We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor and pricey wine list”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just had a fabulous weekend in Slieve Donard Hotel
Great staff in all departments.
Only complaint would be price and selection of wine. Would also be nice to see Guinness available at the bar
Some form of entertainment would also be nice. The restaurant performer finishes at 9.30pm. I think 10.00 pm would be a better time

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,138 - 2,144 of 3,208 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Overpriced joke! The rooms are dated there like something you get in a care home ! Also the dust in the room was wild I blew the lamp shade and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the place was built! Food in the oak restaurant,... What a joke I paid extra in our package to eat in the oak and I left starving! Starters where ridiculous I couldn't eat my goats cheese! My partner had prawns which still had their [s--] pipe still running through them!! Mmm yum! I then ordered duck (served pink) apparently! It was like leather so I sent it back and waited 20 mins on a new duck by which time my partner had finished his meal .(pork which was dry) but he was starving! My new dish of duck was exactly the same over cooked rubber I would have needed a steak knife as I tried to cut into one of 5 small pieces of duck on my plate for 23 quid! It shot off across the table. Not only was it like rubber the whole dish was tasteless. Never would I return to this hotel to spend my hard earned money on this dump! Mysf and partner go away 4/5 times a year to hotels for 1/2 nights and I have paid less and been in far nicer places. I would never recommend this place to any family or friends and as we own out own business we have customers in every day so il will be telling them of our experience and making sure they don't make the mistake of booking this hotel! Reall donard update and clean ur rooms and find someone that can cook!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niknak232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fantastic hotel and had great overall experience. Rooms were awesome and spent alot of time in hotel bar area and had a blast. Staff very friendly and accomodating. The outside of the hotel spectacular with ocean views to match. The town of Newcastle was great and had a wonderful time within its pubs.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Trent5007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was there for a golf trip. The food,spa,room and facility were great. Not to mention the one of the world's greatest golf courses Royal County Down is a 100 yard walk away. I look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed two nights here last week and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Our room had superb views and was very well equipped. Breakfasts were magnificent, staff were friendly and the spa looked great. We plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank epicurus44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We paid a little bit extra to stay at the Slieve Donard but to be honest when compared to other similarly priced hotels it actually feels like we had good valued for money. The Hotel looks like Hogwarts-On-Sea (no bad thing) and the inside of the hotel lives up to its high standards. Some spa facilities are available to all guests but if you pay for a treatment you're granted access to the posh upstairs spa. A good tip is to go for a cheaper express treatment (if available), as they still last for 30mins yet you still gain access to the upper level spa facilities within the price.

The service in the hotel is some of the best we've experienced, with polite and helpful staff - which we found really refreshing after some of the places abroad we've stayed recently. The buffet breakfast was also to a very high standard. The location and views are excellent, Newcastle is a beautiful place and I definitely recommend taking a drive up into the mountains.

There were a few small downsides which I feel I have to mention, though these aren't enough to have affected our stay or our full marks score. Firstly, despite the beautiful views the hotel does seem to be surrounded by a car park moat, which is the first thing you see when you look out of any window. The windows cills in our room were also very sloppily painted (the fault of a bad workman), meaning there was paint strewn over the metal windows which added some glaring imperfections to our otherwise excellent Executive room. The Percy French restaurant is also best avoided, we expected a nice French restaurant with reasonable prices but instead you get over priced and poorly cooked pub grub. The waiting staff were lovely and very helpful but I think the food really makes it one to avoid.

Overall a beautiful hotel and highly recommended. We throughly enjoyed our stay and next time we're in NI we will definitely return to the Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, in fact I'm looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindhavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My 5th time here, but only second time using TESCO vouchers at £150 night B+B. On our first time on vouchers, we had a room looking out on a fire escape, it felt as if we were second rate just because we were using vouchers. This time I paid extra for a sea view and the room (418) was lovely with excellent views of the sea from one side and the mountains from another. No robes or slippers like you would get at the Culloden on a similar offer, I would love to know why!
For me, the spa facilities are hard to beat at the S D. How delightful to look out on such stunning views as you use the pool and the hot tub! I also find the staff here totally professional, immaculately groomed, on the ball and most attentive at all times. It is a very busy environment, requiring a well managed team at all levels.
Drinks don't come cheaply, however. At £8 for a glass of wine, I made sure mine lasted!

Room Tip: I would ask for 418 again. A/C very quiet. Close to lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen_Meldrum_GM, General Manager at Slieve Donard Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at the Slieve Donard Resort & Spa. We are very pleased that you came back for your 5th visit!

I am glad that you enjoyed the excellent views of the Mourne Mountains and sea from room 418 - we are very proud of our beautiful surroundings. Room 418 is a superior room and as such does not come with robes and slippers as standard however these items are available from our reception.

Our Spa is one of our guests' favourite facilities and I would like to thank you for highlighting our stunning views as well as our professional and well groomed staff. We like to ensure our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable stay and it is clear from this wonderful review that this has been achieved.

We look forward immensley to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
0.2 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
162 reviews
18.6 mi away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
0.8 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#8 of 18 in Newcastle
30 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Donard Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Donard Resort and Spa

Address: Downs Road, Newcastle BT33 0AH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newcastle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle
Price Range: $163 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Donard Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling at the foot of the Mourne Mountains, the Slieve Donard stands in six acres of private grounds, and is one of Northern Ireland's most popular hotels. The luxurious ESPA Spa commands spectacular panoramic views of the County Down coastline and Mountains of Mourne and provides a perfect oasis of tranquility rivals any spa in Europe today. This superbly maintained Victorian hotel is equally suited to a short break, residential conference or grand event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Slieve Donard Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Donard Newcastle
Donard Hotel Slieve
Donard Hotel Newcastle Slieve
Slieve Donard Hotel Newcastle
Slieve Donard Resort And Spa Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing