We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Stay Great”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Birthday Stay Great”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Family of 8 adults and 5 children stayed overnight for my 60th birthday. Plenty of free parking spaces .Checkin was quick and family rooms were next door to each other.Cots arrived for the young ones with no problem. Family rooms had double bed and bunks which the older children loved.

We had a room on the top floor large modern big bed table chairs and a sofa plenty of space. A Juliette balcony with views of Slieve Donard and Newcastle was splendid.
The bathroom had a separate shower and bath, however there was only a soap dispenser no shampoo, conditioner etc and no facecloth.

Food at dinner was tasty and childrens menu was also varied and good. There was a dance later which the children loved and so did the adults.

I found the spa treatments very relaxing however when waiting for the treatments it is a very
busy area as the residents go through here to the pool.

We had breakfast in bed arrived at 7.30 am instead of an hour later. Two poached eggs
floating round a large dinner plate is not very appealing so early in the morning or at any time. PLEASE put the toast with the eggs and not separate, also expected fruit with yogurt as on the menu list got a fruit yogurt. At £5 each definatly not worth room service.

Check out was swift no problems. Would we go back yes but only on a special deal. A few niggles do take the shine of the stay especially if you were paying full rack rate.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconys have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wentaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Burrendale Hotel. Your feedback is very valuable to the future experience of our guest, and have confidence that we take it seriously.

We would welcome the opportunity to have you as a guest in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    256
    109
    66
    26
See reviews for
347
350
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just spent a terrific three days in the Burrendale. From the moment we arrived we had a great time. Staff were welcoming and helpful at all times. We stayed in an Embassador room, which was spacious and tastefully decorated. Food was of a high quality and well presented. Restaurant staff were courteous, helpful and pleasant at all times. The Country Club and Spa added to our enjoyment
immensly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write your review and also for choosing to stay with us at the Burrendale Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. We strive to exceed all of our guests expectations and I trust that we have exceeded yours.

We would love to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to stay in the future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

the hotel is set in a lovely scenic location just about 10mins out of the centre of newcastle. the staff are so kind and will do whatever they can to help. rooms are big and fancy, it's not too expensive and the spa and fitness centre are great! pool isn't overly big but okay their hairdressing salon is fantastic staff are lovely and it's great value food is good but menu could have a little more choice but food is amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent Burrendale experience with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed our food and hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay here at the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa in the future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I went here as a surprise for my Birthday.
In my room, my Mum had asked for Wine, and Chocolates - which were delicious. They also put balloons in the room, as well as at the table that night when I went for dinner.

Pro's;
Friendly staff.
Room was beautifully decorated and clean.
Room service was delicious aswell - I got the Chicken and Bacon ceasar salad and it was lovely.
The entertainment was great.
Staff in the Vine restaurant were friendly aswell.
Food in the Vine restaurant was lovely - They had appetisers and a soup course. Every course was delicious.
The Spa was amazing - I got a facial. It was lovely and relaxing.
The views of the Morne Mountains were beautiful.


Con's;
Honestly? None.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello-kitty19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank yuo for posting a review. It is pleasing to read that your Birthday celebrations were a great success. It is great to hear that our efforts have been rewarded by your kind comments.

We look forward to having you as a guest in the not too distant future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co down
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I cannot compliment the Burrendale Hotel in Newcastle, Co Down, highly enough! We have been a couple of times for Sunday Lunch in their Vines Restaurant. Booking is required. On each ocassion we were taken on or before our time. The tables are beautifully set with linen table cloths and napkins and lovely fresh flowers to compliment. The staff are equally dressed to a very high and pristeen fashion and extremely attentive. We were served all of our courses without any delays. The food, both in quality and presentation was excellent! The atmosphere and ambiance of this Restaurant is exceptional! Very busy yet relaxing and calm! Very pleasant with a grown up feel. Lovely not to have loads of noisy, crying children running amock!! Its not that you couldnt bring them and im sure people do, but the high quality of the setting lends itself to a more adult venue. Which is just great for those of us who are at a stage where they enjoy to eat in a relaxed environment. The Hotel has other areas for pub grub style eating and more formal entertaining. It is set in a lovely part of Co Down at the foot of the beautiful Mourne Mountains which sweep down to a lovely sea and promenade! Well worth a visit.!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent Sunday lunch experience here at the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa.

Sunday lunch at the Burrendale is very popular and we pride ourselves on providing quality food and quality service, it is pleasing to read that this has been achieved.

We look forward to your return visits in the near future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

had our wedding here in october 2012 and they were absolutely fantastic over the build up and on the day, they couldn't have done enough for us. the food was amazing, dinner, evening buffet and breakfast the next day. would fully reocmmend them for a wedding, or just for a nice meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needaholiday84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review. It is pleasing to read that your recent Burrendale Wedding experience was a great success.

It is great to hear that our efforts have been rewarded by your kind comments. Many thanks for taking the time to make your reviews known.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a very relaxing break, I've stayed here before and it never disappoints. The rooms were very clean as was the hotel. The only complaint I would have is that unfortunately we couldn't get booked in for a treatment at the spa, perhaps it may be an idea to have an option when booking to book an appointment for the spa and you could confirm it nearer the time. Although it gives me an excuse to come and stay again. Food as always was fantastic and very polite and accommodating staff. Many thanks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisOrr, General Manager at Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Burrendale Hotel. We certainly appreciate the opportunity to have you as a returning guest.

Fortunately our Spa here at the Hotel is very popular both with Hotel Guests and also with local clientele, thus we would advise all guests to book their Spa appoint ment and treatment time at point of booking to avoid disappointment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa in the future.

Best Regards
Denis Orr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.0 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
153 reviews
22.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#13 of 45 in Belfast
1,555 reviews
1.0 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa

Property: Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
Address: 51 Castlewellan Road, Newcastle BT33 0JY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#5 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Irelands latest 4 Star Hotel, located just 45 minutes from Belfast or Newry, 90 minutes from Dublin and a 10 minute walk from the seaside town of Newcastle, The Burrendale Hotel is within an easy distance, making it the ideal destination for your holiday in Ireland. Our friendly staff, bright, airy rooms and great food along with spectacular views over the Mourne Mountains make the perfect combination for your stay at the Burrendale Hotel to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club And Spa
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing