We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding accommodation and hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The accommodation is located on the Castlewellan Road just outside Newcastle. It appears to be a modest cottage from the roadside but the accommodation is located to the rear of the property. It has its own separate access through a delightful well manicured garden. The accommodation has wonderful views looking towards the Mournes.
There are 2 beautiful bedrooms accessed from a lounge dedicated to guests. This would be ideal for a family or 2 couples. The rooms are tastefully decorated and well equipped.
The welcome by Claire & Brian was warm and a cup of tea with home made cake was provided when we arrived.
The room was quiet and the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast was outstanding with a choice of cereals and fruit. The breakfast was cooked to order and was perfect. We even had toast made from freshly cooked home made bread. There was a choice of home made jam and marmalade.
We would strongly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EI_McN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

What a fantastic review - Claire & I were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It is great for us to hear such positive comments. We appreciate you taking the time to write and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We both had a great time. The food was amazing. Claire and Brian where very friendly yet gave us our space in their lovely home. We go back, as so near all the natural beauty of the Mountains and handy to local hotels.
Thank you so much Claire and Brian and hope to see you in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nathalia byrne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we did appreciate all the lovely comments you made. Hope to see you both again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Mountain VIew is absolutely beautiful, Brian and Claire could not be more welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is second to none, including fresh raspberries from tha garden and home made wheaten bread. Just perfect. We would highly recommend to anyone and hope to return ourselves in the near future. Many thanks, see you soon.

Room Tip: Beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean with all mod cons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for such an excellent review. We did appreciate it and would love to have you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Claire and Brian have a beautiful home which they adapted to provide superb B & B hospitality. It was a brief but excellent stay with all the comforts of home. However, the special ingredient is their personal charm and good company. We were able to relax in the large lounge and chat with our hosts who quickly made us feel very welcome. After a great night's sleep in a very comfortable room, we were provided with a terrific cooked breakfast while being able to look out at the view of the mountains. We commend Claire and Brian and highly recommend Mountain View B & B to prospective visitors to one of Ireland most beautiful areas.

Mike & Anne Barnaville (Hampshire UK)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

It was a brief visit but we enjoyed your company and conversations and hope that some day you will come and stay with us agai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Probably the best B&B I've ever stayed in! We are a family with 2 kids aged 9 & 5. The self-contained unit of 2 rooms and a communal lounge is perfect for small family - feels like your own apartment. Fantastic hospitality from Brian & Claire, brilliant breakfast cooked to order. Lovely rooms, beautiful garden with direct view of the Mournes which the kids were allowed to play in..... I could go... If you want a B&B for the Mournes/Newcastle this is the one! The kids wanted to know when we would be back.. even before we left. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank markjacqui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

It was lovely to have you stay with us again. We were so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We again had a very warm welcome when we arrived last Monday at Mountain View. Brian and Claire were as we had previously experienced most helpful, offering tea just about every time we came in! Again we found everything about our stay just excellent! Rooms were lovely - bright, spotless and comfortable, breakfasts were fantastic and the garden was a beautiful haven we could explore and enjoy the glorious sunshine in! We spent a lovely relaxing few days and would have loved to have stayed longer. Thank you very much Brian & Claire we certainly would look forward to coming back again. John & Maureen.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor suitable for all ages! Also a room for use of guests to sit in and relax in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 874John33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

It was great to receive your review. You are so right, it is a lovely area to explore and walking in the mountains is a great experience. If you are in our area again we hope you will visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My friend and I love walking and everything outdoorsy! The Mountain View Bed and Breakfast is situated in a beautiful spot with views of the mountains. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable - Claire and Brian were very helpful in making sure we got the best out of our holiday. The breakfasts were really good - ample to set us up for the day walking. We received a warm welcome on arrival, and throughout the 3 night stay Claire and Brian were always on hand to offer advice and tips around walking and exploring the local area. There is plenty to see and do in the way of mountain climbing, forests and other beautiful local areas. Newcastle town with shops, pubs and restaurants is a 20 minute walk away or a short taxi ride. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Claire and Brian and would definitely recommend their accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LynnFarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your walking into the mountains and the forest parks - there are so many walks to enjoy. Thank you for staying with us, it is great when visitors appreciate all there is to see in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
163 reviews
1.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
31 reviews
3.3 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 74 Castlewellan Road | Northern Ireland Tourist Board 4 STAR, Newcastle BT33 0JP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: $49 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to the coastal town of Newcastle and situated for great walking breaks in the Mourne Mountains, Mountain View is ideally situated for exploring our beautiful area. With the mountains, the coastline, the forest parks and a world renowned golf course on our doorstep, what more could you want for a magical introduction to the Down countryside? We have two tastefully decorated bedrooms and a large residents' lounge and are able to offer an intimate service to ensure your stay is memorable. Our guests' entrance is independent from the main house and with your own keys you are free to come and go as you wish.WE HAVE BEEN AWARDED A 4 STAR RATING BY THE NORTHERN IRELAND TOURIST BOARD ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing