We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B, perfect hosts, 5 stars”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Myself and my friends stayed here in August 2011 ahead of an early morning climb of Slieve Donard. We had got unexpectedly delayed and were extremely late in arriving (it was almost midnight) and our hosts were totally understanding about it.

As we were starting out on Donard at 6AM, our hosts agreed to keep breakfast until we would return around 11AM. And they also left out fruit for us to bring with us in the morning. On the trek up Donard, we got soaked to the skin in some terrible weather. Upon returning to the B&B, despite it being long past checkpout time, we were able to have hot showers while our breakfast was being prepared, and our hosts even took our wet clothes and dried them for us...
The service was quite simply far above and beyond the call of duty.

The B&B is in a separate living area behind the main house and consists of a beautiful sitting room with two ensuite bedrooms adjacent. The sitting room is an ideal place to chill out for an evening with a nice bottle of wine and it is beautifully decorated with the most esquisit memoribilia from the owners travels in India, the pacific islands and such exotic places...

The location is a couple of miles outside Newcastle, so don't expect to be in walking distance of the town, but if you want a lovely place to stay, don't look past Mountain View...

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globe_grotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

Wow, we were so pleased and indeed amazed to see your review in our in-box today. Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments. They have made us feel so good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in this bed and breakfast with our 20 month old daughter. We felt very welcome from the instant we arrived. Our room was very clean and presentable and we were grateful that we did not have to bring a travel cot as it was provided. Brian and Claire were very easy to talk to and gave us great advice on what to see in the local area. We enjoy walking so Castlewellan and Tullamore parks were right up our street. Both parks were only a 5-10 minute drive from the B&B. The breakfast was excellent. Brian and Claire went out of their way to make porridge for our daughter even though it was not on the menu. Overall nothing seemed to be too much bother for them. Over our 2 night stay they could not have been more accommodating. We would definitely recommend this B&B for a nice relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved having your daughter; she was wonderful. Thanks for taking the time to wtie the review. We hope to see you all in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We have stayed in many b&bs over the years;but this has been the best. And the reason for that is the owners, Brian and Claire. To say they go the extra mile is an understatement. They couldnt do enough to help us, even lighting the woodburner for us every night. Even the tourist information file was hand-made by them, and exhaustive. The location was great and close enough to Newcastle, yet far out enough to be peaceful. Lovely scenery from the garden,which is also full of birds. Our room was spotless and the beds luxurious. Breakfast was great too. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: We chose the "back room" to ensure it was extra quiet. But i would say all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinbirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

We were absolutely delighted to read your review and glad that you enjoyed staying with us so much. We loved having you stay and hope to see you both again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We can only repeat the many high recommendations already left about Mountain View Bed & Breakfast and Brian and Claire.
We stayed for 3 nights in late Sept.
The warm welcome we received on arrival was lovely after a few hours of driving/sightseeing. We were offered tea/coffee/cake/biscuits and a wealth of information on the local area and where to eat etc and we felt at home straight away.
The en-suite room was very comfortable and well furnished/decorated. The room had a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. There is a lovely guest lounge and this is also where you have the lovely breakfasts, full range of breakfast items; fresh fruit, cereals, tea/coffee, fruit juice, toast, home made jams and then your own selection of cooked items.
We were staying in Newcastle for a friends wedding and Brian offered to drive us to the reception so we could leave our car at the B&B. We had a key to the guest entrance/guest lounge so that we were able to come and go as we pleased, which helped when we rolled in quite late on the night of our friends wedding.
The B&B is a short drive from Newcastle beach and town, with plenty of places to eat in the evening.
We cannot fault anything about our stay. When we are next in Ireland we would not hesitate to book again.
Best wishes to Brian and Claire
Joelle and Neil

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuJuLongland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Thanks for such a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

...was just one of the delights. Goldfish in fact. Then you look up from the fish and you really do get a lovely view of the lake. Brian and Claire were very friendly and welcoming - made you feel right at home. The accommodation is clean and very presentable, and all well thought out - stylish without being trendy or gaudy. The breakfast set you up for the day and the stove was a wonderful treat in the evening. Will certainly visit again.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
Thank ChrisKen196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and spared the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We arrived 'out of the blue' one afternoon after a change of plan and immediately felt welcome. We were shown our room and en-suite - both excellent, and given coffee and cake in the very comfortable residents lounge. More importantly we were given advice and a map so that we could go straight out for a walk. When we returned - a couple of 'drowned rats' we were given more coffee and cake and our sodden boots and clothes taken away for drying. We slept well and the breakfast was excellent. What more can you ask!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelinda4349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

Thanks for your review.
We went for a walk today and were lucky enough to get some sunshine! We have such unpredictable weather at this time of year. The summer is now behind us unfortunately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

You must stay here if you want great food, lovely accommodation, with excellent facilities including a comfortable guest lounge, five minutes for a town with great choice of restaurents, a beach and ten minutes from the mountians that do actually sweep down to the sea!
The hosts are very friendly and helpful, with lots of tips to get the most out of your stay.
We were retreating from the hurrican which was battering North West Ireland, so picked this B&B when simply driving past. Could not have chosen or booked a better place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_IrelandMarmalade, Owner at Mountain View Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2011

It was great having you stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.3 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
131 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#8 of 18 in Newcastle
30 reviews
3.3 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 74 Castlewellan Road | Northern Ireland Tourist Board 4 STAR, Newcastle BT33 0JP, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: $49 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to the coastal town of Newcastle and situated for great walking breaks in the Mourne Mountains, Mountain View is ideally situated for exploring our beautiful area. With the mountains, the coastline, the forest parks and a world renowned golf course on our doorstep, what more could you want for a magical introduction to the Down countryside? We have two tastefully decorated bedrooms and a large residents' lounge and are able to offer an intimate service to ensure your stay is memorable. Our guests' entrance is independent from the main house and with your own keys you are free to come and go as you wish.WE HAVE BEEN AWARDED A 4 STAR RATING BY THE NORTHERN IRELAND TOURIST BOARD ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain View Bed & Breakfast Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing