We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome and lovely quiet spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Briers Country House
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just back from two nights at the Briers. Suzan made us very welcome and we appreciated the big clean rooms in this scenic spot above Newcastle. The breakfasts were great, with lots of choice and very good quality ingredients. This feels more like a small hotel than a B & B, as there is lots of space both and around the building. Ideal for large groups visiting the coast and / or the Mountains of Mourne.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsmourne, Owner at Briers Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hi there,
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Briers and hope to welcome you back again soon.
All the Best,
Suzan and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 159 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

just returned from a brilliant week at the briers,from the moment we arrived we were treated like old friends,i've never known such a warm welcome.the room was spacious and bright with a gorgeous view of the mountains of mourne, imagine waking up to that every morning! the breakfast was enough to keep you going all day and if their fabulous ulster fry is to much for you the options are excellent as well.we are bikers who were over for the races at dundrod and we travel light,because of this we have to do our laundry while we're away,without thinking twice suzan's daughter did our washing when we were at the races,amazing! I really can't recommend the briers enough,the welcome,the food,the accomodation and value for money are unbeatable,can't wait to return.phil and diane bradbury.

Room Tip: having only stayed in one room we aren't really in a position to judge any others but if pushed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philip b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladybird21again, Owner at Briers Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Philip and Diane,
Thank you very much for your lovely comments, it was a real pleasure having you here. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
All the best,
Suzan and Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Suzanne was extremely welcoming. Our room overlooked the mountain and the house is set in some lovely grounds.

Our room was bright, clean and airy. The bed was comfortable enough. But from reading other reviews perhaps my expectations were a little too high! Very small TV with limited channels, no hairdryer, the dressing table looked a little worn.

No tea/coffee in the room but you could help yourself in the lounge area. We did in fact get to meet some really great people on the night we were there when we were having a cup of tea and that was a real bonus. Small selection of chocolates was a nice touch. Proper shower gel provided.

But for me the best thing was the breakfast: beautifully cooked, plentiful, and tasty - all served in a welcoming breakfast room with an open fire. Tip: try not to sit at the table right in front of the fire otherwise you will roast!

You'll need a car if you want to get into Newcastle town centre...unless you don't mind walking it. No idea how long it would take.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzyblondegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsmourne, Owner at Briers Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Hi there,
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. We would just like to address the point you made about expectation, we do not advertise ourselves as a luxury or boutique establishment, and I think our prices reflect this, we are a family run Guest House and aim simply to provide clean, comfortable accommodation in a friendly, welcoming environment. We do not advertise tea/coffee facilities in the rooms but always ensure guests have the opportunity to help themselves in the lounge. We're glad you met some of our other guests, this happens all the time and is something we feel is actually in fitting with the family atmosphere we aim to provide. With regard to hair dryers/irons or indeed anything else you should require the information letter in the room does state that you only need to ask and one will be provided.
We are not a 5 star hotel and do not pretend to be, the previous reviewers on here also do not claim that we are anything we are not - our focus is on hospitality rather than frills, and we hope guests understand this.

Thanks, Suzan
P.S. a walk into the town takes around 20 minutes :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I returned from my week long stay at the Briers almost 3 weeks ago now, and I'm already very much looking forward to another visit. Suzan is a wonderful hostess and goes out of her way at every opportunity to make sure you feel completely at home and have everything you could possibly want or need, and the breakfast was out of this world. The rooms are lovely, light, spacious and clean, a great space to come back to after a long day's walking in stunning Newcastle, just a few minutes taxi run from the house itself. It's great value for money, especially compared to some guest houses that have a lot less to offer. I would whole heartedly recommend the Briers.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsmourne, Owner at Briers Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Hi Rosemary,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the Best
Suzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had an fantastic stay at Briers B&B in June. Suzan and Brian, as well as her children, took care of us far beyond expectations. The rooms were clean and cosy and the delicious breakfast provided us enough energy to spend the whole day golfing in the beautiful area of County Down. We are planning our next trip already and won't stay somewhere else than at Briers! =)
See you soon.
Cheers Chris

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsmourne, Owner at Briers Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Hi Chris,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Briers and look forward to seeing you again in September for your next tour of the local golf courses!

All the Best,
Suzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

If You think of cliché perception of (Northern) Ireland,
You think of kind people,
green environment,
happy sheep and
the odour of rhododendron.

Well if You like this stereotype, You will love Briers.
Cheers, Conrad

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conrad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsmourne, Owner at Briers Country House, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Hi Conrad,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and understood exactly what The Briers is about. We're looking forward to seeing you again soon.

All the Best,
Suzan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We got there after a long journey on the motorbike and it was raining when we arrived. Lovely house and garden in a pretty, quiet area and we had a great welcome. Appalling weather the next day ensured we were absolutely soaked after climbing Slieve Donard in the Morne Mountains, but our hostess went out of her way to help wash/dry all our stuff.

A real bonus was having a decent sized bath with loads of hot water, which was much needed after our soaking. It wasn't anyone's fault the weather was so bad, especially for June, but when you only have one window of opportunity to climb, opting out wasn't an option. We couldn't even see the mountains from our room (Room 4) as they were shrouded in mist!

Points to consider:
a) Rotten weather meant our room was cold, but the heating wasn’t on
b) The duvet was too small for the bed
c) There was no hair dryer in the room (had to ask at Reception which was a problem if everyone was out)
d) There were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, although a nice touch was having a sitting area for the guests where we could get both.

None of these detracted from our enjoyment in any way. We appreciate that some inconveniences were due to our mode of travel (hairdryer and multiple changes of clothes) as we don’t carry much luggage on the bike.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back. Friends who had stayed recently also recommended it. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
128 reviews
17.7 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
16.3 mi away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
348 reviews
1.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
3.2 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briers Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briers Country House

Address: 39 Middle Tollymore Road, Newcastle BT33 0JJ, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $112 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Briers Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of South Down, our 18th Century Country House provides an excellent base at the foot of the Mourne Mountains whilst still being within easy reach of Newcastle and the many activities it has to offer. Just a 15 minute walk from the town, and less than an hour from the cities of Belfast, Newry and Lisburn, the Briers is in an ideal location for walkers, wedding guests and sight-seers alike. For the more adventurous, we offer a fantastic location to begin to explore the varied terrain around the area, with plenty of outdoor centres to help you on your way, whilst the luxurious seaweed baths and nearby seaside spas offer a less strenuous way to recharge your batteries. Combined with breath-taking views, spacious and comfortable rooms and ever-friendly service, it'll feel like a home from home in no time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Briers Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briers Country Hotel
Briers Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing