We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High level B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 19 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“High level B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this beautiful B&B during our walking holidays in the Mourne Mountains. Upon arrival we received tea and delicious cake and lots of information about the vicinity, walks (f.i. how to reach the starting points, maps,...), places to eat (the Maghera Inn: quality food at reasonable prices, only five minutes by car, we had 3 of our 4 meals there) .The twin room we stayed in was very beautiful, spacious (separate dressing) with very good beds and all necessary requirements. Rooms are situated in the back garden, so there was no noise at all during our whole stay. We highly recommend the cooked breakfast and packed lunches which provided us enough energy to tackle our walks.
Throughout our whole stay Claire and Brian took plenty of time to answer all our questions or give us tips or ask us how the walk has been during the day, which we appreciated a lot.
By there personalised and friendly approach Claire and Brian made us feel like home and through this way I want to congratulate them with their excellent B&B.

Room Tip: Bathroom has separate shower Tea and coffee facilities in the room Enough carparking space in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
You both certainly did a lot of walking in the mountains; even though the weather was not great on your second day you still made a brilliant effort climbing Binian. We loved having you both stay with us and thanks for the terrific review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
71
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We spent Saturday night at Mountain View B&B following the airshow in Newcastle. We booked in prior to the airshow and received a very warm welcome and a lovely cup of tea and some cake which was very much appreciated. The house was immaculate and our room was lovely with a great view of Slieve Donnard, There is a beautiful well kept garden with a magnificent monkey puzzle tree. On Sunday morning we had a great breakfast to set us up for the day ahead which was lovely. Brian and Claire were wonderful hosts and we would highly recommend the Mountain View B&B to anyone looking to spend time in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Yes, the Red Arrows put on a great display, a real treat. Thank you so much for a great review, it is really appreciated when guest write telling us that they enjoy staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Mountain View B&B and everything was absolutely perfect. Brian and Claire were lovely hosts and most helpful in providing information on the areas hiking and walking trails. The breakfasts were superb! We really appreciated being away from the busyness of the downtown area and after a full tour of Ireland and some very nice B&Bs, we would rate this as one of the nicest we stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank heathergm m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the mountain trails in the Mourne Mountains. We love walking the mountains as they are so accessible and the scenery is wonderful. Your review of Mountain View was truly appreciated, many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The grounds are beautiful and the house and room were wonderful. Everything is neat and clean and inviting. The food was spectacular. We are already making plans to bring our grown children and their significant others back to Mountain View.
We actually had a hard time leaving to move on to our next destination spot, but know already that we will be back to stay at Mountain View. Brian and Claire go out of their way to make your Ireland experience the best!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonidebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
What a great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Ireland and were pleased that you were so appreciative. We look forward to seeing you again should you decide to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omagh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just spent Saturday night at Mountain View b and b.
It was 1st class. My wife and I attended a wedding in Tullymore Forest Park and the reception was at the Burrendale.
We checked in after the ceremony , and as we were told when booking by Claire we were within walking distance of the hotel. We had no need to worry about walking as Brian said he had been waiting for us to arrive and he would give us a lift on his way to the shop. Where else would you get personal service like that?
They have the most beautiful home, with lots of lovely souvenirs they have collected on their travels. Our room looked out over their beautiful very well kept garden.
We were asked what time for breakfast and decided that we should leave in to near 10 oclock, this of course was no problem for Claire and Brian. We were asked how many sausages and how many rashers we would like. For us this was a great idea cause there is nothing like sitting down to a big plate you cant finish. 1st class people with 1st class b and b.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nmaarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
WE were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mountain View. The review you wrote was most appreciated and we'd love to see you both again if you decide to revisit Newcastle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was an amazing find!
Our welcome was very warm!
Brian and Claire couldn't have been more kind and helpful.
The beds were comfy, showers fantastic and breakfasts brilliant! What more could you wish for?
Thank you so much. If you don't go there you will miss a gem!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPOrmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It was such a pity that the weather was not the best on your climb up Sleive Donard but you did it and hopeful the weather was better on the other mountains you were to tackle on your sponsored climbs. It was great having you stay with us and many thanks for writing such a positive review. We do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is the second year my 10 year old daughter and I have visited Mountain View B & B. On both occasions the service, accomodation, and food were to an excellent standard. We highly recommend Mountain View B & B. My daughter is already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: There are two rooms available: one twin, one double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We loved having you both stay with us and look forward to your next visit. We found your daughter a delight and so easy to chat away to. It is so pleasing that you enjoy staying with us and enjoy exploring the countryside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#14 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 19 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 74 Castlewellan Road | Northern Ireland Tourist Board 4 STAR, Newcastle BT33 0JP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to the coastal town of Newcastle and situated for great walking breaks in the Mourne Mountains, Mountain View is ideally situated for exploring our beautiful area. With the mountains, the coastline, the forest parks and a world renowned golf course on our doorstep, what more could you want for a magical introduction to the Down countryside? We have two tastefully decorated bedrooms and a large residents' lounge and are able to offer an intimate service to ensure your stay is memorable. Our guests' entrance is independent from the main house and with your own keys you are free to come and go as you wish.WE HAVE BEEN AWARDED A 4 STAR RATING BY THE NORTHERN IRELAND TOURIST BOARD ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing