We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newcastle Co.Down's Best Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hubby & I spent a couple of days here at beginning of March,usually do this a couple of times each year, lovely hotel, polite,helpful, friendly staff. Warm comfortable rooms & good food, breakfasts enough to keep any man going all day!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbsb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review with regards your recent stay here at the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa. We appreciate the opportunity to have you as a guest and look forward to your return visits in the future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

First time i visted the hotel- i loved it! Great atmosphere, fantastic staff and then when you see the food- you know your going to have a great night!

I actually held my wedding reception here Oct 2011 due to my first impression. I must say- best decision i have ever made. From start to finish they treated my husband and I like royality. Anything i suggested for my reception was no hassle.

The rooms are spacious,clean and modern. You will sleep like a log and have a fantastic breakfast to look forward to.

I must say if you like your food- piping hot, tasty, great portions and cooked they way you like it- id advise you to visit!!!

Every single person who was at my wedding mentioned how fantastic the food and staff were and now regular visiters for dinner and bar food- which we live about an hour away- shows that people will travel for great food and service.

Visit!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcandrew84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa. Thank you for the very positive comments on accommodation, food and indeed the staff. We look forward to the next time you stay with us and hope you continue to enjoy visiting the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Absolutely brilliant hotel, and amazing rooms (especially family rooms) a lovely quiet library to relax in after dinner and understanding and helpful staff.... But absolutely TERRIBLE Internet connectivity everywhere. The hotel has "partnered" with BT and the service from them is just awful, you couldn't really deem it wireless broadband at all. It took numerous attempts to connect to the weak signal in the morning to get a very slow connection speed (maxing out at 120kb/s which isn't enough when trying to do any work) and impossible to connect at all after about 2pm until the early hours of the morning. It wasn't fast enough to use Skype or FaceTime or even a VoIP call. If you are planning to go to this hotel and need to get any work done online, don't, you won't be able to do anything at all, particularly in the afternoon. 3G coverage is non-existent also, so that was out for connecting too. Other than the non-Internet it is a wonderful hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Burrendale Hotel. We at the Burrendale Hotel pride ourselves in providing quality food and quality service, it is pleasing to read that this has been achieved.

With regards our free internet service that we provide for all guests, this is the first issue we have had with regards this service and have contacted are internet providers who have informed us that they will be looking in to their line records recorded over the period of your stay, to insure this does not happen again.

We would welcome the opportunity to have you as a guest in the not to distant future.

Best Regards
Denins Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

the hotel and our room was clean and tidy. though the hotel overall is not very modern, but it is very acceptable as a rural family hotel.
good location, 5mins drive from the town centre and with good views of the mournes.
staff were friendly at reception and in the restaurant.
we had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, which i would recommend.
we didn't get to use the spa facilities, so cannot comment on them.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent Burrendale experience with us, we are delighted you enjoyed our food and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What can I say? Was at the hotel a few years back and meant to get back a lot sooner but never got round to it. Must admit the hotel looks fabulous now after going through what seems to be extensive refurbishment.

On arrival we chose to have lunch in the cottage bar as we had arrived very early (due to the severe snow at home we wanted to leave plenty of time for the journey - bonus got to Newcastle and no snow :-).) A lot of locals appeared to be in maybe cause it was Sunday lunch time and it was clear that both the staff and Paul (I presume was bar manager) knew their patrons by name and took the time to chat with them and with the wee kiddies. Service was very good and staff very friendly. Food was served promptly and was so tasty.
After lunch we waited in the lounge area until our room was ready. Joanne from Reception called us and told us our room was ready which was great cause it was only 2.20 pm so it gave us time to leave our bags in room etc before our Facial etc which was booked for 3.00 pm. Check in was very prompt and all staff on the desk were very friendly.

Our room (number 324) was stunning and very spacious. We had a brilliant view overlooking the front driveway into the hotel and there was even a wee balcony though the weather did not allow us to enjoy that. The bed was so comfortable and the pillows to die for. The bathroom was very spacious also and everything was cleaned to perfection.

Arrived down in the Spa with plenty of time for our treatments. Wow had the most beautiful back massage and facial it really was brilliant. Emerged from the Spa about 5.00 pm feeling so relaxed. Again here the staff were so polite and friendly and like all the other staff so professional.

Dinner was booked for 7.00 pm. We both opted for the Chicken and Liver Brandy Parfait which was lovely. For main we both went for the Turkey and Ham special on that night and again this was very tasty. Desserts we opted for Pavlova and cheese board both of which were thoroughly enjoyed.

The only slight moan I would have was as we had arrived about lunchtime we did have lunch in the Bar - on the web site there appears to be a snack menu with sandwiches etc available Monday to Friday - something like this would be good for the weekend too as we ended up choosing both our lunch and dinner from basically the same menu.

Entertainment in the lounge bar on Sunday night was Finbar, a very pleasant man who sang very well and encouraged everyone to join in. It was a lovely evening.

Up bright and early for breakfast and were shown to our table promptly. We both opted for the cooked breakfast. This is self service with food kept warm in heated trays. Food was plentiful and very tasty.

To finish off the morning we decided on a wee sit in the jacuzzi - this was lovely - I suppose you would say this area is a little dated now compared to the newly revamped hotel but I guess everything takes time.

Check out again was very prompt. Overall we really enjoyed our overnight package at the hotel and found it to be excellent value for money. Would defo come back again - in fact recently had stayed in the Slieve Donard Hotel (my review for this hotel can be seen on trip advisor) and you could not compare the two. Yes the Slieve Donard has fantastic views over the sea and the spa/jacuzzi looks over this, however for value for money, comfort, staff, food everything I would highly recommend the Burrendale Hotel. The management should be proud that their staff are all so good at their job.

Room Tip: Room 324 was lovely - great view over the front of the hotel - would be perfect on a warm day as sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacksBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa with potential travellers. I would also like to express my thanks at your very kind comments towards the Burrendale Hotel and particular;y towards our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa in the near future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My parents have always taken me and my little brother here as it's very good value for money and it is so family friendly. The pool is a good size and has a sauna/steamroom as well as a gym. It's very clean and tidy. Not the ritz but an excellent place to stay on a budget

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the opportunity to write a review on Trip advisor. I would like to thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Burrendale Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the burrendale hotel for three nights from the third of march. This is a nice hotel good size rooms with free view TV and WiFi handy to Newcastle and castlewellan plenty of good walking in this area forrests and seaside. The food was OK the only problem was that cooked breakfast and cold breakfast were served in different rooms if you wanted to mix these you have to move between the rooms. The staff were friendly the stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel this overlooks the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review the Burrendale Hotel. We certainly appreciate the opportunity to have oyu as a guest and look forward to your return visits in the future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
163 reviews
22.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 47 in Belfast
1,685 reviews
17 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa

Address: 51 Castlewellan Road, Newcastle BT33 0JY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#5 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $97 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Irelands latest 4 Star Hotel, located just 45 minutes from Belfast or Newry, 90 minutes from Dublin and a 10 minute walk from the seaside town of Newcastle, The Burrendale Hotel is within an easy distance, making it the ideal destination for your holiday in Ireland. Our friendly staff, bright, airy rooms and great food along with spectacular views over the Mourne Mountains make the perfect combination for your stay at the Burrendale Hotel to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club And Spa
Burrendale Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing