We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing spa day.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Irish couple in Paris
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing spa day.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My Mum and I booked a relaxing spa day in the Burrendale. We checked into the spa and then used the gym, pool, jacuzzi before we had a lovely lunch of Caesar salad sitting in their spa reception area in our robes.
We had pre-ordered lunch when we were going into the pool and it was all ready for us when we came out from our shower.
We both thoroughly enjoyed a hot stone massage. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. It is also good value for the experience.
We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    247
    105
    66
    26
See reviews for
336
343
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had a very pleasant overnight stay with my daughter and grandchildren at the end of May. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with flat screen TV, ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities etc. Bunk beds in some rooms for the children.

Very impressed by the wonderful staff who are pleasant and helpful (above and beyond the call of duty) at all times of the day and night.

Food as good as Slieve Donard up the road! Prices considerably more reasonable. Of course, the location not as close to beach and town. However, the views are fabulous and the atmosphere relaxed.

Room Tip: Ground floor great for folks with kids as close to swimming pool and dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Had a lovely relaxing time here as usual. Always try and use the burrendale first when we visit newcastle because of the friendly and helpful staff. Have stayed here many times and have no complaints of any kind, rooms always clean and tidy and meals and breakfast first class. Will be back again. Only complaint is havering to go home.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwardg578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Couple of night's stay at the Burrendale Hotel. Lovely setting with great views. All very clean and tidy, but decor pretty trad - shame it wasn't more contemporary. Service generally friendly, and well organised. Nice large bedrooms, well furnished and comfortable, and the bonus of an ironing board and iron in the room. Jolly nice bathroom. Breakfasts and main meals excellent, good menu, lovely dishes, decent portion sizes and well presented.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views across the water and to the mountains beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiRoMo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had a lovely relaxing time here at the burrendale ,room was clean and cosy, the view was to die for (had a mountain view room) ask for this when you book...spa and treatments where reasonably priced and absolutely fantastic.The food was lovely and staff where very helpful,the only criticism I would have is the pool area is a little tired looking but apart from that we had a lovely stay and will definetly be back..

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here after a friend recommended it and I'm glad she did. We got a fantastic deal for an overnight stay with breakfast,3 course meal,90min spa a treatment. The spa treatment was so so good,very relaxing and a massive thank u to Tara,Lisa and Beta for the wonderful treatment.
The meal was beautiful and service really good,we also had great choice of breakfast and the best wheaten ( r treacle) bread ever!!
Thanks for a chilled out break and a great deal, will definitely be back again soon :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband, mum, two kids (4 & 8) and myself stayed here for the Bank Holiday weekend. Rooms were spacious, family room was great, we didn't have to great views but it didn't really matter. Swimming pool facilities were great with the kids and opened early so we could go Pre breakfast. Food was fab, breakfast had a wide selection that suited everyone and we had a 3 course dinner which was great. The service was a little slow as very busy but it didn't hamper our experience at all.

A lovely stay and we hope we can go back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenilworthH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.0 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
22.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
1.0 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa

Property: Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
Address: 51 Castlewellan Road, Newcastle BT33 0JY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#5 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Irelands latest 4 Star Hotel, located just 45 minutes from Belfast or Newry, 90 minutes from Dublin and a 10 minute walk from the seaside town of Newcastle, The Burrendale Hotel is within an easy distance, making it the ideal destination for your holiday in Ireland. Our friendly staff, bright, airy rooms and great food along with spectacular views over the Mourne Mountains make the perfect combination for your stay at the Burrendale Hotel to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club And Spa
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing