We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, fun experience. We loved it and we'll be back.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The facilities and staff are second to none. Nothing was too much trouble, the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly, the hotel is spotlessly clean throughout.
We ate at the restaurant and the food was wonderful.
The swimming pool is great and has an excellent kids pool. There are family changing rooms which are great.
The spa is first class and you are guaranteed a pampering experience to remember. There is a hair salon in the hotel, which is very handy, and we wre impressed.
Our rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, the view stunning.
I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.
We were very sad to be going home.
The location is excellent, the surrounding views stunning, and olny a mile or so from Newcasle.

Room Tip: Ask about special offers - they are
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TADMIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

966 - 972 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have just returned after spending two days at The Burrendale, and I would strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a good value break, with excellent facilites and service.

From the minute we entered the hotel, the staff were all friendly and approchable. A special thanks to Zandra on reception who sorted out our room for us, as the initial room we were given was a bit small, when we asked to change she immediatley organised it with minimum delay.

Food was fine, not so good on first night of our stay, bit " overcooked" but much better the second night. Despite a wedding being held at the hotel, this in no way distracted from the other customers. There is a lovely lounge in which to sit and " chill out" and as it was very chilly outside this was most welcome.

I didn't use the Spa facilites so cant comment. other than to say its a good excuse for a return visit.

Definitley recommend .

Room Tip: If possible pay a bit extra for The Ambassador .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelfastSupermum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and I just want to say that each time I stay it gets even better.
There is absolutely nothing that I can fault about the accomodation,services, food and staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerrymcewan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I can tthoroughly recommend the Spa at the Burrendale. A few of us booked treatments there just for fun and it really was! We had a lovely lunch in the Spa reception area at a really reasonable price with complimentary tea or coffee. Reception staff and therapists were all very pleasant and attentive and my aroma facial with neck and shoulder massage was so relaxing that it sent me off to sleep. Brilliant!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
Thank CMayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I take my hat off to these guys because they have to compete with The Sleive Donard in the same town.The Burrendale has its own carpark around the hotel nestled under some trees,its only a short walk from the town,so its perfect if you want to be near the town yet enjoy the peace of being outside it. I really can't really fault anything about this place.the food is good,staff are friendly and facilities are good.there is also a nice bar at it too. With the health Spa, it would be possible to never leave this place. though the Mournes do look nice if you are into hill walking. I enjoy somewhere nice to stay, and for me The Burrendale ticked all the boxes,my advice would be book it without fear of being disappointed,they'l offer you a big Co-Down welcome and i'm from Tyrone. lol I will definitely be going back is the best recommendation i can give you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TyroneTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Sun - Wed Three night break 3B&B 1 evening meal £89 - what fantastic value - no wonder the hotel was full! Sunday evening entertainment - superb. Room lovely with beautiful views over the Mournes. Staff most friendly and cooperative as usual. Food excellent. Will be back again in the Autumn

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the Mournes
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank n1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My friend and I both really enjoyed our stay here. The staff couldn't have been nicer; the food was just wonderful, and the views from the hotel are so beautiful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judethepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
162 reviews
22.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Belfast
Crowne Plaza Belfast
#12 of 46 in Belfast
1,667 reviews
17 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa

Address: 51 Castlewellan Road, Newcastle BT33 0JY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
#5 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $96 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Irelands latest 4 Star Hotel, located just 45 minutes from Belfast or Newry, 90 minutes from Dublin and a 10 minute walk from the seaside town of Newcastle, The Burrendale Hotel is within an easy distance, making it the ideal destination for your holiday in Ireland. Our friendly staff, bright, airy rooms and great food along with spectacular views over the Mourne Mountains make the perfect combination for your stay at the Burrendale Hotel to be one to remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club And Spa
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel Newcastle
Burrendale Hotel, Country Club & Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing