We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I had my reservations going to this 3 star hotel but need not have worried as this was a great experience from start to finish. We only stayed one night but wished we were staying longer. From the moment we entered the hotel, Paula on reception could not have been more welcoming. Showed us where to park our car for the night and gave us restaurant menu to take with us to the. rooms and even brought us up to our rooms to make sure everything was ok. Nothing was a problem for her or any of the staff we met for the rest of our stay. Not the most modern bedroom but beds very comfortable and sheets great quality so had a great nights sleep.Would definitely recommend this very centrally located hotel to anyone. Thank you girls.

Room Tip: I was in room 208 and it was a very comfortable and spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eitne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    26
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our recent stay at this hotel was definitely a good one. Excellent location and very warm hospitality from the staff and management. The breakfast was the best that we had on a ten day trip and Pat goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. For us that included him providing transport for two golfers to Royal County Down. Rooms while not decorative are spacious. A renovation might be in order sometime in the future but for now the Donard receives our recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guggenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Another fantastic stay at the Donard Hotel, Pat I just want to say congratulations on having the most excellent attentive staff who could not be anymore helpful.
I will look forward to returning again very soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrymcewan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

stayed here overnight as friends were getting married in the Slieve. Didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel but found it a decent place for nights sleep. I wouldn't say much more than that, its 3 start and could do with a complete refresh as it is definitely looking outdated. That being said, sleep quality was good, once the craziness from the bar down below had finished - it went on later than the entertainment in the Slieve that's for sure - and the breakfast the next morning was nice. The staff were very friendly although I only saw two people actually working there, we waited for 15 mins to check in as the "restaurant was busy" and when I went to ask about the heating in the room (it was pretty cold and could find no way to change the thermostat) that evening the only people in the lobby where revellers from the party in the bar. The one lady (didn't get her name) who seemed to be singlehandedly running the place the whole weekend was very nice, attentive even though clear under pressure and had a warm and welcoming personality - put her in a nicer hotel and I would go there again but not here. I cant say I will recommend this place to friends and family looking to stay in Newcastle.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spdm7326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Went here with my folks and my kids for the weekend.
This is a beautiful hotel in a gorgeous village - the scenery us breathtaking.
Our room in the hotel was large and spacious - if a little warm; the swimming pool is to die for - it's spotless, with amazing views over the bay-we spent a serious amount of time here.... The beach is on the doorstep and the village a quick walk away.
Breakfast was great ; dinner less so as none of our food was hot - service was fantastic; we will definitely be back

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

25 of us stayed at the Donard at the weekend and we had an absolutely brillant time. None of the Group had previously stayed there and we were unsure what to expect. We found the price very attractive. The rooms were very spacious and clean and the staff were most helpful. All of our meals which included breakfast, lunch and dinner were fabulous with the quality and quantity first rate. Its the first time that I have been away with such a large group and no-one had any complaints to make about the hotel or service. Our Group was a mixed age group and we also enjoyed the entertainment in the evening in the Donard bar next door. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are now considering booking in for our Christmas Party rather than staying in Belfast. A big thank you to Pat, Liz and all the staff for their hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed for a night with my mum and kids. Before we arrived the owner I had emailed the owner and asked him about a deposit. He said just to pay when we arrived. The hotel itself is a 3 star and parts of it need updated a bit. However the roooms were spacious, clean, a TV with a multitude of channels which impressed the children and had tea and coffee making facilities. The showers were powerful and warm which in my experience is not always the case. The beds were comfy and we all had a great nights sleep. The staff were just lovely and kept asking if we needed anything and checking everything was ok. We will definitely be back as the location is just so central and great value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
23.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
18.1 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donard Hotel

Property: Donard Hotel
Address: 29 Main Street, Newcastle BT33 0AD, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Donard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Donard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donard Hotel Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing