We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever”
Review of Amble In B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amble In B&B
Ranked #2 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Colm & frances are the loveliest people you could ever neet warm and friendly always smile, the room was modern and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was gorgous, ask to go see the upside down hill only 9 in the uk you actually roll up the hill in a car its crazy has you thinking also went to see the biggest maize allow yourself hours lol the mourne mountains are a lovely sight and the promenade is clean and lots down there including a lovely fish and chip shop I actually went here because colm was selling his car I thought it was newcastle near durham lol but it all fell in too place I called he said he had a B&B so that was booked we got a plane and it all turned out to be the best holiday we have had we are getting married shortly and next year we are booking our first anniversary there :0)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5100heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hi 5100heaven; thank you very much for taking the time to post your fantastic review. We truly appreciate your great comments regarding,” the room was modern and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was gorgeous”. We try to make our guests feel special and take great pride in our Irish freshly cooked breakfast and the service we provide.
We like our guests to leave with memories of the hidden gems of the area, they are not in any guide book or map, and it’s down to old fashioned local knowledge.
We wish you all the best on your wedding day and look forward to meeting you next year on your 1st anniversary.
Thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B accommodation for your short break in Newcastle.
Kindest regards from
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 161 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you want friendly service, delicious breakfast, spotless rooms and a great location--then don't hesitate to book this delightful B&B. Our gracious hosts, Colm & Francis, went out of their way to make sure our visit was perfect! We had two rooms and both were spotless, modern and fresh! The breakfast was made-to-order and delicious! The location was within walking distance of this lovely town. Colm and Francis were very knowledgeable about the area and were happy to suggest activities and restaurants. We had a wonderful stay with them and if we ever get back to Newcastle, we would stay there again!

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally great! Very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CircleofFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hi Circleoffriends; Thank you for posting such a fantastic review; In this business we welcome many guests, some we remember for different reasons but you guys we will remember for the fun and great times we had on your short visit.
The M*****’s and Mrs Do**** were overwhelmed you went so far out of your way to visit while in Ireland.
We are always happy to share our local knowledge and provide maps and books on local history.
I know you would make the journey from Minnesota to Newcastle again, just for the freshly cooked Irish breakfast, in which we take great pride.
Please don’t leave it so long to your next visit.
Kindest regards from Colm and Frances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband, dog and I stayed in the amble in for 4 nights, ( although we had only booked for 3) we found the owners Colm and Frances to be very welcoming and obliging, nothing was too much bother to them. They had a lovely kennel provided in there back garden for our dog, (very few places offer this) which was secure, behind a locked gate. We went for a relaxing break and for walks with our dog, which Colm was more than happy to help us with, planning our route up the beautiful sleeve Donard mountain and in the surrounding parks, he provided us with more than enough information and maps from his extensive range to help us along our way.
The room we stayed in was beautiful, it was very clean, modern and bright with an equally modern en suite. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in away from home. Also provided was tea and coffee making facilities and little biscuits. (Exactly what you need after a nice walk in the mournes). There is also a dining room available with all you need if you wanted to take food in with you instead of making use of the extensive eateries in Newcastle, or simply to sit in and relax with a little drink in the evening.
The breakfast in the morning was amazing and exactly what was needed to set you up for the day.
The amble in is in the very heart of Newcastle town (handy for everything) and I would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling to the area, and we will most definitely be revisiting Colm and Frances in the very near future....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hi Josie, Roy and Bruno, thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review. We truly appreciate your great comments regarding “very welcoming and obliging, nothing was too much bother” and “The bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in away from home”. We try to make our guests feel special and take great pride the service we provide.
We are happy to share our local knowledge, books, maps and point out the interesting places that are not marked on any map; it makes your stay more interesting.
Thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B for your short break walking in the Mournes and we hope to welcome you again soon and maybe I will share the views from the top of Slieve Donard with you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

There was a problem with our booking, probably caused by my oversight in not reading all the way through the Amble In website after a long day searching for pet friendly accommodation on the NI tourist board website. And whilst Colm did help us find another place and was helpful in planning our assault on Slieve Donard we never felt comfortable here - a feeling not helped by the soul-less Glen Room or the laminated list of "Don'ts" left out for guests which made us feel like we were in a detention camp. A very average breakfast too! Our only really disappointing stop in Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

This review does not reflect the comfort and hospitality of our B&B.
Mr Grubb booked a three night stay and arrived with a three year old Collie dog (not booked into our kennel) which he expected he could sleep with while his wife slept in a separate bed, We have morals and ethics and sleeping with a dog is not morally right, and a unhealthy and unhygienic habit. It clearly states on our site in two places “we do not allow animals in our home” despite reading this he insisted in booking with us and expected us to adhere to his request.
However; we did find him alternative accommodation that would condone such behaviour, but he insisted on staying one night and spent the evening in his car with his dog, while his wife and daughter enjoyed the comfort of our home and our hospitality.
All I want to say on this nightmare is he and the dog left a trail in devastation behind. We are now thinking of closing our kennels to guests, they are just not worth the aggravation when you meet someone like Mr. Grub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I arrived in Newcastle to walk in the mountains and discovered I had booked the perfect accommodation with Colm and Frances, as another reviewer says, 'the friendliest people in the business'. Let's see... affordable and great value; large, comfortable, well kept room; very quiet, though only a short walk from the main street restaurants, the promenade and the beach. Easy to park; lovely filling breakfast and plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits in the room; an impressive library of local information and perfectly placed for walking in the Mournes. Colm gave me a lot of useful advice on walking in an area I hadn't visited in many years and I had a breathtaking experience of the beauty of the mountains. I wholeheartedly recommend Amble In, absolutely top notch accommodation and service!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hi Bob, thank you for your fantastic review, we were delighted the weather held for your days walking in the Mournes.
We like our guests to have a good breakfast before tackling the Mourne range.
Our library of books, charts and maps is available to all our guests whether for information / history on the area or for the serious walker to plan a route.
Thank you for choosing the Amble In for your break in the Mournes and hope to greet you again soon.
Kind regards
Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at Colm and Frances Mc Clean's Amble Inn B&B the night before leaving for the US. You will not meet any friendlier or more accommodating couple in all your travels. The room was clean, comfortable size, and the accompanying en suite was modern, clean and well appointed.

This couple went out of their way to assist me, including taking me to the bus station, and even checking up on the family gravestone, to assure that my husband's name was appropriately added to the slate. Colm enjoys being a tour guide, he is very knowledgeable about the area. And because Newcastle is home to one of the most prestigious golf courses in Ireland, The Royal County Down, Colm even provides extra clubs to practice on Newcastle's miniature golf course!

I highly recommend this delightful couple's accommodation, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, one is completely designed for handicapped or disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hi Terry, thank you very much for taking the time to post your fantastic review. We truly appreciate your great comments regarding the help you received while on your visit to Newcastle, We try to make our guests feel special and take great pride in the service we provide.
If there is anything further you would like us to do or check out?, please e-mail and we will do our utmost to accommodate.
We look forward to meeting you on your next visit and thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B.
Regards from Ireland
Colm and Frances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a very enjoyable 4 day stay in Newcastle in early May. Amble In is a first class B&B. Colm and Frances made us feel very welcome; each evening we returned from a superb day walking in the Mournes, by morning our wet gear had been dried out and a good breakfast set us on our way again. Enjoyed chatting to Colm and Frances and they were rightly proud and happy to share their knowledge of the local area to make our stay even more rewarding.
Very comfortable in Shimna Room. Ideal location for nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hi Derek, thank you very much for taking the time to post your fantastic review. We truly appreciate your great comments regarding the dry cloths and the breakfast each morning, we try to make our guests feel special and take great pride in the service we provide.

We are happy to share our local knowledge and point out the interesting places that are not marked on any map; we are glad it made your visit more interesting, it was rewarding for us.

Thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B accommodation for your short break walking in the Mournes and we hope to greet you again soon.

Regards

Colm and Frances

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#8 of 18 in Newcastle
30 reviews
2 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble In B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble In B&B

Address: 14 Bryansford Gardens, Newcastle BT33 0EQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range: $42 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Amble In you will be assured of a very warm welcome to this recently renovated and beautifully decorated B&B in the heart of Newcastle, just 5 minute walk from the main street, promenade and the Royal County Down golf course. This welcome extends to Hill walkers, golfers and Geochachers, lots of caches in interesting places. Newcastle and surrounding area is steeped in history, 12th and 13th century Anglo-Norman castles, Churches and round Towers, Passage burial caves, Dolmens, Follies, Cashels, Souterrains and The St Patrick's Trail, or ride the last Steam train in County Down all within a 12 mile radius. Historic books and leaflets on the Heritage trail and St Patrick are available from our library. Come on hire a bike and see for yourself. Pick up and drop off service is available to golfers and hill walkers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amble In Hotel Newcastle
Amble In Bed And Breakfast
Amble In B&B Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing