We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent night's sleep in Newcastle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briers Country House
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Ballymena
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent night's sleep in Newcastle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My partner and I had booked in for just one night in the Briers. I wish we had been staying longer!

We checked in on Saturday afternoon, following an overnight hike through the Mournes. We only had the opportunity to meet one of the proprietors - Susan - and she was very welcoming and helpful, being able to refer us to a reputable local taxi firm, offering to lend a mobile phone charger and helping me to remember the name of the restaurant we had booked.

The room itself was larger than we expected, very clean and with a well-kept en suite bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable, although having not slept in the previous 36 hours I was probably very easily pleased in that respect.

No tea/coffee facilities in the room was the only very slight letdown for me - these are provided in the communal reading room however. Under different circumstances I wouldn't have minded at all but, being exhausted and grubby from my hike, I fancied a quiet cup of tea in my room. Not a big deal, though.

The breakfast was very nice. A very generous pot of tea and equally large cafetiere were served to the two of us, along with a traditional Ulster Fry that was very tasty - there was plenty of choice on the menu though, for those who prefer something a bit lighter when they wake up.

Overall, it was a great place to stay. Very good value and a perfect place to rest after a hard trek. The next time I fancy a trip through the Mournes I won't hesitate to book in, and I'll stay longer than one night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St-Evanechoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    30
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
78
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is more a large B&B than a hotel. Our room was a good size as was the bathroom. The grounds are lovely too. I liked the location of the house, being a little out of town, down a country road but not so far away that if you did have to pop into the shops it would only take five or ten minutes. The breakfast room was very large too and breakfast itself was very nice. There is a nice little sitting/reading room where you can make a cup of tea or coffee along with a selection of books and board games. Wifi is available although the signal was very weak. We could not pick it up at all in our room and had to go downstairs to the reception desk to get it. Even then it was still average. Overall, a very pleasant stay though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiderfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Top ratings. Great location: 5 minutes from cute town of Newcastle and Tollymore Forest Park (wonderful park for easy hiking...stone bridges, lush foliage etc).
The owners are charming and so welcoming, they'll do anything for you and like great hosts, they even anticipate your needs. They suggested a great place for dinner, called and made reservations for us and on our return home, they had placed hot water bottles in our bed ( it was not cold at all by their standards but since they knew we were from S. California, they thought we'd like this--and we did!). The room was charming and had everything we needed and the breakfasts were excellent. Our only regret is that we only had one night there..wish we had more!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just returned from a brilliant week staying at The Briers, as the perfect base to walk the Mourne Mountains. Our first trip to N Ireland and what a fantastic place- both the Briers and the area . We had a great welcome from Suzan; excellent breakfasts; nothing too much trouble. Additional of hot water bottles, sweets; flask prepared for day trips, our dirty boots were not a problem. Amazing garden to sit in- in sunshine! Suzan recommended the best pub to eat in. We went there every night.
The friendship that we received from Suzan and Brian was replicated by everyone we met.
If we lived in N Ireland we would go there for weekend escapes. Thank you both

Room Tip: Room 4 was great- plenty of room and fantastic views of the Mourne Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8happydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Briers is located in a stunning are of N. Ireland, just up the road from the sea below the Mourne Mountains in lovely Newcastle. Our room was comfy with a great view of the mountains and a wonderful bath. Our hostess, Suzan, was so helpful and flexible. When I had trouble on yet another hard Irish bed, she made up the bed with extra comforters and pillows and I felt truly pampered. She also brings you a hot water bottle before sleep and given the cold Irish spring, we were truly grateful. Breakfast was a lavish affair - try the N. Ireland french toast - perfect! And she gave us good suggestions on how to spend our time there - we had a great drive to and walk in the Silent Valley and then a drive over the mountains - gorgeous!

If were' ever in this part of the world again, we'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a comfy bed if you need one. She told me the room we were in (with a new bed!) was actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RevBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

this is another shining example of how a beautiful family business should be run, susan and brian give us another great friendly and warming stay with a huge breakfast that would choke a donkey lol...we have become addicted to the briers as we class it our wee secret place away from chaos.. I highly recommend staying there as the silence is deafening and the constant.. its handy to everywhere and has a beautiful view from every window of mourne mountains which is awesome, susan,brian and family couldnt be more welcoming and i cant wait to go back (even if its just for the award winning scrambled eggs) !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having stayed with Suzan and Brian 3-4 times previously, there was nowhere else we were going to stay on our weekend away. As usual Suzan was very welcoming and had everything ready for us. She slipped hot water bottles into our bed and as usual the breakfast deserves a massive 10 out of 10, reason enough to go back to be honest. we have recommended The Briers before and we recommend it again. Thanks so much for everything and we will be back soon. Clare and Marty

Room Tip: we have stayed in room 4 and room 3, we would def prefer room 4 and will ask for this next time we b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
22.5 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
16.5 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.1 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briers Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briers Country House

Property: Briers Country House
Address: 39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Briers Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of South Down, our 18th Century Country House provides an excellent base at the foot of the Mourne Mountains whilst still being within easy reach of Newcastle and the many activities it has to offer. Just a 15 minute walk from the town, and less than an hour from the cities of Belfast, Newry and Lisburn, the Briers is in an ideal location for walkers, wedding guests and sight-seers alike. For the more adventurous, we offer a fantastic location to begin to explore the varied terrain around the area, with plenty of outdoor centres to help you on your way, whilst the luxurious seaweed baths and nearby seaside spas offer a less strenuous way to recharge your batteries. Combined with breath-taking views, spacious and comfortable rooms and ever-friendly service, it'll feel like a home from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Briers Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briers Country Hotel
Briers Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing