We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent b&b in a beautiful area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tollyrose Country House

Tollyrose Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tollyrose Country House
Ranked #4 of 19 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent b&b in a beautiful area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This b&b is as good as, if not better than any hotel. Rates were good, room was pristine and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was lovely too. They even had a drinks chill for guests use, with reasonably priced alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks. Fab!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meesy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Tollyrose is absolutely fabulous,the views around the property are spectacular and so peaceful. The welcome you receive on arrival is lovely the lady is sooo friendly it's like she as always known you. The accommodation is very clean and tidy and super comfortable and breakfast was lovely. I could not fault this place at all and I will be returning again and would recommend tollyrose to anyone. Fantastic weekend away

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

This appears to have been purpose built for offering B&B, and hence fitting standards are to those of a modern hotel. Very spacious. Welcoming and friendly. Our room was large and comfortable with a really good shower. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed last minute after a tough walk in the mournes and Cooleys. I was absolutely delighted by the comfort of the room. I could not fault the cleanliness (and I am fussy) and neither could I fault the friendliness of Helen and Eamon. Breakfast was faultless. The bed was huge and comfortable and the shower nice and hot even at 10pm- the weiry muscles appreciated this. The 'honesty bar' was also lovely to see. I loved it so much that we are going to stay with the children for two nights in July or August. I read the comment book at the end of our stay and can honestly say that all the comments in the book reflect our posittive experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josieb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

My mom and I stayed at Tollyrose for one night during our recent visit to Ireland. The Bed and Breakfast is very clean and well taken care of and the hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. We were able to arrive early for check-in and our bags were also held late in the day the next day while we climbed the Mourne mountains before leaving for our next destination. I do not award a 5 out of 5 for the B&B simply because the rooms were somewhat cold, the place has somewhat of a hotel feel to it and the internet cost an extra fee, something that should be made clear on their website.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 92JAN92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Tollyrose is across the road from the magnificent Tollymore Forest Park, a real jewel. It's also less than 20 minutes away from Newcastle and Dundrum, with lots of trail heads, sites and the awesome Mourne Seafood Bar in Dundrum (best oysters ever, from Carlingford Lough). Our room was quite small (New York sized, with a bit of give around the bed) and a tiny bathroom. The hosts were wonderful, but you pay a premium for the location. Everything was clean and well ordered, but the hosts kept telling us to go back to Belfast and Bangor for the "sights." It would have been nice to have someone better versed on local walks, including the public pathways that take you through the gorgeous countryside. Cash only, also, a surprise at the end that cleaned us out...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabiolaPal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

First class accommodation right on the doorstep of the Mournes. Room was spacious, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Eamon and Helen were first class hosts who did all they could to make my short stay comfortable. Great base for hill walking, golf or relaxing. Location is just under a mile from Tollymore Forest Park close to Bryansford. Breakfast was delicious to get the day off to a great start. Perfect for exploring all the region has to offer. A real gem!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie1Craigavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
1.5 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.5 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#11 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.6 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
2.4 mi away
Meelmore Lodge
Meelmore Lodge
#1 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollyrose Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollyrose Country House

Property: Tollyrose Country House
Address: 15 Hilltown Road | Bryansford, Newcastle BT33 0PX, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tollyrose Country House Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing