.

Room Tip: This would be a good place to stay a few nights to see the country side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were a group of 6 from Canada and stayed at The Briers B&B for 4 nights in May 2013. The accommodations were great, nice and clean and the breakfasts were delicious. Suzann and Brian were great hosts. Very close to Newcastle and good view of the Mournes
Ruth M

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

my daughter and her boyfriend stayed here and had a wonderful time, the scenery and location is just amazing. They said it was so relaxing, they had a great breakfast and they booked a taxi from the hotel to take them in and out of Newcastle, which has lots of places to eat out.
To top it all, their hosts put hotwater bottles in their bed! That is definitely a first for any hotels that I have ever stayed in! - in fact I am planning a nice, relaxing weekend there myself!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

As has been pointed out in other reviews this should not be listed as a hotel! It is a B&B and people should not be mislead. It should be re-classified. It is comfortable and friendly but if you want an evening meal with alcohol it is a 25 minute walk to Newcastle, Restaurant gets a terrible rating cos their ain't one that serves an evening meal

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
17.3 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
22.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briers Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briers Country House

Property: Briers Country House
Address: 39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briers Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of South Down, our 18th Century Country House provides an excellent base at the foot of the Mourne Mountains whilst still being within easy reach of Newcastle and the many activities it has to offer. Just a 15 minute walk from the town, and less than an hour from the cities of Belfast, Newry and Lisburn, the Briers is in an ideal location for walkers, wedding guests and sight-seers alike. For the more adventurous, we offer a fantastic location to begin to explore the varied terrain around the area, with plenty of outdoor centres to help you on your way, whilst the luxurious seaweed baths and nearby seaside spas offer a less strenuous way to recharge your batteries. Combined with breath-taking views, spacious and comfortable rooms and ever-friendly service, it'll feel like a home from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Briers Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briers Country Hotel
Briers Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing