We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Although this hotel could do with a lick of paint and updated a bit, my room was clean and had everything I needed. I stayed here 18th-19th August, the location was very good, the staff friendly and helpful and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The cooked breakfast in the morning was served nice and hot as cooked to order. Would recommend this hotel for short breaks.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris5690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    26
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Hi, my friend and I stayed at the Donard Hotel for 3 nights in July 2014. Pat, Joanne and the entire staff where absolutely wonderful, nothing was too much for them and after 3 days it was farewell hugs all round!
The rooms were large as was the included breakfast each morning. The Hotel next door was full of friendly local folk ready for a chat and the bottle shop in between sold wines at the right price.
Location was perfect, a 2 minute walk to the water and easy access to the quirky little cafes and shops in Newcastle. Would go back and stay in a flash! Thanks for a wonderful stay, Beth and Nina

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy1743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Was really impressed with the donard. Could def do with a bit of an update in the rooms but bar that i have no other complaints. The rooms themselves were huge and had wall tv's, also spotless too. Location was fantastic as your right in the town.

The staff were fantastic and so friendly. We had breakfast the next day which was lovely and the waitress was very obliging with my "veggie breakfast".

I would def return here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michellex058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

myself my mum and my two kids have been going to The Donard now for a few years staying for over a week each time and im looking forward to seeing everyone on friday when we go to stay for nine nights. All of the staff are fantastic, very kind and very considerate and they go over and above what is required of them. They treat us like part of the family and you dont get that anywhere else. Their food is out of this world and the service is exceptional.Our room has always been spotless and we had everything that we needed there. We have always been very happy with our room. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danamca01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Having dined in the hotel for many years and thoroughly enjoyed the cuisine we were not disappointed by our first stay. The deluxe double room and the single room had stunning views over the mountains and were very well furnished, spacious and comfortable. Both ensuite bathrooms were excellent in particular the deluxe bathroom. The wi fi, tea and coffee facilities were excellent. The food was of a very high standard with a good choice on the menu. The staff were friendly, helpful, courteous and added to our stay.. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We decided to eat in restaurant and were not disappointed. The staff were so friendly and very helpful particularly as we had 3 young children. The restaurant was quiet but was a monday evening. Food however was lovely and fresh. Well worth the walk to the top of the town.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Va
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

If you do stay here, ask for room 201. It's the room directly under the clock in the picture. Very large, with stunning views of the Mountains of Mourne. The hotel itself is over 100 years old and is starting to show some wear, but no matter, the friendly staff and great location more than make up for it. Definitely a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nursedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
23.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
18.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
20.7 mi away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donard Hotel

Property: Donard Hotel
Address: 29 Main Street, Newcastle BT33 0AD, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Donard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Donard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donard Hotel Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing