We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brian & Claire - our new friends!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 19 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Brian & Claire - our new friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Thank you Brian & Claire for making us feel so at home in your lovely B&B. We booked this 4 star B&B from reading previous reviews and the fact it only has 2 ensuite rooms (a double & a twin), along with its own private large sitting room, with TV, solid fuel stove and wonderful views out to an amazing garden with the Mourne mountains as a back-drop! We booked both rooms for 2 nights but could easily have stayed a week! Brian & Claire are there for their guests to make sure they have everything they need, give information about the walks in the area, providing a map of the Mournes and when you return, they love to hear how you got on whilst offering tea/coffee & homemade cake!! We felt like we were visiting friends for a few days, its hard to think that there will be other guests staying after we left, as Brian & Claire made us feel as we were their 'special' and 'only' guests. I am sure everyone goes away feeling the same! Will be back. We still have so much to see and walks to do in Newcastle & Co. Down. Thanks very much, from the McDermott family, Co. Derry.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely, with power showers in both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Wow, we are overwhelmed! Thank you so much for this fantastic review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
71
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We made a last minute booking here and were warmly greeted by Brian. The accommodation is excellen! Would be perfect for 2 couples or a family as a very comfortable living room joins the two bedrooms where guests would have their own self contained accommodation. Breakfast was gorgeous, Claire made sure we had everything we needed including homemade bread and always a fresh pot of tea! The amazing gardens have a fabulous view of Slieve Donard. Claire and Brian made our stay really enjoyable. Only wish we could of stayed for longer. We will definitely be back! Best B&B I've stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDilworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and grateful that you took the time to write a such a lovely review. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I and our adult daughter stayed here overnight while attending a wedding in nearby Newcastle - our only regret is that we didnt have longer time to spend. Brian and Claire are very attentive hosts and their home is beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and ensuite bedrooms are very confortable and well appointed. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and there are choices of fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals beautfully laid out on a side table.
We will certainly book with them again if we are ever back in Newcastle and will recommend them to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for a really positive review. Claire & I were very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Contacted Claire the owner and on booking agreed an early arrival. On arriving we were greeted by Claire and her husband Brian (joint owners) and offered coffee/tea. We were in a hurry so shown to our bedroom immediately, which was spacious and immaculately clean and had a wonderful en-suite. Bed after arriving from a party was really comfortable. At breakfast the following morning we were told to help ourselves to a choice of fresh fruit salad, yoghurts and cereal, while a fantastic cooked breakfast was prepared (no grease here - thank goodness). We love our coffee and were supplied in abundance.
The owners Brian and Claire were super hosts and we were really made to feel at home in this super well equipped bed and breakfast. The owners were really friendly and couldn't do enough for Alison and I.
Take a tip - never mind the Slieve Donard, The Burrendale or The Donard Hotel and stay here - far superior and in peak season for two - £70 per night for Bed and Breakfast it is well worth it. Never thought I would say I would come back to Newcastle for a staycation - we certainly will if we can stay here again.
To Brian and Claire - we will be back for sure and many thanks for your hospitality and a welcome stay!

Alison and Trevor

Room Tip: Simple - stay here and forget expensive hotels and also enjoy the wonderful views and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theblackwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
It's having reviews like this that make what we do so worthwhile. We loved having you both stay with us and enjoyed all the coversations we had over the two days. It is great that you enjoyed yourself at our B&B and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I had the most amazing stay with Claire and Brian at their beautiful home, Mountain View, where I was for a wedding. Everything was up to the most incredible standards and they couldn't have been a more welcoming couple if they had tried - from tea and cake on arrival - to dropping me at various venues over the weekend. I felt like I was at home or staying with close friends. The room was so comfortable and I wished I could take the shower home with me. This was without doubt the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Claire and Brian were always on hand to advise where was best to go in the area, what to do, to lend an iron or offer another cup of tea. It was a very special weekend all in all and I would definitely go and stay with this lovely couple again! It such a beautiful place - definitely worth a visit!

Thanks Claire and Brian for being superstars.

Laura, 28, London.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurielaurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
What a great review. We were so pleased that you thought so highly of us and can assure you that the sentiment was mutual. It is so nice when someone comes to our area for the first time and enjoys what it has to offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our second stay at this amazing bed and breakfast. And my did the owners, Brian and Claire, exceed our already high expectations. Everything about our stay here was flawless. The full breakfast we received each morning filled me up till dinner time ( a miracles say anyone who knows me). Brian and Claire gave 120% into making everything perfect for us. So my tips when here are some must-dos ; have a Seaweed bath at Soaks, get a window seat at Mauds, enjoy the promenade and loads of ice-cream!

Room Tip: Both rooms are brilliant, the one at left hand side is even quieter. I dont mean the one on rhs is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinbirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We were highly delighted to received such a glowing report and enjoyed having you all to stay with us again. It makes it all worth while. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I recently had a little group of four stay in this B&B as we toured up through the north of Ireland. Without a doubt this was the best B&B booking that I made for the week we spent in Ireland. From the moment we arrived, Claire and Brian couldn`t have been more welcoming. Coffee and tea with homemade biscuits was the perfect start to the stay. The rooms were beautiful, clean and bright with every comfort you could ask for.
If you are considering a break in the Mournes, make Mountain View your first choice....my advice is stay as long as you can, you won`t regret it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bighairyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Manager at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for booking four of your group with us. They were good fun to have staying with us and we enjoyed spending time with them. We are glad that they enjoyed their stay. Thanks for such a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle
1.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#6 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.4 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.3 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#11 of 19 in Newcastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Mourne Lodge
The Mourne Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kilkeel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Address: 74 Castlewellan Road | Northern Ireland Tourist Board 4 STAR, Newcastle BT33 0JP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to the coastal town of Newcastle and situated for great walking breaks in the Mourne Mountains, Mountain View is ideally situated for exploring our beautiful area. With the mountains, the coastline, the forest parks and a world renowned golf course on our doorstep, what more could you want for a magical introduction to the Down countryside? We have two tastefully decorated bedrooms and a large residents' lounge and are able to offer an intimate service to ensure your stay is memorable. Our guests' entrance is independent from the main house and with your own keys you are free to come and go as you wish.WE HAVE BEEN AWARDED A 4 STAR RATING BY THE NORTHERN IRELAND TOURIST BOARD ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing