We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vanilla Restaurant

Vanilla Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a lovey 2 course meal here. Was brilliant value for money. Staff where very attentive. Compliments to the chef for a lovely night out

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanillanewcastle, Manager at Vanilla Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Louise F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Vanilla on TA.

All feedback is always well received, this enables us to gauge where we are in respect of our competition. The fact reviewers like your self takes time out to compliment our restaurant is fantastic.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and we will hope to see you in the near future.

Best Wishes

Regards

Seamus Rooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    129
    32
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
gottaluvflying
Level Contributor
265 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“SUPERB! DON'T GO CHANGING....IT'S PERFECT AS IT IS!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband & I called in here for lunch today while on a visit to Newcastle today. We were made very welcome by the young waitress & she took the time to explain which of the dishes she would particularly recommend, given that we had said we were both extremely hungry after quite a long drive. My husband opted for the creole chicken burger, which is a lot more delicious & interesting than it sounds! It's a very tender, plump piece of chicken fillet served with salami, goats cheese, tobacco onions & comes with a side serving of chips (which are dry, crisp & very yummy!) He said it was one of the most unusual, delicious chicken burgers he has ever tasted. In fact, it wasn't so much like a chicken burger as a very flavoursome, delicious, unusually tasty chicken fillet with oomph!
I went for the chicken wrap dish which was also utterly delicious & packed full of taste & flavour. There were all kinds of different tastes...mango, a curried slaw & a sizeable piece of succulent white chicken cooked in a crispy tempura batter & all inside a very tasty wrap.
We had a latte each to finish & even these were better than the average latte you get in most places these days. Rich, smooth & made with just the perfect amount of milk & served with a delicious shortbread biscuit. The perfect end to a perfect meal!
We can highly recommend Vanilla in Newcastle & are already planning our next visit! It really was THAT good. We have visited other places to eat while we've been there & this place really is the best so far. They fully deserve their place at No.1 on Trip Advisor & if they continue to keep up these excellent high standards of superb food well cooked & presented & with very pleasant, helpful & friendly staff then there's absolutely no reason why they shouldn't stay at No.1 for a long time to come.
Cannot recommend highly enough! Well done to the young chef....you are to be commended on your choice & use of unusual taste & flavour combinations. They really work! We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gottaluvflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanillanewcastle, Manager at Vanilla Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Gottaluvflying,

I normally start these responses thanking our customers for their review, but all I can say here is wow. This is by far one of the most detailed reviews and most complimentary myself and the team at Vanilla have read in a long time.

We cannot thank you enough for the time and effort you have gone into with this review. You have covered every aspect of your experience in the most complimentary way. Every member of the team has read this review and felt the same about it, and there is no amount of thanks that can replenish the time you have put into it.

We will hope to see you again in Vanilla in the near future.

THANK YOU

Regards

Seamus Rooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Defo Worth A Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Ate in here with a group of friends recently and it was to die for!! I can honestly say I haven't had a nicer steak in a LONG time!! portion sizes were very good also! The meal deal is very good value, unfortunately the night we were in it was a very warm evening and none of the starters tickled my fancy! I had planned on getting a dessert but the main course were just sooo good I didn't have any room!! will most certainly be back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanillanewcastle, Manager at Vanilla Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi MyKingdom,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Vanilla on TA.

We are very pleased and grateful of your kind scores and comments about the restaurant. We are more thankful for your custom and the time you have taken to post your comments on this forum.

We will hope to see you in the near future, and maybe you will be able to stretch to that starter or dessert you missed. Thanks again.

Regards

Seamus Rooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So glad we chose Vanilla”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

During a recent day trip to Newcastle we were walking along the main street thinking of heading to Percy French. My wife liked the look of the menu at Vanilla so we headed in. The menu inside wasn't quite the same as outside for some reason, but more than enough to choose something we liked. We chose off the Early Bird menu, two courses for £15.95. I had the squid and beef salad to start, excellent, really well done and very interesting flavours. My wife had the spring rolls to start, excellent. I had the baked cod for main, again excellent and I can be fussy about fish. Any bones and I am off fish for weeks, but this was very nicely done, real melt in the mouth. Jill had the roast chicken and it was also excellent. One child had the chicken goujons and hoovered it, the other had creamy pasta and wasn't a massive fan. I wouldn't hold it against the pasta though, he was trying to branch out I think. Service was excellent, my 7 and 8 year old boys were happy with the lovely waitress. All in all, an excellent choice, and the range of flavours suggested that the chef really knows what he is doing and is prepared to offer taste combinations a little more interesting than the standard fare. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P_J_M_J_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanillanewcastle, Manager at Vanilla Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi P_J_M_J_8,

Thank you for your kind review, and more importantly thank you for choosing Vanilla.

We are all very pleased of the detail that you have gone into with your review. Also the fact you and the family enjoyed your experience with us is a great bonus.

The majority of our staff are parents and do find it rewarding when children come into the restaurant. It is sometimes quite difficult to cater for kids, we do aim to keep them as happy as possible so mum & dad can enjoy their meal. In regards to the menu outside the restaurant, we are sorry that you maybe opted for something on it and then had to change your mind. The menu is a collection of sample dishes we have done in the past and plan to do in the future, unfortunately it is impossible for us to change it every time we change our menu inside as we try to vary it as often as possible.

We are very pleased with your feedback and will hope to see you and your family in the near future.

Best wishes.

Regards

Seamus Rooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best meal we've had in a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This restaurant was suggested by our B and B. Food was creative and delicious. Good service. Excellent value for the money and even better if you do the Early Bird menu.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shantzie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanillanewcastle, Manager at Vanilla Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
hi Shantzie67,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Vanilla on TA.

We are very grateful for the time you have put in to recommending Vanilla on such a widely used and public forum. If you are in the area again please do not hesitate to call in.

Once again, thank you for your custom and the time you spent placing your review.

Best wishes

Seamus Rooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanilla Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Vanilla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing