We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,575)
Filter reviews
3,575 results
Traveler rating
2,183
675
382
224
111
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,183
675
382
224
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoak restaurantpercy frenchslieve donardlighthouse loungemourne mountainsvitality poolresort roomssea viewbeautiful hotelirish seasteam roomsuperior roomporridgehastings hotelsrestaurant managerbuffet stylefirst class
Filter
Updating list...
2,611 - 2,616 of 3,575 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Got the pleasure to stay at this lovely Hotel on the 1st June 2013 for a friends of the family wedding. Well it has to be said this was a perfect location by the sea and Mourne mountains for the wedding as it was picked specially by the bride & groom because there 1st meeting was up the Mournes training for The Great Wall of China (the bride) and Kilimanjaro (the groom). We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we were through the door, the reception staff were lovely. The wedding reception was done very well indeed and all was perfect. The grounds of this Hotel were lovely and you could walk down to the sea very easily, it's also a nice walk into Newcastle itself. We had booked 2 train rooms and 1 double room which all looked over the tennis courts so was very quiet, our twin rooms had a large dbl bed nod a quite large single bed, there was a lovely big bathroom which had a bath and shower cubicle in it, quite a big wardrobe and a chest of drawers which housed the tea & coffee. There was also an iron and ironing board too. This was our 1st chance to stay at this great Hotel and hopefully it won't be our last, thank you Rob & Leanne for picking a brilliant location to have your wedding reception.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tillytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My parents booked this for the whole family to go to while my sisters were visiting from New Zealand and as I was quite busy leading up to it I never actually got to check it out online before I got there.
When we arrived I was speechless! The hotel is absolutely magnificent to look at with very well-maintained grounds. Once in the hotel we were delighted with the excellent service from the friendly staff and once we got to our rooms we didn't want to leave them as they were just beautiful! We were lucky enough to get a room at the front of the hotel which delighted us with stunning views of the sea and the mountains and an overly friendly seagull who liked to sit on the window-sill and look in at us all the time - my son thought this was just great :-)
The whole stay was just brilliant & I couldn't fault a single thing. Even when we got home and realised we left a few bits behind the staff were very helpful and returned our items asap.
My parents are already planning their next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Unique location on the seaside, with superb view on the slieve Donard mountain,and on the sea.This large 19th century victorian building has a lot of charm, it has been expanded ( for the spa) and remodeled entirely.The rooms are very confortable , bathroom with shower and tub, sofa ,king size bed.Restaurant is not exceptional but good enough , with a good service very attentive.Breakfast offers a buffet with all you can expect .
Location is exceptional because you just have to walk two minutes to get to the Royal Countydown Golf Club, one of the best if not The Best links golf course in the world.
Finally, the price is reasonable (130 GBP B&B ) when compared to the other luxury hotels in the country.

Room Tip: Sea view , of course , is a plus.Rooms are very quiet .
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very good location(mountains of mourne) and sea views(100'),a resort hotel with golf/spa-swimming pool.Beautiful rooms,excellent food--Irish hostipality at its best.Great historic hotel on the edge of the sea and the nice small town of Newcastle.Staff were very good,stayed on a Shearings coach tour of Ireland and they were great with us!

Room Tip: sea view room with the mountains of mourne sweeping into them.--ask
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Although we weren't staying there, stopping at the Slieve Donard merely for a cup of coffee during an afternoon drive along the Mourne Coastal route, on asking for recommendations as to local sights, we were so impressed by the professionalism and friendliness of reception staff we decided to come back for dinner later in the Oak Room. With it's old fashioned and very comfortable decor, brightened by the light from the sea, here too, the staff were efficient and friendly, serving speedily but giving diners no sense of being rushed - and never overdoing that “is everything all right?" thing which can sometimes be irritating. All meats, fish and produce on the menu enumerated local suppliers, and while not cheap, the food was good enough to be worth what was charged. We've decided to go back to stay for a few days later in the year.. Deirdre Purcell and Kevin Healy, Co Meath.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deirdre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews