We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carol j. you will not get any better......”
Review of Amble In B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amble In B&B
Ranked #2 of 18 Newcastle B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carol j. you will not get any better......”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were a party of four, come over for a wedding. As soon as we arrived Colm @ Frances, treated us as if we were old friends, they made us feel so welcome.Our rooms were spotless and modern. The breakfasts were amazing, they filled us up ready to start the day.Colm, even took time out of his busy day, to take us to see some beautiful places, that we would never have found ourselves, his knowledge of the Mourne Mountains and the surrounding areas was very interesting!!! We hope to make another visit soon, and look forward to staying at the Amble In
Many thanks to Frances and Colm.xx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi Carol J.
Thank you for such a positive review. It was nice to know that your first visit to Northern Ireland was such a success and that we helped to contribute to it. We do get a great deal of satisfaction when guests enjoy all that the area has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit, thank you for choosing the Amble In for your visit.
Regards Colm and Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
68
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have been all over europe,stayed in hundreds off B&B guest houses and the Amble Inn was by far the BEST YET..I always wanted to visit the Mourne Mountains and play a round off golf on the famous Royal County Down Course and with Colm's local knowledge he made my experience the best ever..
Thank you Colm and Frances

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColmMcClean, Owner at Amble In B&B, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad your short break with us was so memorable. The Mourns are so enjoyable when the weather is in your favour. I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future, and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Amble In B&B for your short break.
Regards Colm & Frances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Excellent B&B with nice new rooms and baths. Frances and Colm are wonderful hosts! Truly nice and helpful folks that really want you to have a good time. They also make a great Irish breakfast that will get your day started. Is a great base for golfing or touring the amazingly beautiful County Down/ Mourne Mountains. Minutes from Royal County Down Golf Club (played it twice) and about 25 minutes form Ardglass Golf Club (a beautiful hidden gem any golfer should add to trip ). I will definitely visit the McClean's Amble In on my next visit to N. ireland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golf Explorer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We visted Amble In during St Patric's weekend. It was really great time. We enjoyed it very much. Colm and Francis created a very nice atmosphere. The room and the bathroom were very high standard and breakfast was amazing. Colm suggested many places to visit. We didn't have a chance to see all of them but we're planning to come back soon. We would like to stay in Amble In again. We recommend Amble In to anyone going to Newcastle!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katarzyna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franeker, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Colm and Francis understood the art of the proper distance and proximity. Colm did much to say about walking and history of the region. Furthermore, the breakfast was very good, as was the rest of my stay. Newcaste has offered me much for my short hiking. When I go back to Newcastle, then again in the Amble.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johan843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Colm & Francis made this visit much better than I could have imagined. Very helpful with places to go and things to see that you wouldn't find in any travel book. The B&B itself was nicely kept and the breakfast was great. With the close proximity to Royal County Down and no more than a 5-10 minute walk to some exceptional restaurants in the city, I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. Will definitely recommend to anyone planning a trip to the area!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Had wonderful time at the Amble In B&B- owners were very helpful, friendly- everything you would want at a B&B. My wife and I will have no hesitation returning again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williamcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
0.1 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Briers Country House
Briers Country House
#7 of 16 in Newcastle
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cherryhill Lodge
Cherryhill Lodge
#1 of 18 in Newcastle
196 reviews
2.0 mi away
St Patrick's Stream
St Patrick's Stream
#17 of 18 in Newcastle
35 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Haven Newcastle
The Haven Newcastle
#9 of 18 in Newcastle
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble In B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble In B&B

Property: Amble In B&B
Address: 14 Bryansford Gardens, Newcastle BT33 0EQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newcastle
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Amble In you will be assured of a very warm welcome to this recently renovated and beautifully decorated B&B in the heart of Newcastle, just 5 minute walk from the main street, promenade and the Royal County Down golf course. This welcome extends to Hill walkers, golfers and Geochachers, lots of caches in interesting places. Newcastle and surrounding area is steeped in history, 12th and 13th century Anglo-Norman castles, Churches and round Towers, Passage burial caves, Dolmens, Follies, Cashels, Souterrains and The St Patrick's Trail, or ride the last Steam train in County Down all within a 12 mile radius. Historic books and leaflets on the Heritage trail and St Patrick are available from our library. Come on hire a bike and see for yourself. Pick up and drop off service is available to golfers and hill walkers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amble In Hotel Newcastle
Amble In Bed And Breakfast
Amble In B&B Newcastle, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing