We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

great vine restaurant great hotel , pool,spa steam room , friendly service, entertainment ropey fri night good sat night. brilliant spot. nice buzz and ambience , had a lovely relaxing weekend break , why cant all hotels be up at this standard. highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtney347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Burrendale Hotel. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

First time here and really impressed. Staff very friendly, relaxed, personable and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Room was clean and quite acceptable. Food was good and reasonably priced. Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Burrendale Hotel. Thank you for the very positive comments on accommodation, food and indeed the staff. We look forward to the next time you stay with us and hope you continue to enjoy visiting the Burrendale Hotel Country Club & Spa.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

my husband and i went 2 the burrendale on the 1st of march had a great 3 days all the staff were great from the cleaners 2 the bar staff all the staff where brill special thanks 2 paul rory and martin 4 having the time 2 chat 2 my husband who loves all of this iwil be coming back when the deal is on the food was 5 star

Room Tip: we were on the first floor very quiet the beds were excellent
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinytears45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to read also about encounters with the staff which they appreciate.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Family of 8 adults and 5 children stayed overnight for my 60th birthday. Plenty of free parking spaces .Checkin was quick and family rooms were next door to each other.Cots arrived for the young ones with no problem. Family rooms had double bed and bunks which the older children loved.

We had a room on the top floor large modern big bed table chairs and a sofa plenty of space. A Juliette balcony with views of Slieve Donard and Newcastle was splendid.
The bathroom had a separate shower and bath, however there was only a soap dispenser no shampoo, conditioner etc and no facecloth.

Food at dinner was tasty and childrens menu was also varied and good. There was a dance later which the children loved and so did the adults.

I found the spa treatments very relaxing however when waiting for the treatments it is a very
busy area as the residents go through here to the pool.

We had breakfast in bed arrived at 7.30 am instead of an hour later. Two poached eggs
floating round a large dinner plate is not very appealing so early in the morning or at any time. PLEASE put the toast with the eggs and not separate, also expected fruit with yogurt as on the menu list got a fruit yogurt. At £5 each definatly not worth room service.

Check out was swift no problems. Would we go back yes but only on a special deal. A few niggles do take the shine of the stay especially if you were paying full rack rate.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconys have a great view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Burrendale Hotel. Your feedback is very valuable to the future experience of our guest, and have confidence that we take it seriously.

We would welcome the opportunity to have you as a guest in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just spent a terrific three days in the Burrendale. From the moment we arrived we had a great time. Staff were welcoming and helpful at all times. We stayed in an Embassador room, which was spacious and tastefully decorated. Food was of a high quality and well presented. Restaurant staff were courteous, helpful and pleasant at all times. The Country Club and Spa added to our enjoyment
immensly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write your review and also for choosing to stay with us at the Burrendale Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and I trust that we have exceeded yours.

We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay in the future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

the hotel is set in a lovely scenic location just about 10mins out of the centre of newcastle. the staff are so kind and will do whatever they can to help. rooms are big and fancy, it's not too expensive and the spa and fitness centre are great! pool isn't overly big but okay their hairdressing salon is fantastic staff are lovely and it's great value food is good but menu could have a little more choice but food is amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent Burrendale experience with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed our food and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay here at the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa in the future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I went here as a surprise for my Birthday.
In my room, my Mum had asked for Wine, and Chocolates - which were delicious. They also put balloons in the room, as well as at the table that night when I went for dinner.

Pro's;
Friendly staff.
Room was beautifully decorated and clean.
Room service was delicious aswell - I got the Chicken and Bacon ceasar salad and it was lovely.
The entertainment was great.
Staff in the Vine restaurant were friendly aswell.
Food in the Vine restaurant was lovely - They had appetisers and a soup course. Every course was delicious.
The Spa was amazing - I got a facial. It was lovely and relaxing.
The views of the Morne Mountains were beautiful.


Con's;
Honestly? None.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hello-kitty19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank yuo for posting a review. It is pleasing to read that your Birthday celebrations were a great success. It is great to hear that our efforts have been rewarded by your kind comments.

We look forward to having you as a guest in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.0 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
158 reviews
22.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
10.1 mi away
The Mourne Lodge
The Mourne Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kilkeel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa

Address: 51 Castlewellan Road, Newcastle BT33 0JY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#5 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $94 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Irelands latest 4 Star Hotel, located just 45 minutes from Belfast or Newry, 90 minutes from Dublin and a 10 minute walk from the seaside town of Newcastle, The Burrendale Hotel is within an easy distance, making it the ideal destination for your holiday in Ireland. Our friendly staff, bright, airy rooms and great food along with spectacular views over the Mourne Mountains make the perfect combination for your stay at the Burrendale Hotel to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club And Spa
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing