We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,618)
Filter reviews
3,618 results
Traveler rating
2,213
683
385
225
112
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,213
683
385
225
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oak restaurant percy french slieve donard lighthouse lounge mourne mountains vitality pool resort rooms beautiful hotel sea view irish sea steam room superior room porridge hastings hotels restaurant manager buffet style first class
Filter
Updating list...
3,505 - 3,510 of 3,618 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2009

I was here for a very nice spa break in June. The spa was luxurious and definitely lived up to expectations. The fabulous views from the pool area and the beach alone make this place worth a visit.

The room was nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. Some aspects were a bit shabby, and one of the curtains was falling down. Overall, the hotel was very quiet and lacked an atmosphere - the bar was deathly quiet in the evening and felt more like a museum than a hotel bar!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seagreen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Years ago the Slieve Donard was once a very grand hotel attracting all sorts of esteemed visitors in its hey day including Charlie Chaplin (you can see his signature in the guest book outside one of the bars). Unfortunately, over time this reputation became diminished with many visitors describing it as a bit ropey, old and tired.... well not anymore!

We have just returned from a fantastic break with friends after hearing great things in the media. We were not disappointed let me tell you. Everything was of a very high standard with the icing on the cake being a world class spa. It has been designed in such a way where the outside is really brought in and you cannot help but be overwhelmed by the most amazing scenery while having a swim or sitting in the jacuzzi.

We booked a standard double but I would describe it as better than standard. We had a great sea view and the room was very generously proportioned with a massive bed which could accommodate four people comfortably. There was also a fantastic samsung flatscreen with freeview.

Breakfast was included in our rate and it was very impressive; lots of choice and although we arrived quite late there was plenty still to choose from and noone was chasing us away. I also liked how we got big pots of tea and coffee. Often in other hotels you are chasing staff for additional refills.

In terms of staff there were aways plenty of smiling and helpful faces around every corner. Check in and check out were effortless. What I would say is that 1 night's B&B was £100 per room with full use of the facilities. We thought this was a bargain considering that to use the pool, sauna etc was £50 for a half day session for non residents.

To sum up we were pleasantly surprised and although we have an apartment in Newcastle we would definitely return again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Stuartyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

The Slieve Donard Hotel has lots of extras that the other hotels in Northern Ireland do not have.
Firstly it's located in the quaint town of Newcaste ~ 'Where the mountains of Mourne sweep down the the sea' and what a view from your room or the jacuzzi! Nearby there is lots to do ~ a walk in Tollymore forest park, visit the Silent Valley or the port of Kilkeel.
Secondly when the room we stayed in was fantastic. It was in the newly refurbished part of the hotel second floor. One window looked out to the sea the other to the Mournes. We were provided with robes and slippers, fruit, bottled water. Bathroom had marble worktops, double sink, bath, rather luxorious 'wet room rainshower! King sized bed, fitted wardrobes and the list goes one. What a lovely treat!
Thirdly the spa is fabulous and as a guest you have free use of the facilities. It's even lovely to relax on the loungers by the pool and enjoy the glorious view. Didn't use the spa as it was booked up, prices can be high but i'm sure they're worth it.
Finally the food. What a breakfast! Full choice of anything you wish for. We eat in the 'Percy French' restaurant located at the entrance lane to the hotel and it certainly was something a little different and less formal that the hotel itself.
The list could go on and on. I recommend this hotel to all whether like us you wany a one night stay away for a little treat or a weekend/ week of relaxation. It's worth asking for a room with a view at the front of the hotel as I know some of the rooms are located at the back with no view.

Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

the rooms were not that nice
the staff were extremely rude
the food was nothing special
the pool and spa was about the only good thing in this hotel
The worst was definitely the rudeness and the cheek we got from the staff.
I would never ever in my whole life go back to this hotel
It was so bad we demanded a refund because if the rudeness if the
staff on the first night our party of four families got £75 off each

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank funkymunky078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2008

My husband and I stayed have just returned after a wonderful 3 night break in the Slieve Donard. We travel extensively throughout the world, and we can honestly say that this was one of the nicest stays we have ever had.

There are 3 things that make this hotel superb: staff, setting & spa. The staff here are among the friendliest we have ever encountered, from the lovely receptionists, Claire & Jean, to the helpful porter who packed our luggage into our car, despite the pouring rain and howling winds!

The setting is just fantastic, and the view from the executive room is amazing. You can see the Mourne mountains and the ocean from the window. You can also see the same view from the oaks restaurant and the spa.

Speaking of the spa, we were very impressed. We didn't get treatments, but we did make good use of the downstairs spa area, which houses a lovely pool, vitality pool (big jacuzzi!), steam room and sauna. It was wonderful to relax in the jacuzzi looking out at the mountains. The only fault I have is a tiny one - the rainshower was not powerful enough! No big deal at all. Changing rooms are lovely, with electronic lockers & ESPA toiletries.

The housekeepers are very friendly and accommodating. We returned from a day out to discover that we had left our 'Do not disturb' sign on the door, and our room was obviously not cleaned. Even though this was our fault, reception sent up housekeepers to service the room.

As far as the rooms themselves are concerned, we can only comment on the executive room which we stayed in. It was really big and airy, with a fabulous big bed in which you could fit 4 people! There was a flat screen TV with satellite channels, and all the mod cons you would expect from a hotel of this standard. The bathroom was huge, with a big shower and seperate bath. The only negative we have about the room is that the bathroom floor could do with a good clean, and also there were black hairs in the bed. However, this was probably just from the housekeepers. Other than that it was perfect.

Breakfast was the only slight let down. There were the usual things like fried foods and toast etc, but the variety was poor. I am a very healthy eater, and I felt there wasn't enough choice for me. There should have been much more fresh fruit, healthier breads and low fat yoghurt. However, on the plus side, there was delicious homemade granola and muesli, and homemade full fat yoghurt and guiness bread! The breakfast staff are wonderful, especially Bronagh!

Overall, this hotel was excellent. The staff really make it so nice. I realise that we were there when it was quiet, so this probably added to the enjoyment. Another reviewer said the reception staff were offhand. We were lucky with ours, but I did see another lady there who was not particularly nice. I suppose everyone has different experiences. All in all, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews