We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT FIND”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vanilla Restaurant

Vanilla Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Newcastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A GREAT FIND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We came across this restaurant last week while staying in Newcastle for a few days.it was a great find and I'm glad we booked for the Tuesday night as it was packed out. Under the management of Seamus , everything was very good. The waiting staff were most attentive , the food was absolutely delicious and presented well.My husband and I went for the 3 course early - bird menu and we were presented with a real treat.We will be back for the dining experience and wish other restaurants would give them a visit to see how it SHOULD be done !!! Thanks to the whole Vanilla team.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyttlemo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanillanewcastle, Manager at Vanilla Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hi littlemo,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Vanilla on TA.

There are so many positives within your review we cannot thank you enough. All of these reviews are monitored by all staff, and there is always an air of nervousness when a new one appears. The fact you have covered so many aspects in the review about menus, staff and food is just fantastic.

I would also like to thank you for the personal mention, it also means a lot. All of the team work long hard hours and to be recognised by yourself on this kind of public forum is even more of a bonus.

We will look forward to seeing you in the future, and we will promise to continue to keep working hard so your origional experience is repeated over and over again.

Thank you again.

Regards

Seamus Rooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    133
    32
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“I can see why this is rated number 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

A group of golfers visited this gem on June 8 th we were unanimous in awe of the fabulous food and service I strongly recommend the unusual squid beef starter which was amazing surf and turf main also special this eatery is a must thank you from all the lads Paul tick

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ticksq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanillanewcastle, Manager at Vanilla Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hi Paul,

Thank you for posting your review of Vanilla.

We are pleased that yourself and your group decided to dine with us on the evening in question after your round. All of the gents at your table were a pleasure to serve, and definitely made our night more interesting and enjoyable.

We will hope to see you again in the future if you happen to be planning another excursion.

Once again thank you for your review, best wishes.

Seamus Rooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hidden jem at the foot of the mournes on the sea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

cant recommend this restaurant more highly! Difficult to choose on the menu, everything sounds fab!! Super friendly professional staff. great atmosphere and very reasonably priced.

cant wait to return!

Helpful?
Thank andrea376
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vanillanewcastle, Manager at Vanilla Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hi Andrea,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TA.

We are very pleased with your review of the restaurant and will definitely look forward to seeing you in the near future.

All feedback is greatly appreciated, and the fact you have taken time out of your day to post a review is more than generous.

Regards

Seamus Rooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
castlewellan
2 reviews
“Great Restraunt with Fine food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Was here with friends four weeks ago and had an evening meal that was excellent. Presentation also. Very pleasant staff and good value for the standard of food . Would highly recommend it.
Had lunch again today an no complaints. So Vanilla Restraunt keep up the standard. We enjoyed today and lunch menu has a great variety reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coolcookie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanillanewcastle, Manager at Vanilla Restaurant, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hi Coolcookie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Vanilla.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you personally for your kind comments and review of the restaurant. I am also pleased you decided to dine with us twice on your trip and will look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best wishes.

Seamus Rooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I had a meal in Vanilla on Saturday 18 May 2013 - it was fabulous. Pleasant and attentive staff, wonderful food. Menu not extensive but quality superb. Will be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanillanewcastle, Manager at Vanilla Restaurant, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Wendy M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TA.

On behalf of the restaurant and the staff I would like to thank you for your kind comments.

It is the positive reviews like yours that helps to keep staff morale at a high. Being complimented is one thing but when people take the time out to write and contribute to this particular medium it makes all the hard work that wee bit more rewarding.

Once again, thank you and we will look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thank you again.

Regards

Seamus Rooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanilla Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle, County Down
Newcastle, County Down
 
Newcastle, County Down
 

Been to Vanilla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing