We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected gem.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Called in for dinner after work last night. Arrived a little early so decided to have a Guinness in the public bar before heading to the restaurant. I had the best steak I've eaten in ages. Can't wait to go back. Great hotel and staff, set at the foot of the (now snow covered) Mournes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_weeman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Burrendale Hotel. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to us soon.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just back from spending three days at this hotel great offer three nights.BB one evening meal.Have to say would score this hotel at 9.95 out of 10.From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with a warm smiles, all questions were answered. Rooms were great very very clean.View from the bedroom was very nice while looking over the car park and the Mournes.Food was great while the deal included one evening meal we eat in the cottage restaurant on two nights.The bedrooms would score 10 out of 10. All in All this is a great hotel very impressed and very friendly staff. In closing the only reason I did not score this hotel 10 out of 10 was the breakfast was good for those who like there hot Breakfast as for myself i like a cold breakfast cured meats, cheese, salami,while a member of the staff did get me some ham and they had small pieces of cheese not just the same maybe someone could look into this as not all us Irish eat hot breakfast.this in no way took anything away from a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shargil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay. Your feedback with regards your Breakfast experience is very valuable to the future experiences of our guest and have confidence that we take it seriously.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was our 2nd stay here and both stays were great , the staff could not do enough for us in all area's the rooms were clean tidy and well fitted out . i am disabled and found the room suitable for my wheel chair . the bathroom had a bath and a large roll in shower suitale for a wheel chair access . The staff were great and very helpful and welcoming, we would advise anyone to use this hotel our young son was with us and he enjoyed the pool and had no problem finding items on the menu to eat . in my pervious work travelled all of the UK & Ireland staying in hotel's 4 nights a week and this is one of the best hotel i have stayed in. The hotel is also very good value for money we had 3 nights for price of 2 and 1 evening meal free for £99 each for adults , we had to pay extra for son as agreed but we had 3 nights stay 1 night room service and 2 nights in restaraunt inculding drinks for just over £300 and a great time was had , we will be going again , Thank you to all the staff for making our stay very enjoyabile .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Mountains , they are stuning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa. I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Burrendale, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

great vine restaurant great hotel , pool,spa steam room , friendly service, entertainment ropey fri night good sat night. brilliant spot. nice buzz and ambience , had a lovely relaxing weekend break , why cant all hotels be up at this standard. highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtney347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Burrendale Hotel. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

First time here and really impressed. Staff very friendly, relaxed, personable and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Room was clean and quite acceptable. Food was good and reasonably priced. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Burrendale Hotel. Thank you for the very positive comments on accommodation, food and indeed the staff. We look forward to the next time you stay with us and hope you continue to enjoy visiting the Burrendale Hotel Country Club & Spa.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

my husband and i went 2 the burrendale on the 1st of march had a great 3 days all the staff were great from the cleaners 2 the bar staff all the staff where brill special thanks 2 paul rory and martin 4 having the time 2 chat 2 my husband who loves all of this iwil be coming back when the deal is on the food was 5 star

Room Tip: we were on the first floor very quiet the beds were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinytears45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to read also about encounters with the staff which they appreciate.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Family of 8 adults and 5 children stayed overnight for my 60th birthday. Plenty of free parking spaces .Checkin was quick and family rooms were next door to each other.Cots arrived for the young ones with no problem. Family rooms had double bed and bunks which the older children loved.

We had a room on the top floor large modern big bed table chairs and a sofa plenty of space. A Juliette balcony with views of Slieve Donard and Newcastle was splendid.
The bathroom had a separate shower and bath, however there was only a soap dispenser no shampoo, conditioner etc and no facecloth.

Food at dinner was tasty and childrens menu was also varied and good. There was a dance later which the children loved and so did the adults.

I found the spa treatments very relaxing however when waiting for the treatments it is a very
busy area as the residents go through here to the pool.

We had breakfast in bed arrived at 7.30 am instead of an hour later. Two poached eggs
floating round a large dinner plate is not very appealing so early in the morning or at any time. PLEASE put the toast with the eggs and not separate, also expected fruit with yogurt as on the menu list got a fruit yogurt. At £5 each definatly not worth room service.

Check out was swift no problems. Would we go back yes but only on a special deal. A few niggles do take the shine of the stay especially if you were paying full rack rate.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconys have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Burrendale Hotel. Your feedback is very valuable to the future experience of our guest, and have confidence that we take it seriously.

We would welcome the opportunity to have you as a guest in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
162 reviews
22.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 45 in Belfast
1,663 reviews
1 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa

Address: 51 Castlewellan Road, Newcastle BT33 0JY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#5 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $95 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Irelands latest 4 Star Hotel, located just 45 minutes from Belfast or Newry, 90 minutes from Dublin and a 10 minute walk from the seaside town of Newcastle, The Burrendale Hotel is within an easy distance, making it the ideal destination for your holiday in Ireland. Our friendly staff, bright, airy rooms and great food along with spectacular views over the Mourne Mountains make the perfect combination for your stay at the Burrendale Hotel to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club And Spa
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing