We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everyone needs to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Creme

Cafe Creme
Ranked #14 of 59 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Family Run business in the heart of Newcastle ,Co Down...friendly staff, warm atmosphere with a wide variety of food to suit everyone...popular for our all day breakfasts and homemade scones/tray bakes and cakes .......
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everyone needs to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Love, love, love cafe creme!! Usually the first place I go when in Newcastle! The staff are lovely and will always go out of their way, even giving free coffee refills. Food is excellent and well presented. They also have the option of food suitable for those who are coeliac, one of very few restaurants who do which is fantastic for a family member who finds it hard to have a good meal out. It's very hard to single out a dish as they're all so lovely but a personal favourite is the French toast and bacon! Delicious!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank culturaledchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    41
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warrenpoint
Level Contributor
395 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“A must when visiting Newcastle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Dropped in for a hot chocolate after a walk in newcastle. It is always busy and after a small queue we were served very quickly. There is a lovely selection of scones, cakes and buns on the counter which all looked very tempting. The cafe was very clean and all the staff very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shelly-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Favourite for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A holiday in Newcastle County Down isn't complete without breakfast ( usually more than once) - and maybe a mid morning or afternoon snack or a lunch too at Cafe Creme. Well done to those who can manage the very substantial full breakfast, we usually opt for the small one. We were really pleased to find a good range of gluten free items on the board this year. Oh, and the free coffee top ups are a plus too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamb00zled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gottaluvflying
Level Contributor
270 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Very overpriced for very average cakes & coffees....won't be back again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

After having been in such a superb establishment as Vanilla earlier in the day, this place was such a comedown & a big disappointment. The atmosphere was very rushed, not welcoming or friendly. The coffee was just ok....average & the traybakes etc were very overpriced for what they were. Hard to believe but a latte here is more expensive than in Vanilla & there was absolutely no comparison, either in the coffee or in the ambience. We felt it was a total ripoff for what it was. Mediocre....average.....nothing special here. We definitely won't be coming back to Cafe Creme.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gottaluvflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
425 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Cant Count but tasty looking spread”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stopped in here for a quick coffee during a recent visit. I opted for a takeaway Americano which was priced at £1.50 on the price list but was charged £2.00 (the advertised Sit In price). I didnt bother challenge the cashier on it as I was in a rush but just be wise to it.

The customer in front of me had a similar issue where she thought her purchase was also 50p cheaper then the cashier requested. While I thought she was chancing her arm at the time, I now realise the staff might o got it wrong.

Serious selection of cakes and pastries on offer although I didnt avail and there was also a good sit in trade for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kavo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Creme also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Cafe Creme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing