We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again the Burrendale delivered”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a one night stop over (which we do fairly often) and dined in the Vine Restaurant.

As usual (in our experience) we had an excellent meal, well cooked & presented and very tasty. None of the four were disappointed. The staff were friendly & attentive and there was a nice buzz about the place.

Breakfast was an excellent buffet and a pleasant fill up before our departure.

I didn't go to the Leisure Centre or Spa so cannot comment on that part of the hotel.

The standard rooms are clean and spacious for two people. We always ask for view of the Mournes which present you with an ever changing landscape.

All in all a most enjoyable meal and night. We will be back again ......

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mournes.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa with potential guests. I would also like to express my thanks at your very kind comments towards the Burrendale Hotel and particularly our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
There are newer reviews for Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Four of us went for a meal on Saturday night. When we arrived the car park was packed and so was the hotel. Normally in my experience when a restaurant has been this busy, the service has been slow and the food just OK! So I was expecting much of the same! WOW! was I wrong!

The Vine Restaurant has a lovely cosy feel, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food...well, it was amazing!! The portion sizes were very generous and everyones food was cooked to perfection. I've never tasted steak like it before, and I've eaten a lot of steak :)

I will definitely be back. Very, very impressed!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlixxChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent dining experience at the Burrendale Hotel. I will be sure to pass on your comments top the award winning team of chefs here at the hotel, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Disappointing.....The room had no view whatsoever... Our window was frosted so we could not see out at all. Think we overlooked some kind of yard. Food was okay nothing out of the ordinary.. But the worst part was the stinking pool . Just awful no way should this Hotel be a four star , Staff were lovely but we will not be returning ,Just a waste of money

Room Tip: a room with a view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor. Both compliments and criticisms are vital in the day to day of the Burrendale Hotel.

I must apologise that your experience was not to our normal high standard, as noted from previous reviews our food and service has scored top marks with our guests.

Please note we offer front facing rooms and executive ambassador rooms with balconies offering fantastic views over the Mourne Mountains, however these do come with a supplement charge due to high demand.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had a lovely time here for a familys birthday, there was a group of 8 adults and 3 children under 6.

The food was amazing, well presented and tasted delicious.
The spa and fitness suite where great, The swimming pool was ok, apart from the extreme heat and amount of chlorine that actually made my eyes sting even the day i was sitting spectating.

Had a lovely hot stone massage, was amazing.

Stayed in an ambassador room, the room and ensuite was beautiful. Only problem we had was one side of the bed was in a dip, we reported it in the morning and when we went back to the room that night, it still wasnt fixed, contacted reception and they told us that someone had looked at it but couldnt see anything wrong. On checking out, we where asked was everything ok and did we enjoy our stay, i told the receptionist yes it was lovely apart from the bed not being fixed after reporting it twice. The receptionist said oh they will send someone to check it again. Wasnt really much help to myself as i was leaving.

Apart from that we had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluvboys88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review The Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food & Spa so much. Thank you for raining your concerns with regards to maintenance as we are always striving towards the highest possible standards.Your feedback is very valuable to the future experiences of our guest, and have confidence that we take it seriously.
We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

As a birthday treat for my sis my friend and I decided to take her away for a few days,we have done this quite regulary over last 10yrs or so!!! we had a very enjoyable time room was clean I asked for more towels which were brought immediately plenty of tea and coffee. we were disappointed in the size of the room having stayed a few times before and having had a bigger room could do with a better hairdryer.the food was fantastic both at breakfast and dinner some of the younger staff could smile a little more but most of the staff were attentive and helpful. the swimming pool could do with a facelift especially as the spa is sooo nice all of the staff in the country club were lovely and very helpful,we really enjoyed our afternoon in the spa and our treatments were fantasic very relaxing!! Bit disappointed overall compared to other hotels we have been to I mentioned on booking was a Big birthday for my sis and she had picked to return there was disappointed no special touches!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Burrendale Hotel to celebrate your sister's birthday.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food so much. We take all compliments and criticisms on board as both are vital in the daily running of the hotel and we are always striving to ensure that standards are maintained and shortcomings eliminated.
I do hope you will visit us again as we would love the pleasure of welcoming you back through our doors in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for an overnight break and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. Mountain view room was lovely and food was delicious, particularly breakfast which was one of the best we've had in a NI hotel. Pool area could do with a bit of a facelift, but other than that we had a lovely stay. Thankyou to the warm and welcoming staff, we will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Weebee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to post a review on Trip Advisor about the Burrendale Hotel Country Club & Spa.
We certainly appreciate the oppurtunity to have you as a guest and look forward to your return visits in the future.

Kind Regards,
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent a very pleasant afternoon in Newcastle despite the weather. We stopped for coffee at the Burrendale and thought the menu was very good so decided to stop again for our evening meal. We had been unsure which room to eat in but Pauline made the decision for us. My wife is a wheelchair user and to accommodate 5 adults in comfort, two tables were quickly placed together. The hardest decision was trying to decide on which main course. We each had a different main course and we all agreed that each was delicious. We followed this with desserts which again were all delicious. Pauline and her team were very attentive and were ready with advice when needed. They very much went the extra mile, a credit to the hotel. So much so that we would consider going back for short break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomSimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Delighted that you took the time to write a review of the Burrendale Hotel, Country Cub & Spa. Thank you for your very positive comments on the food and indeed the staff. We would love to have you return to the hotel for a stay and hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.0 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
158 reviews
22.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
10.1 mi away
The Mourne Lodge
The Mourne Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kilkeel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa

Address: 51 Castlewellan Road, Newcastle BT33 0JY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#5 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $94 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Irelands latest 4 Star Hotel, located just 45 minutes from Belfast or Newry, 90 minutes from Dublin and a 10 minute walk from the seaside town of Newcastle, The Burrendale Hotel is within an easy distance, making it the ideal destination for your holiday in Ireland. Our friendly staff, bright, airy rooms and great food along with spectacular views over the Mourne Mountains make the perfect combination for your stay at the Burrendale Hotel to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club And Spa
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing