We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Place to Stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Average Place to Stay!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel was okay but nothing really special about the accommodation. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. I expected a little more from the hotel based on what I saw on the web.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the Burrendale Hotel.

Both compliments and criticisms are vital in the day to day running of the Burrendale Hotel, to ensure that standards are maintained and shortcomings eliminated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Burrendale Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    250
    107
    66
    26
See reviews for
342
346
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

had a great time at the Burrendale Hotel, Newcastle on Satuday 30th November 2013. I went with my sisters to celebrate my older sisters' 50th birthday. We booked a meal in the Vine Restaurant. The food was first class, the staff were great and couldn't do enough for us. The entertainment in the lounge was brill it was a thoroughly great night. Would definitely recommend a visit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review. I am delighted that your birthday celebrations at the Burrendale Hotel were a great success.

It is very pleasing to know that our efforts have been rewarded by your lovely comments. Many thanks for taking the time to make your review known, it is greatly appreciated.

Best Regards

Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed here with two cousins on the 24th November for one night. We had spa treatments included in our price which was brilliant. A special thank you to Michelle my therapist who was lovely. Our room was huge with four beds for the three of us. Dinner that evening was also included and was very nice with plenty of choice food wise. Breakfast the following morning was also brilliant with plenty of variety from fruit, cereal to an Irish fry. Will definitely return back here :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you chose to stay at the Burrendale, Hotel, Country Club and Spa.

I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your experience at the spa and will be sure to pass your comments on to the rest of the staff. We hope you will return to the Hotel & Spa in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Spent a lovely family break here, staff went out of their way to be helpful, especially regarding my daughter's food allergy. Delicious food and lovely swimming pool. Family room is quite small but comfortable, we found it quite expensive at £75 per person sharing and £20 each for the children.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write your review and also for choosing to stay with us at The Burrendale Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. We strive to exceed all of our guest's expectations and I trust that we have exceeded yours. Thank you for the wonderful comments on our staff and also our cuisine, which I am thrilled you enjoyed. We would love to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay at the Burrendale Hotel in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundrum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Rooms 2 star. Staff 5 star. Gym 1 star -some equipment out of order for months. Gym management not in touch with users and hasn't a clue. Food 3 star- if u are fussy about your steak don't have one. Great views of the Mourne mountains.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of your stay at the Burrendale Hotel. I must apologise that your experience of the Burrendale Hotel wasn't to our normal high standard, as noted from previous reviews our food and service has scored top marks with our guests.

Your feedback is very valuable to the future experiences of our guests and have confidence that we take it seriously.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

As my title says not all aspects of our stay could be described as 4*. Check-in was warm and friendly and the short walk to our room was along a clean bright corridor. Our room was just about adequately sized but the bed was certainly not as it was one of the smallest doubles I've ever had to sleep in. The bathroom certainly needs the attention of someone who knows what they are doing with a tube of silicon!! The last person who used it here plastered it over mould and all round the base of the toilet leaving the bathroom looking second rate.

The hotel has a spacious lounge with an adjoning bar. There was entertainment provided which was very enjoyable and made for a good evening.

Breakfast was certainly up to standard with all tastes provided for.

In summary the cost we paid - £70 for a late availability offer - was probably just about right but I certainly wouldn't be prepared to pay any more if being allocated the same room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alasdair50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest

I wish to respond to you and hopfully re-establish your confidence in our product. I must apologise that your experience of the Burrendale Hotel wasn't to our normal high standard, as noted from previous reviews our food and service has scored top marks with our guests.

Your feedback is very valuable to the future experiences of our guests and have confidence that we take it seriously.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We decided to book our week-end say at the Burrendale after a group of us had been there for lunch a few weeks previous.
Check- in was very efficient and our room was lovely it was overlooking the Mourn mountains. Very comfortable beds with lovely all white bedding.
As a surprise, friends had ordered wine and fruit to be in our room on arrival as we were there to celebrate our 2nd Anniversary. The fruit was delicious, it wasn't just a load of fruit dumped on a plate, there was sliced pineapple, wee oranges (peeled and segmented) plums - sliced and strawberries,apples and grapes. The wine we brought home to enjoy at a later date.
We ate in the Cottage Bar on the Friday night and the food was delicious and the service was excellent. Saturday night we dined in the Vine Restaurant and again the food was delicious and the service extreemly good. The girls were so pleasant and very attentive.
After dinner on both evenings there was entertainment which everyone enjoyed and there was a lot of dancing (not by me).
Breakfasts were super and there was plenty of choice.
As we were there only 2 days we didn't really have time to visit the pool but we look forward to that on our next visit which I hope will be very soon and perhaps for 3 days. I have started dropping hints already.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel do have lovely views over the Mourn Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crusader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write your review and also for choosing to stay with us at the Burrendale Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us, we strive to exceed all of our guests expectations, I trust that we have exceeded yours.

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on our staff and also our cuisine. We would love to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to stay with us in the future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.0 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
146 reviews
22.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#15 of 44 in Belfast
1,513 reviews
1.0 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa

Property: Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
Address: 51 Castlewellan Road, Newcastle BT33 0JY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#5 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Irelands latest 4 Star Hotel, located just 45 minutes from Belfast or Newry, 90 minutes from Dublin and a 10 minute walk from the seaside town of Newcastle, The Burrendale Hotel is within an easy distance, making it the ideal destination for your holiday in Ireland. Our friendly staff, bright, airy rooms and great food along with spectacular views over the Mourne Mountains make the perfect combination for your stay at the Burrendale Hotel to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club And Spa
Burrendale Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing