We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Chapter Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Donard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donard Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownards, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Chapter Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

My husband, myself, and our 3 children were in Newcastle yesterday. We were wandering about, looking for somewhere to have lunch, and having viewed the menu outside the Donard, we decided to go in for a bite to eat. The restaurant was large, roomy, and very pleasant. There weren't many in, though it did start to fill up after we ordered. Service was prompt and friendly, and there was a varied menu, with a separate kids menu. The food arrived in good time, and the portions were fantastic. Having ordered lasagne, I was quite jealous of the fish and chips ordered by my hubby and my son. My daughter ordered off the kids menu, and again the portion was really generous. My younger son wanted gravy chips,which wasn't on the menu, but he was accommodated with no problems. The food was lovely. My hubby, who is a chef himself, really enjoyed the fish and chips. And the best bit was the bill at the end. Under £35 for all of us, including drinks for the kids, and tea and coffee for the adults. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0j0_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    26
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed 12th August for 1 night. When we arrived we met Pat, the owner, he welcomed us and escorted us to our room. Our room was clean, tidy, spacious and at the rear of Hotel .
The staff in restaurant, Bar were extremely friendly and polite, nothing was a problem for them. The menu was varied and value for money was fantastic. It was our first visit to the Donard Hotel and we would certainly return for a break later in the year. It is also well situated for nightlife in the area.

Room Tip: Rear of Hotel does appear more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandBatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

We had to attend a family funeral - travelling from the Isle of Man @ short notice. The staff were very helpful and kind. Our room was ready for us upon arrival (11am) normally not available @ this time. Room was lovely, clean and big (3 sharing). Breakfast was brilliant - set you up for the day. Due to time of funeral staff were happy to extend the use of the room. What more can I say.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Williams-Manxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Stayed at the Donard for three nights with my sister, who has bad mobility problems. We have stayed here before so on booking I requested room 103 which is on the first floor and has the walk in shower, and right beside the lift. There was no problem getting it. The room was perfect for us and our needs. The owner Pat is very nice and accommodating . We had our breakfast each morning in our room and my sister didn't have to rush down to the dining-room, and it was a great breakfast more than enough. We are going back to Newcastle soon, and my sister has said she doesn't want to stay anywhere else but the Donard. It is right on the main street and central to everything. The only downside is, at the minute they have no Chef so no lunches or evening meals, but they are hoping to get a new Chef soon. We ate one night in Percy French at the Slieve Donard round the corner " Never Again" it was far to over priced for what you got, and I was up sick all that night and could not eat the next day. Very over rated. A nice memorable three days and Hotel and weather made it.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizzieGibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

it was a great hotel... the people that worked in was real friendly and it was very homely and that i would stay in it again... the hotel was in the best part of the town and that everything is on the street so it is easy to get about the hotel was very big and lots of space for a wheel chair user to get about... the breaks was soooo nice and the meals is nice for the price next to nothin... plus when we got there it was the 100 years for the harry ferguson thing... the red arrows and the paride was there too so it was an enjoyable week... sooo this hotel by far is my favourate because its my kind of place unlike other hotels that i have stayed in and they are tooo posh which does my head in also the way the people goes on.... so this hotel is the best... 2 stars i dont care i loved it

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura_Stefano_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fermanagh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed here for weekend with husband and 3 children. Was disappointed when arrived at hotel, looked very run down with all the net curtains. When we entered reception area looked fine. We were asked to pay in full on arrival. We were brought up to our room and I would honestly say a hostel would be better, they were clean but the decor was terrible and furniture was well worn. we had connecting rooms but there was no door. Children were not allowed in bar after 6pm, which you had to leave the building and walk up the street to. I would not return to this hotel again but I have to say newcastle and surrounding areas made up for it. went for our sunday lunch in chowder resturaunt, staff do need some training, we recevied our veg when we were finished our meal. never once asked were we ok. pricey!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 1mc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patdonard, Owner at Donard Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2011
The two family rooms have now been renovated and redecorated to the same standard as the other rooms in the hotel. They still have no door between the two separate bedrooms due to fire and safety requirements. The family rooms are not really suitable for such a large family as a couple and 3 children but since many people are on a tight budget we allow the second and third to stay free of charge. In this case we should have provided two separate rooms.
We have no age restrictions in our restaurant bar and the bar where children are not permitted after 7pm is a totally separate business in the same building. They regret the restriction but they have to comply with the laws of the land. Also the Chowder House restaurant referred to was a totally separate business and no longer trades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.2 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
23.3 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
18.1 mi away
Mourne Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donard Hotel

Property: Donard Hotel
Address: 29 Main Street, Newcastle BT33 0AD, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Donard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Donard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donard Hotel Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing